Anti_Burglar wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:There was a time when Binyavanga Wainaina was speaking when he 'came out'. He was speaking about the same thing - about why we always have to be 'traditional'
Ati why we cannot 'add value' to potatoes and make crisps. As if eating potatoes as crisps is better than eating potatoes as mukimo.
These are the idlers in our midst.
Why want to fix what is not broken? Because Mzungu are doing it?
We are not referring to adding value but increasing efficiency.
For example the typical household chores take up a whole day and these are duties that would easily be compressed into a couple of hours.
The reason the ugali example comes up is due to the fact that the same is not a common meal in the west as it is especially in Kenya and thus the lack of ways to make preparing the same more efficient come into question.
Of course there are more examples like why would people especially in rural areas suffer when rivers dry up, while building dams is a technology even beavers have mastered.
Efficiency? In ugali cooking? Let's see:
1. Boil water
2. Add the flour
3. koroga
4. Pakua
Which step is inefficient and needs increased efficiency that the cooking machine can and will provide?
why are people skirting around the most important issue...WHO WILL PAY FOR IT? right? I am sure a device to koroga paste until a certain consistency can be created... the biggest problem is never the product creating its
GO TO MARKET and BUSINESS MODEL i.e. How do you get your contraption to the guy who wants it - who is this guy? 2. how do you charge him? Everyone here is discussing technology for technology sake... we need to put the contraption into peoples homes... who are these people? how are they doing it now? will they abandon what they are doing now to embrace your machine?
Anyone who has been to the subcontinent understands that making bread(roti, chapati, paratha, double roti) is a trade that is done by specialized people. you can see these specialized individuals walking around with Chapos kama gazetti (on their armpits). Your housecook will tell you to buy from this chapati makers - why? coz this is how they do it
I can see how one can convince the owner of this establishment to buy a chapo maker! Back to Ugali maker - who is this guy? Ama we are engaging in a science project whose monetization strategy involves throwing stuff onto a wall and seeing what sticks.