wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

8 Pages<12345>»
Christianity Versus Education
hamburglar
#41 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 8:56:58 AM

The Bible says something about a rich man, and a camel through the eye of a needle. Moreover, remember the rich dude who walked away miserable, when he was told what was left of him?

What does it benefit you, to gain the whole world and lose your ....

I love poetry. Spoken word. There's a profound one that asks, why hoard so much when others are suffering?

The last Apologetics I attended, the facilitator, a philosophy student, talked about how he went into it to quell the notion of Christianity/Religion, but the more he dug deeper, the more his faith grew! The more he asked questions, the clearer the answers became!

My brother, you are on the right track.... The answers you seek might just be revealed to you.

People who quote the bible as a source of reference are usually low IQ people. You have to be the dumbest person to say that the bible teaches against getting rich. Ati camel through the eye of a needle, just what bull crap is that? Does that mean that we should stay poor in order to get into heaven? I swear you evangelicals are the stupidest people alive.

Mukiri, your posts is as ambiguous as they come. You can't just say that this philosophy student asked questions and got answers, that is being sly. You religious people like hiding behind ambiguous statements because you lack substance. What questions did he ask and what answers did he get? Post them here so we can analyze those questions and answers. Wacha kujifanya mjanja.

Alafu these regurgitated sayings that make no sense but serve to strike fear into gullible and dumb religious people. Who say that if you gain the world that you lose your "soul"? There are a lot of rich and wealthy men who have gained the world and stayed grounded. Mukiri, before you go quoting stupid sayings, try to reason and see if they actually make sense. We are in the 21st century, we have to question things for us to be more informed and smarter.
#42 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 9:00:05 AM

hamburglar wrote:
Tycho. Kichwa yako inakuwanga mzuri? You always keep rambling and saying things that nobody understands. Even when people ignore you, you still somehow manage to come up with some gibberish that don't make sense. Dude, you don't have to comment on every thread. Sometimes it's good to take a back seat and just watch and learn. Everytime i try to read something constructive, there you are, throwing me off with your nonsense, and by the time i skip reading all your posts, i have to remember what the topic was in the first place. Jesus.

Hahaha. So you know when 'everyone' ignores my posts!

I just think your response is typical of someone who doesn't know how to deal with opinions that differ from his own, or you're not intelligent enough to understand my 'gibberish' but you don't want to admit it.
majimaji
#43 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 9:06:41 AM

Thank God I'm an atheist.
#44 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 9:12:59 AM

majimaji wrote:

#45 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 9:17:05 AM

majimaji wrote:

Why not thank your IQ?
#46 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 11:06:52 AM

majimaji wrote:

Why not thank your IQ?

Good one @tycho Applause Applause Applause
#47 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 11:20:43 AM

hamburglar wrote:
Tycho. Kichwa yako inakuwanga mzuri? You always keep rambling and saying things that nobody understands. Even when people ignore you, you still somehow manage to come up with some gibberish that don't make sense. Dude, you don't have to comment on every thread. Sometimes it's good to take a back seat and just watch and learn. Everytime i try to read something constructive, there you are, throwing me off with your nonsense, and by the time i skip reading all your posts, i have to remember what the topic was in the first place. Jesus.

Hahaha. So you know when 'everyone' ignores my posts!

I just think your response is typical of someone who doesn't know how to deal with opinions that differ from his own, or you're not intelligent enough to understand my 'gibberish' but you don't want to admit it.

@hamburglar, arrogance is what makes people rebellious. For example, a child who later disrespects the parents, to a point of even telling them they are stupid, or they are good for nothing, that he's smart and he does not need those parents. The arrogant child forgets where he came from. He forgets he never made himself, he was formed in his mother's womb. The "foolish" mother carried him in her womb and gave birth to him and breastfed him and nursed him and taught him how to talk!

Now that he has learned sophisticated languages, his healthy legs are carrying him around, his hands which are beautiful, his handsome face which was never burnt by hot water etc.

I relate this to your arrogance that has clouded your appreciation that you didn't create yourself. And neither did your parents create themselves, neither did the sophisticated universe. The order in things proves that there is planning in all this. Your alleged brain should at least make you humble enough to recognize this?
#48 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 11:31:18 AM

Christianity is certainly being changed by human experience especially with respect to education, and that's how all religions and belief systems have changed and will change due to increased knowledge and information.

Saying that a belief system is against education is just creating a straw man. Like now it may be imputed by some that Christianity is against education or something but there's such little evidence for that. Christianity has mostly worked to promote education, and the so hyped 'IQ'.

Some of us think that they can recommend belief systems to others, mainly by concocting evidence and intimidation, but that's not only doomed to failure, but it's also a form of intellectual idleness. Beliefs are like machine operating systems, each has its context and objectives, advantages and disadvantages.

If it's about different mindsets working together to solve common problems then there are and have always been methods of going about it, and the 'Scientific method' is one of them.

Otherwise chest thumping that one eats 'goody goody' for lunch because you're an atheist, or you're heaven bound because you're theistic is nonsense.

#49 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 11:34:33 AM

hamburglar wrote:
The Bible says something about a rich man, and a camel through the eye of a needle. Moreover, remember the rich dude who walked away miserable, when he was told what was left of him?

What does it benefit you, to gain the whole world and lose your ....

I love poetry. Spoken word. There's a profound one that asks, why hoard so much when others are suffering?

The last Apologetics I attended, the facilitator, a philosophy student, talked about how he went into it to quell the notion of Christianity/Religion, but the more he dug deeper, the more his faith grew! The more he asked questions, the clearer the answers became!

My brother, you are on the right track.... The answers you seek might just be revealed to you.

People who quote the bible as a source of reference are usually low IQ people. You have to be the dumbest person to say that the bible teaches against getting rich. Ati camel through the eye of a needle, just what bull crap is that? Does that mean that we should stay poor in order to get into heaven? I swear you evangelicals are the stupidest people alive.

Mukiri, your posts is as ambiguous as they come. You can't just say that this philosophy student asked questions and got answers, that is being sly. You religious people like hiding behind ambiguous statements because you lack substance. What questions did he ask and what answers did he get? Post them here so we can analyze those questions and answers. Wacha kujifanya mjanja.

Alafu these regurgitated sayings that make no sense but serve to strike fear into gullible and dumb religious people. Who say that if you gain the world that you lose your "soul"? There are a lot of rich and wealthy men who have gained the world and stayed grounded. Mukiri, before you go quoting stupid sayings, try to reason and see if they actually make sense. We are in the 21st century, we have to question things for us to be more informed and smarter.

Too much matusi for me to read.

I live and let live. Won't hear me abusing you for exercising your rights.

majimaji
#50 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 11:52:34 AM

majimaji wrote:

Why not thank your IQ?

Good one @tycho Applause Applause Applause

When my IQ reaches 100, am sellingsmile
#51 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:04:09 PM

my theory is Humans need to understand the universe... or at least be able to explain it to themselves! That is how the human brain works... it simply does not like saying SIJUI one too many times when confronted with a question and may need to delude itself into having an "answer". The people you ridicule - the people in the slums and the not so green areas of Kenya need to believe something! I think it was @Tycho who once asked and I paraphrase "what will we need to pray for" in the context of wealth, understanding. It's a plain fact that Religion is the opium of the poor ... and it's good for Opium to do it's thing! Numb the pain of poverty! Sedate the mind by telling it about a nicer place (paved with Gold) because if it does not... you will not like that horde of people matching your way.
I remember asking about this photo some years back

- I think @hambuglar had an answer that "the system failed the kid". I remember asking about the parent of this kid.. is he/she willing to believe that's it? the Kid was eaten by that vulture and THAT IS IT? I think we are not ready for the hordes of people living in destitution to believe "THIS IS IT! YOU DIED AND - THAT'S ALL FOLKS" simply because (my opinion) they will raid @Hambuglar's restaurant - kwani utaDo? Atheism only works with educated people simply because THEY KNOW BETTER and the system kinda works for them. Not for everyone! My thoughts!
¿
#52 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:21:10 PM

Might makes 'right'.The only question is who or what is the mightiest.
#53 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:27:35 PM

my theory is Humans need to understand the universe... or at least be able to explain it to themselves! That is how the human brain works... it simply does not like saying SIJUI one too many times when confronted with a question and may need to delude itself into having an "answer". The people you ridicule - the people in the slums and the not so green areas of Kenya need to believe something! I think it was @Tycho who once asked and I paraphrase "what will we need to pray for" in the context of wealth, understanding. It's a plain fact that Religion is the opium of the poor ... and it's good for Opium to do it's thing! Numb the pain of poverty! Sedate the mind by telling it about a nicer place (paved with Gold) because if it does not... you will not like that horde of people matching your way.

- I think @hambuglar had an answer that "the system failed the kid". I remember asking about the parent of this kid.. is he/she willing to believe that's it? the Kid was eaten by that vulture and THAT IS IT? I think we are not ready for the hordes of people living in destitution to believe "THIS IS IT! YOU DIED AND - THAT'S ALL FOLKS" simply because (my opinion) they will raid @Hambuglar's restaurant - kwani utaDo? Atheism only works with educated people simply because THEY KNOW BETTER and the system kinda works for them. Not for everyone! My thoughts!

My thought is that knowledge has no 'better'. Knowledge is about solving an experiential issue. And all experience is valid. Atheists know what they know, same for many other experiences that are possible.

Religion may be an opiate to the masses, but it may be something else to other humans. Imagine what religion was during the Renaissance for example. It was a spur for the sublime.
timuka
#54 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:28:31 PM

Applause Applause Applause Well put Masukuma. The more you question religion, the more your faith dwindles, the more you become enlightened.
#55 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:33:44 PM

¿ wrote:

Not always. Thucydides made the quote in the 'Peloponysian war' when Athens and Sparta were at war, but neither party won, instead an outsider came in and took control. And the Macedonians discovered that civilizations are built by tact and consensus not might.
#56 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:38:09 PM

timuka wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Well put Masukuma. The more you question religion, the more your faith dwindles, the more you become enlightened.

There are many religions in this world, so to claim 'enlightenment' by this assertion isn't open to proof. It's like cooking your accounts to fool investors.
¿
#57 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:39:30 PM

¿ wrote:

Not always. Thucydides made the quote in the 'Peloponysian war' when Athens and Sparta were at war, but neither party won, instead an outsider came in and took control. And the Macedonians discovered that civilizations are built by tact and consensus not might.

Tact and diplomacy was mightier!
#58 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:47:37 PM

With all these religions out there, which God is greatest and why?
#59 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:48:28 PM

¿ wrote:
¿ wrote:

Tact and diplomacy was mightier!

Only that wasn't the question for the belligerents. I can even claim that tact and consensus was an emergent strategy. Something not amenable to predicted law and wisdom.
#60 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2015 12:49:59 PM

Religion has it's uses! not for everyone but whether we accept it or not it's the one thing that keeps the poor from murdering the rich! Ask yourself - how did organized religion come to being? 10-11k years ago when humans started settling down... they started agriculture and building "society" as we know it there were issues! issues of Law! how do you ensure that people live together and don't murder each other? Organized religion sprung up from there... Reminds me of the old parable about 2-3 kids being given eggs and asked to break them when no one is looking! and one came back with an egg intact saying - God was always looking! the concept of a roving eye in the sky that is always looking and recording what you are doing is a great pacifier! it pacifies people murdering each other - coz no one is looking! it pacifies people raiding other people's houses and taking stuff - just because they can. Of course the same religion had to encompass ambition and thus created an us-verse-them dynamic... we are the chosen ones... those other guys.. heathens!!

we can.. kill them... take them for slaves... plunder their territory... we are right! they are wrong!! Why? because God told us!