wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

mungiki- how many must die
#41 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 2:02:00 PM

And just to clarify myself further

@Mainat,I like the way you think and concurr,yes lets break up the problems into manageble chunks and deal with them separately.

@Simonkabz,I am also shocked to find myself partly agreeing with you,as individual kenyans the way to go is to deal with the Mungiki menace just the way the kirinyaga vigilantes did.

But long term solution from the gava is to strip off the big thugs their 100,000 acre farms

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
the sage
#42 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 2:10:00 PM

The powers that be do not give two s$%^ about poor people. When the Mungiki scythe is upon the middle calss and upper class,that is when the government will act.

It is sad but that is the truth.
kanda
#43 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 2:20:00 PM

@ mainaT

The worst thing about many issues in Kenya is we refuse to deal with the issues one by one and directly but instead look to bring in other issus and deal with them collectively. THESE PROBLEMS ARE INTERTWINED

There is a squatter problem in Central-specifically some pockets of Nyeri (but even larger Pwani),RV. Deal with that. HERE THE ISSUE OF GRABBED LAND BEING GIVEN BACK COMES IN

There is a Mungiki problem. Crime & extortion. Deal with that. HERE THE ISSUE OF HOW TO DEAL WITH IT BRINGS IN ALL OTHER POINTS!!

There is an unemployment problem among the youth-Kenyawide. AS SOMEONE HAS POINTED OUT,AGRIC IS THE BIGGEST EMPLOYER AND IT REQUIRES LAND,RIGHT?

There is land corruptly acquired-again Kenyawide. Deal with that. YES,MAYBE THE ROOT OF ALL OTHER PROBLEMS

The other worst thing is Kenyans don't listen to each other or learn becuase they read Nation etc. HERE I DONT FOLLOW SO NO COMMENT.

AE Mathenge and myslef come Karatina/Kirinyaga areas. We've told what the issue relating to those killings. YEA,YOU HAVE TOLD US THE PROBLEM,THANK YOU VERY MUCH. NOW TELL US THE SOLUTION!

Yet blah blah...YEA BLA,BLA,BLA...DOMO!

B.Timer
#44 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 2:35:00 PM

@ Kanobi,

At the risk of hijacking this thread;

Breaking the issues,

Start with land.

If the govt were to delve into this,they would start by recognising private ownership of property.
With that in mind they might want to put forth a policy - to impose tax on idle land to encourage/compel those who have more than they can gainfully utilise,to sell it off.

Small holdings vs huge scale utilization of land,which is beneficial to the larger society.

Subsistence farming; That is the situation Kenyans find themselves in today. Is it the wisest thing for govt to encourage Kenyans to continue doing in this day and age.

I guess someone needs to tell Kenyans to get out of ' I am a victim of land grabbing sydrome' and learn to fit themselves in to the larger capitalist world.
Coveting other peoples land/property will take them nowhere at all. The surest way to waste one's time on earth,is to blissfully continue playing victim and awaiting govt to take from 'the rich' and share the wealth.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Mainat
#45 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 2:39:00 PM

Kanda-there is a reason for what i said. In the early 90s,New York was known as the murder and crime city of the world. Like with Mungiki,nobody thought is solveable because it was felt that young blacker men that you and me had been disenfranchised by a discrimanatory unequal society leading to them going into crime. Infact,slave trade had condemed them to a life of crime. Along came som mayor who said 'hang on,just because you are poor live in a racist society et al,doesn't mean that you should commit crime'. He introduced zero-tolerance and cleared up the streets within a few yrs thus reducing crime and murder. Today,inequality is still strong,young blackmen are still unemployed. But crime and murder is down...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#46 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 3:22:00 PM

@B-Timer

Me and you only disagree on the 'who owns the land' Kenyatta or Moi excising 50,000 acres of ADC land and calling it their own does not make the land theirs. repossessing it is an act of justice. kenyans demanding the land back is a call for justice,not coveting other peoples property.

Secondly,maybe the children from age 1-15 can be successfully steered away from subsistence farming,but for the rest of kenyans above this age who have no other economic abilities,this is the only and cheapest option apart from being manual labourers.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
caesar
#47 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 3:23:00 PM

Mungiki has nothing to do with land... This is a bunch of violent thugs robbing,stealing,from regular people.

Acts like Karatina cannot occur without excessive drug use,Terrible and evil deeds as though these people are possesed.

It kills my heart to see such foolishness and beast like instincts in young people.

The government Must do whatever they must...
#48 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 4:14:00 PM

Then u get guys all over against EJ killings. How do u deal with such men in mathira? Unleash the kwekwe,it worked n it will still do. As for innocent deaths,well,even in war there's collateral. We will deal with that when we get there. Just kill them! Kill kill kill!

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
stockyt
#49 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 4:17:00 PM

Massive Injustices will not be forgotten tomorrow,10,30,50 years from now. Stories are passesd from generation to generation. the sooner a nation deals conclusively with them the better.

those advocating for national forgetfulness of national injustices will surely get dissapointed. and particularly such a physical injustice as grabbed land. infact the best kenyattas,etc could have done was to subdivide that land and sell it. that way there is no physical scar- cant understand why wealthy pple have to insist on owning masiive tracts of land when you can easily spread your wealth on diversified areas of wealth holding and across nations and continents.

On Mungiki,it is simply socio-political. It is only currently more apparent in central because the place has its own socio-cultural historical dynamics which is a bit different from other areas. but other areas will sooner or later catch the cold if a comprehensive national policy and action to address employment for all is not addresed urgently plus corruption.

But along that,the criminal manifestation of mungiki action must be dealt with as such by law enforcement and more important the society where they are part and parcel of and yet bears grim consequenses of their perceived grievance.
Charley
#50 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 4:29:00 PM

People,wake up and smell the coffee - if it is not Mungiki,it is a stolen election,or a slum with 1.5million people; or parents stealing scripts for their children; or MP's fighting for the spoils; or incompetent judges wanting more feed; or Kenyans executed in broad daylight; or Kenyans breeding like mice; or land grabbing; or land subdivision to oblivion; or unemployed masses; or tribalism and job allocations on no merit; or............ the list is endless. Mungiki is part of the Kenyan societal breakdown; all values are out of the window and these are the consequences. For the believers of any religion,the blood of 1,300 people killed as recent as 2007/2008 is in the hands of all Kenyans.

We must approach all these issues objectively. Our government at independence failed. Subsequent governments failed. The Kenyan people have also failed as we have engaged in meaningless thoughts and actions and continue to do so each and every day. These are the consequences. First,we must ask the spirits (whomever they are,the christian God,Muslim Allah or the traditional Ngai) for forgiveness for the blood of our brothers that we shed. Second,we educated elites such as the SKerians must begin thinking Nationally and not parochially. A Kenyan movement for Kenyans - our thought paradigms must change if Kenya is to reverse its death throes. This may then allow us to think objectively; to call a spade a spade. For instance,if KIbaki comes out and appoints political appointees without Raila we say no why? Because this is a coalition government period (objective thinking)! But the meaningless Kenyan scenario unfold thus - PNU (read some kikuyus) say he can because he is President ! ODM operatives (read some Luos say) say stupid Kyuks,they think Kenya is theirs! Heck Kenyans,can't we think straight!? were we cursed (Ham's descendants?) or is our IQ just low (as I read in some evolutionary quantitative genetics papers)?

Can we not see we need to do that which is good for the Nation? And not that which is immediately good for the self? And that in the end what is good for the Nation will ultimately be good for us and our children? Jamani Mungu,tulikosea wapi sisi waafrikaaaaaa?????????????
KIMANDERU
#51 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 5:29:00 PM

I stand to be corrected,Mungiki are in the cabinet,police force and very sentive arms of the goverment.There is no way and i repeat noway they can continue the way they are doing without knowledge of the security agents no way.Such a thing could not happen in Baringo during the time of Moi.Nairibi traffic police 100% mungiki try matt business and you will know what am taking about.

TOMORROW WILL BE BETTER
kenn
#52 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 5:51:00 PM

I do believe that mungiki started humbly registering their disatisfaction our their leaders because of the social and economic issues then but they realized that our leaders are deaf and dumb towards the poor. Then they saw a loophole in our governing structure in form of lucrative matatu industry and they exploited it to the point where denying them revenue,they had to spread terror visciously to protect they source of revenue ! Do you see a familiar trend in drug war in mexico ? I always ask myself why the stakes of forming the government in kenya is a matter of life and death ! Is it because all our billionaires once served in the government or were closely linked the mafioso and the powerful cartels ? I do believe that for the mighty in the government to respond to the cries of the poor,mungiki,inclusive,we as the wananchi have force the wenye inchi to act either by kidnapping them,holding them at ransom,suicide bomb them or execute them till the relent ! otherwise,they will never experience what majority of us face each and everyday ! Carjacking,ngetas,insecurity,police harassment,you name it !
#53 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 7:34:00 PM

Okay guyz,lets be clear here.

25 people are killed in the presidents own backyard and so far the gava is carrying out investigations.

The 25 were systematically fished from their own homes and hacked so that they can pay an illegal tax to thieves and we have a gava.

NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

KIMANDERU
#54 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 8:12:00 PM

Ati Saitoti will still be in the cabinet tomoroow big joke.This is not a Kikukyu issue it a national issue.Kibaki should act or he should leave the field to someone able to govern period.

TOMORROW WILL BE BETTER
#55 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 9:45:00 PM

Why are they killing innocent farmers?
And I was told that uhuru was supported by mungiki in 2002...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Jen
#56 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 10:12:00 PM

@ Charley

HERE! HERE!
Charley
#57 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 2:35:00 AM

@Tusker baridi

I am a great admirer of Maina Kiai in more ways than one and he represents the sort of paradigm shift I was talking about in my contribution below. However,rather than obscure all other contributions with a copy paste,please give your personal contribution to this thread. Is this Maina Kiais and Muities contribution to this thread? People in this forum are are able to get articles as and when we require; as well as articulate our ouwn views - I thought that is why we engage in discussions! Please read my contribution (and that of others) and have us interact,share and contribute to this ailing Nation. Many here are thinkers like the rest of them. Sorry to sound you off but you have offended my intelligence.
nanfor
#58 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 3:24:00 AM

Muite and Kiai got it wrong by being too nice.

This is not a Kikuyu issue. It is a homeguard issue.

Kenya's leaders are all and I mean ALL. Including Muite and Kiai from the homeguard group of Kenyans. This group is the one that was taken to Alliance Boys to join the Carey Francis cult. Please note that all students of Carey Francis ended up with plum gov't jobs and are all corrupt to the core. I mean ALL. They are the who's who and Kenyans,regardless of tribe are now positioning themselves to bring them back.

I am sorry Mr.Tusker and other Kikuyu demagogues. You have failed in your analysis of the problem big time by declaring that ALL the Kikuyu are evil.

Kenyatta was selected by homeguards in KANU even though he had not done much for the struggle. Kenyatta then rewarded and employed homeguards especially those from Alliance boys training camp in the names of Koinange,Odinga,Moi etc etc.

This mungiki phenomenon is a result of falling for the divide and rule tactics employed by the homeguards and they will appear in other regions of the country. They have already started in Rift Valley (The warriors),Kibera (the railway haters) etc. Killing them will not solve the problem but consolidate the power of the homeguards in this country. Do not celebrate the Kikuyu peasant being destroyed since he does not support ODM. As ODM is also a club of homeguard children. Most bred and developed by Tom Mboya (CIA students) and Odinga the homeguards in Luo land.

Arap Samoei's children are broke but the homeguard Moi's children are doing just fine. Dedan Kimathi's children are broke,but home guard Koinange's children are just fine. Achieng Aneko's children are broke,but Odinga's children are just fine.

Be very careful as you deal with this social issue. Read your history of Kenya's independence and realise that the homeguards are busy protecting their turf as you guys wallow in hatred of the Kikuyu and their offsprings. It is soon going to manifest itself in your small bubble.
Tusker Baridi
#59 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 3:32:00 AM

@Charles

My opinion on this issue is a well documented at this forum and has been consistent for as long as I've been here. However,whenever I say the blunt truth,my fellow SKerians from the slopes are quick to dismiss me as a Kikuyu hater and all sorts of unfounded allegations.

So I thought that maybe since Kiai and Muite are from the slopes and they're articulating the same ideas I've been talking about for years,maybe these SKerians will finally smell the coffee as you say and will not have the excuse of accusing the author of simply harboring anti Kikuyu sentiments.

I am not shy to debate anyone on anything,but sometimes one has to realize one's limitations and try a different aproach. It really saddens me when I see our fellows from the slopes reduced to blind tribal cheerleaders. I mean,back during the Moi error,Kyuks were deriding Kaleos for these very same blind bootlicking of the Moi mafia,enter Kifaki mafia and suddenly they see no evil,hear no evil and say no evil while the country is being plundered and raped by their so called leaders.
KIMANDERU
#60 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 5:01:00 AM

Since indepence look at this list

Kibaki,Michuki,Karume,Kenyatta by extension Uhuru,Muhoho,Githunguri if these bastereds and their children could be shown the door then as a community you will start seeing the light.

TOMORROW WILL BE BETTER