wazua Sun, Jun 28, 2026

5 Pages<12345>
Y we shud get worried.
#21 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:09:47 PM

@thimioni and increase in the cost of power has a ripple effect, you should know this yawa!

Of course, but that is out of topic! The increment in the cost of power (not connectivity) has got nothing to do with donors, or Jubilee. It is something Kenya Power has been routing for, for a long time now.

I have never been sure it was a wise move to privatise critical parastatals like Kenya Power and KenGen. Now they need to make profits!!
rryyzz
#22 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:15:23 PM

Rink?????

Has been doing rounds on social media for a while now. Scare-mongering at best.

Not really rumors but has some truth in it.

All those guys whopaid 35K for power connection in the rural have been asked to top up kindu 400K, that the gaamnet nolonger supports the initaitive.

Just walk to your rural Muranga and confirm this.

I was in shags jana and I personally felt this in my family.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Not enough reason to get scared shitless! Can you force these jungus to give you Aid in any case?

10B for education is not much. How much do they fund the health ministry? They dont pay salaries or buy basic drugs, the GOK does. But I know they fund Malaria and HIV programs in specific areas (???), and they are still doing it.

That Military part is a load of bullshiet that should be dismissed completely.

This is just some article to justify the storm!

You could find more soft sand in Mombasa beaches to bury your sore head even deeper.

I wonder who is sore, angry and bitter, between me and you. It is evident, mimi niko sawa boss. You have lost your cool already.....kamuoga

WHAT IS THIS?

LOL! Did you even read the article?
Households consuming 200 kilowatt hours (kWh) of electricity this month will, for instance, pay at least Sh4,712.5 up from the Sh4,302.3 they would have paid based on the current tariffs, a 10 per cent jump if the variable components remain fairly stable.

So you are scared of bill increment of 150 bob??? And what has this got to do with donor funding??
The escalation in billings is linked to the planned increase in the fixed charge – payable regardless of consumption levels — and the energy charge, which account for half of the monthly power costs.
The fixed charge for domestic consumers will rise to Sh150 next month from the current Sh120 while the energy charge per kWh will rise to Sh13.68 from Sh11.62.

So where does the so called donors come in in this particular case? The language used in the article is so alarming I expected terible things when I read the article yesterday.

Mixed facts.......

The French were only subsidizing the connection fees which ended last year around October last year(not sure exactly when).The connection fees went up to around 70K then the Kenyan government decided to subsidize the connection fees around Dec/Jan which saw the cost go down to 35K.I believe the Kenya govt is still subsidizing the connection cost

They couldn't afford it in the long run and hence stopped. That is why the connection isn't 35K at the moment.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#23 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:18:06 PM

innairobi wrote:
I will take about a minute.

• Kenya reads a 1.8 trillion budget but KRA collects 800B, where does the 1 trillion come from? Find out and get shocked. - Partly true

• French government through NGOs funds over half of electricity connection fees for Kenyans. That’s why the fees shot up to 78000 immediately after swearing in of Jubilee government. - False

• UK government funds the entire Free primary education (FPE) 10 billion budget. - False

• UK and US government finance almost 75% of all armed forces finance and salaries in Kenya. - False

• Over 90% of our 90 billion horticulture business is exported to European Union. - Partly true

• UK is the single largest consumer of Kenyan Tea and second largest bilateral trade partner to Kenya after Uganda. - False

• Over 70% of the top 100 corporations in Kenya are Directly or indirectly owned by European and UK companies. These include Safaricom, EABL, Bamburi Cement, East African Portland, Barclays Bank, Orange, etc. - False

• Transfer of money from Equity to KCB via Visa or MasterCard or even Mpesa Transfer depends on a US owned service and there is no alternative. False

• Major movement of Goods top Kenya or exports depends on American shipping services such as Maersk and Lloyds. False

• Over 95% of NGOs operating in this country and offering billions worth of service and employment are from US and European Union.True

• Oil the major driver of economy is controlled by US and EU owned conglomerates. These include Total (France) Shell (Dutch and UK), BP (UK)
Exxon Mobil (US). False

Would give the originator 2 out of 11. Good attempt overall. Baffling though the desperation to ascribe everything to US/EU even when not necessary. What makes Africans have such low self esteem?

Propaganda machinery at work. We are used to these cheap hopeless attempts.
#24 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:19:49 PM

rryyzz wrote:
Rink?????

All those guys whopaid 35K for power connection in the rural have been asked to top up kindu 400K, that the gaamnet nolonger supports the initaitive.

Not enough reason to get scared shitless! Can you force these jungus to give you Aid in any case?

10B for education is not much. How much do they fund the health ministry? They dont pay salaries or buy basic drugs, the GOK does. But I know they fund Malaria and HIV programs in specific areas (???), and they are still doing it.

You could find more soft sand in Mombasa beaches to bury your sore head even deeper.

I wonder who is sore, angry and bitter, between me and you. It is evident, mimi niko sawa boss. You have lost your cool already.....kamuoga

WHAT IS THIS?

Households consuming 200 kilowatt hours (kWh) of electricity this month will, for instance, pay at least Sh4,712.5 up from the Sh4,302.3 they would have paid based on the current tariffs, a 10 per cent jump if the variable components remain fairly stable.

So you are scared of bill increment of 150 bob??? And what has this got to do with donor funding??
The escalation in billings is linked to the planned increase in the fixed charge – payable regardless of consumption levels — and the energy charge, which account for half of the monthly power costs.
The fixed charge for domestic consumers will rise to Sh150 next month from the current Sh120 while the energy charge per kWh will rise to Sh13.68 from Sh11.62.

So where does the so called donors come in in this particular case? The language used in the article is so alarming I expected terible things when I read the article yesterday.

Mixed facts.......

The French were only subsidizing the connection fees which ended last year around October last year(not sure exactly when).The connection fees went up to around 70K then the Kenyan government decided to subsidize the connection fees around Dec/Jan which saw the cost go down to 35K.I believe the Kenya govt is still subsidizing the connection cost

They couldn't afford it in the long run and henve stopped. That is why the connection isn't 35K at the moment.

@rryzzzz, a call to the village indicates that bado ni 35K ama they don't have information!!!
#25 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:20:59 PM

Rink?????

WHAT IS THIS?

Mixed facts.......

On point! But the subsidy was to last a few month, no? Either way, Jubilee will need to milk stones or whatever, because

1. The planned 5000 MWs will need to be absorbed, and very few Kenyans can afford over 70k connectivity fee, and if anything, Jubilee should take the populist route and further subsidise it to 10k for several years and win some VOTES

2. The court of public opinion will be harsh and unforgiving come 2017 if that doesn't happen! Im sure the dynamic duo are no fools!

The deputy president was on the news not long ago and promised the connections would be free in the near future.
#26 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:26:32 PM

rryyzz wrote:
Rink?????

WHAT IS THIS?

Mixed facts.......

They couldn't afford it in the long run and henve stopped. That is why the connection isn't 35K at the moment.

@rryzzzz, a call to the village indicates that bado ni 35K ama they don't have information!!!

Treasury is straining, so there has been back and forth on the issue esp on the media. I bet when the treasury delays the funds Kenya Power throws tantrums. But the DP reiterated the same juzi, that the rate shall remain subsidized.
rryyzz
#27 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:30:41 PM

rryyzz wrote:
Rink?????

WHAT IS THIS?

Mixed facts.......

What I know it is being done at actual cost.If your actual cost is about,KShs 135K, you're connected at 35K and KPLC meets the other cost. However if your actual cost is beyond 135K, you're quoted at actual cost. There was talk GOK was to provide funding, so far not yet. I know of guys who had initially been quoted at 35k and even paid, yet this was revised upwards to as high as 250K & 419K.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#28 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:44:24 PM

14/04/2014:
In the local dailies Kenya Power says, “All prospective customers whose actual connectivity charges are more than Ksh.135,000 will be required to pay the full connectivity charge. This includes customers located within 600 meters of the distribution transformer but whose quotations exceed Ksh.135,000.”

What basically this means is, the 35,000 shillings connection charge only applies to the customers whose actual connectivity charge does not exceed 135,000 shillings and who are within 600 meters.

There is a catch nevertheless; these customers would be the ones who particularly require at most 2 poles.

http://www.smartkenya.co...ity-connection-charges/

Plans to reduce it to 15,000 and eventually to Zero
http://www.networkedblogs.com/OrLc4
rryyzz
#29 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:46:38 PM

rryyzz wrote:
Rink?????

WHAT IS THIS?

Mixed facts.......

Treasury is straining, so there has been back and forth on the issue esp on the media. I bet when the treasury delays the funds Kenya Power throws tantrums. But the DP reiterated the same juzi, that the rate shall remain subsidized.

DP is playing politics.
#30 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 3:48:40 PM

rryyzz wrote:
Rink?????

WHAT IS THIS?

Mixed facts.......

What I know it is being done at actual cost.If your actual cost is about,KShs 135K, you're connected at 35K and KPLC meets the other cost. However if your actual cost is beyond 135K, you're quoted at actual cost. There was talk GOK was to provide funding, so far not yet. I know of guys who had initially been quoted at 35k and even paid, yet this was revised upwards to as high as 250K & 419K.

Thats what I was told having paid 35K huko October last year.

This gaament is dead like a dodo!

5 Pages<12345>