wazua Mon, Jun 29, 2026

8 Pages<12345>»
Tourism from the East: Unbelievable
#21 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 9:33:46 AM

Only a matter of matter before the tourists from the West starting trooping back......

http://www.nation.co.ke/...80/-/xsjlym/-/index.html
#22 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 9:39:24 AM

Only a matter of matter before the tourists from the West starting trooping back......

http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/xsjlym/-/index.html[

smile One minute they can go, shainese will come and replace, next minute they will troop back.
#23 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 9:49:09 AM

smile One minute they can go, shainese will come and replace, next minute they will troop back.

Washana na hawa manyeuthi Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
wanyee
#24 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 9:50:03 AM

Kausha wrote:
kiash wrote:
wanyee wrote:
The Muzungu "going-to-africa-jungle-tarzan" romanticized type of tourism needs to end. Its doubtful impact on the mwananchi and not mwenyenchi is evident. Kenya can either pursue the Dubai type of tourism (google numbers) that is mass tourist leaning or pursue a boutique high -end client exclusive type. Look at the famed Maasai conservancies..they are even hyped as Eco-sensitive ..but the locals they dance and jump for the tourist and at the end of day go to sleep in the earthen floor "kanyitera" lit manyatta huts/houses fighting it out with mosquitos, hyenas and lions if not spending the night guarding the visitors. Whereas the visitor is busy sipping champagne in an eco-heated jacuzi starring at the african night sky and later sleep soundly after eating a sumptuous meal ..am trying to paint a picture here..at what time will the owners of these vast wildlife rich lands,...the local get the same services they are offering..its the irony ..why not build 1st class eco-friendly manyaras(intentional tweng) 1st for the maasai well lit and perhaps a model living museum if the visitor has to see local culture...what am i saying here ..this type of tourism is flawed and only benefits the lodge owner ..no trickle down effect apart from when the "visitor" feels touch to engage in some "cause" aka poorism. I think tourism is not as complicated as people make it out. Many rural homes can be upgraded to host mass tourists ( one Mr. Ndemo did such an article elaborating such) and individual can source for clients by diaspora referal or even random online sources..this type has an associative knock over effect of creating a huge array of associative cottage industries than can be buzzworded as organic..eco friendly bla bla bla .. time to devolve tourism tooo and make it liberal and mass played too. Other sectors have undergone the same ..banking, telecom, name it.

my 2 ndururus

I agree with you wanyee . But on point red, there was someone who had done such a thing in western i guess you welcome tourists inthe rural areas who want to live it like locals. The problem was when the person gets several tourists and earns some chumes, he changes the status some new house and modernity and hop thats the end . To the marketer of the idea the tourists were not willing to live like in their countries . So change the host and the cycle continues.

Lakini lets put kairasy aside. Tourism is a luxury product tied to spending ability and interests of the cash holders. Those 2 foondamendoz are what keeps our tourism tied to the west. They have spending power and want warm outdoor weather. We have plenty of warm weather. Chinese have lower spending power and want business opportunities. We have limitations here and serious limitations.

smile if only you travelled a bit ..i highly suspect you don't ..Kairacy or not..you have not met backpackers in Laos or have a briish lad from clydeside wales whom you share an aisle in some hotel and realize he is a plumber with mannerism similar to the same Chinese you deride, anyway that aside..you have this fixated view of whom a tourist should be ..trust me there is that traditional tourist you have in mind and there is a new kind you have not met ..they all spend the yankee $$ at the end of the day.

Kenya needs to target the upcoming midro class from africa ..talking about folks from Senengal, Nigeria ..Zim Ethiopia latin america you name it ..people who want to experience travel beyond the beaten path beyond the traditional or a mix of both..thats where the money is.
Na sio Kairacy nowadays its CountryMan sawa .
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 9:50:11 AM

You know Mcdoba. This reminds me of days when we were kids.

Mathe anakuchapa ile kofi ya 'KAMON!' Like Qideroh served Shebesh.
then she starts bembelezaing you.
'Nyamaza toto. poleee.... nyamaza babaa' and you know despite her soothing you cannot repeat the same thing again. Her eyes are telling there is another "Kamon!" awaiting if you vex her again and yet anakubembeleza.

If you have friends in the Diplomatic circles, you will know that the GoK was warned long long ago about Mombasa being tagged 'No Go'!
Nairobi is next as a 'No family' station for most EU and US staff.
The West just picked the Chinese arrival to send two messages.
Kamwana got it loud and clear.. But what to do?

They would be saying
"We did tell them not to come" while at the same time warning the tour operators
"incase something happens over there, you are personally liable as a business. We alerted you!"
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 9:59:04 AM

Washana na hawa manyeuthi Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The first article i ever read about the Shainis tourist was i think 10-15 years ago, when china was rising and they had started scouting.

i remember reading something like

"they dont spend at all. you find 10 of them, not willing to hire professional operators. They would arrive at a hotel and book one room. no spending on meals. they borrow a pan and take water from the taps to boil their noodles. They would eat noodles the entire tour"

Maybe they are now richer and spend more.

I would just beg GoK to improve security!
The process of getting there is the long journey Kamwana is not willing to take.
So let's just wait and get screwed.
#27 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 10:19:52 AM

The first article i ever read about the Shainis tourist was i think 10-15 years ago, when china was rising and they had started scouting.

"they dont spend at all. you find 10 of them, not willing to hire professional operators. They would arrive at a hotel and book one room. no spending on meals. they borrow a pan and take water from the taps to boil their noodles. They would eat noodles the entire tour"

The process of getting there is the long journey Kamwana is not willing to take.

Wacha propaganda and stereotyping. I wonder if tourist hotels Whitesands or Norfolk etc allow 20 people to book one room and to borrow pans from the hotel kitchen to cook noodles in the room.
#28 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 10:24:09 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hehehehe...are you serious? Which hotel was that was allowing 10 guys in one room?
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 10:37:45 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hehehehe...are you serious? Which hotel was that was allowing 10 guys in one room?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hehehe,10 might be too many but I've heard of some hotels in Dubai where they do night checks just because of the shainese peculiar behaviour!!!!
#30 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2014 10:48:09 AM

When I was in Singapore there were warnings asking you not to cook in the room. I asked the receptionist why and she told me those were for tourists from mainland China. BTW, she was Chinese too, but Singaporean. LOL.

We will have to adjust ourselves for sure for their new peculiar habits. They are very different from our current tourists.
8 Pages<12345>»