wazua Sat, Jun 20, 2026

5 Pages<12345>
Kenya Police ready to serve?
#21 Posted : Sunday, May 18, 2014 8:02:20 AM

Why does the state need a police force? In my opinion, the state needs a police force to have a monopoly of force against its citizens and to secure government authority. Citizens are 'protected' only in as much as its convinient for governments. That is, public interest and government interests are hardly equal.

But while the military has conventionally been designed for across border conflicts, and the police for within borders, globalization and multiculturalism have rendered these ideas obsolete. Police are now increasingly dealing with enemies from across the border and the resulting confusion has been 'deadly'. For example, consider the government's response to the Westgate attack.

In simple terms, it's the ideas driving statehood that need to be reconsidered in order for the citizens and government to enjoy 'optimal being'.
#22 Posted : Sunday, May 18, 2014 8:27:02 AM

Didn't I read in the nation that police officers allocated houses at CID HQs are renting them out to outsiders?
#23 Posted : Sunday, May 18, 2014 2:12:17 PM

Why does the state need a police force? In my opinion, the state needs a police force to have a monopoly of force against its citizens and to secure government authority. Citizens are 'protected' only in as much as its convinient for governments. That is, public interest and government interests are hardly equal.

But while the military has conventionally been designed for across border conflicts, and the police for within borders, globalization and multiculturalism have rendered these ideas obsolete. Police are now increasingly dealing with enemies from across the border and the resulting confusion has been 'deadly'. For example, consider the government's response to the Westgate attack.

In simple terms, it's the ideas driving statehood that need to be reconsidered in order for the citizens and government to enjoy 'optimal being'.

Well said.
#24 Posted : Sunday, May 18, 2014 11:34:18 PM

Coolio wrote:
kiash wrote:
Ready to work? I guess very few. Last time i was home i was stopped and taken to central for blocking traffic. I tried saying i was following the traffic lights and the officer actually insulted me laughing with his colleagues ati sikia huyu mjinga anasema ati anafuata mataa . Mataa imewekwa juzi na chinese kwani ulienda shule gani . If i had the power at that particular time i could have done the lari mp thing on the guy. I went and paid some 2k coz the guy told me i would be taken to court and pay a fine of 25k. So hata wakilalia ngunia walalie.

Shame on you!

Haiya!!!!!!

@Kiash, supposing you had decided to go the full hog, you know the court hearing to its final conclusion? Because the way you've written it up there, it's like you knew you were guilty!
kiash
#25 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 7:06:48 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Coolio wrote:
kiash wrote:
Ready to work? I guess very few. Last time i was home i was stopped and taken to central for blocking traffic. I tried saying i was following the traffic lights and the officer actually insulted me laughing with his colleagues ati sikia huyu mjinga anasema ati anafuata mataa . Mataa imewekwa juzi na chinese kwani ulienda shule gani . If i had the power at that particular time i could have done the lari mp thing on the guy. I went and paid some 2k coz the guy told me i would be taken to court and pay a fine of 25k. So hata wakilalia ngunia walalie.

Shame on you!

Haiya!!!!!!

@Kiash, supposing you had decided to go the full hog, you know the court hearing to its final conclusion? Because the way you've written it up there, it's like you knew you were guilty!

Actually these jamaas know how to do it they told me a cash bail of 10K and to that i would have agreed and gone all the way. I guess the fine would not have been 25K but then the guy started adding , hata unajua kuna pia obstruction na hiyo tukiongeza , fine unajua ni pesa ngapi . So i went click click i remembered reading the Kimunya's laws and sijui fine ya millioni moya but i could not figure out how much was obstruction. So i had to pay up . The rest will be for another day.
Ngong
#26 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 9:18:43 AM

That was wise kiash,the whole process is meant to oppress,not to rectify and make our life better!
#27 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 9:29:11 AM

@Muganda, you raise a fundamental point. The service is seriously under resourced for the changing security environment and it is naive to expect them to put their lives on the line whilst operating on an inferior level to the enemy.

In Nigeria, Boko Haram ambushed the military and killed soldiers then when instructions were given to the rest of the troops in barracks, they started shooting in the air instead of going to combat.

As a society, the problems are bigger than simply shouting "garment" every time you hear a bang. We all must be ready to make sacrifices as the resources and demands on them are not commensurate.

Some of us Mr. the society are of the view that we stop giving the first lady 140 million, the Deputy lady 70 million and increase the anti-terrorism funds from 28 million. I wonder what the society has to do with that one. It's actually Uhuru's gov't doing it.

But what do you think we should do?

We don't fund the police we get D+ fellows.

Police reforms was voted in by the people. The current gov't has all but forgotten about it. Cops still live in silly houses while protecting a gov't official who says that Raira is causing mayhem in Kenya.

Respectfully.

indeed - people aspire to be where the money is. pay them well and you have a fairly good society. but mambo hapa ni 3rd world!!
#28 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2015 5:47:15 PM

Police count hits 39,215 on officers resignations, retirements Now take off about 10 000 who are "guarding" our politicians and 10 000 who are busy eating hongo on our roads, then see how many are left to fight crime. We are doomed
Atalaku
#29 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2015 7:33:04 PM

Compare and contrast...

#30 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2015 10:56:53 AM

Head to head

5 Pages<12345>