Wacha waende after all we have tourists from the East murchr wrote:Swenani wrote:murchr wrote:washiku wrote:Swenani wrote:murchr wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:Prop up domestic tourism. The Mara is not the only place to go. We need Kenyans visiting the Nairobi National Park that is just next door to many, or the likes of Ol Donyo Sabuk, etc. When we rely mainly on international tourists, we are bound to be affected by the shocks. But sisi Wakenya tuko hapa. There's something called spending power. At this level of our economy, we would rather spend our money surviving than spend on holidays. We spend our Kshs. buying food, paying rent, fueling our Japanese cars and helping relatives in shagz. We have Ksh. 0 to spend on trips to Mombasa, Mara and other places. Only few Kenyans can afford holidays - no matter how many millions you spend on advertising. Spending power it is.
There was talk of going East and yada yada. Have you seen Chinese tourists in Kenya? Those guys spend nothing. Not even a 500 ML bottle of soda. They just walk around with cameras taking pictures and smiling sheepishly. Compare them to the jungus. The jungus spend on food, cabz, drinks and tip the waiter. If the number of tourists is falling, KQ suffers, so does the taxi guy, the prostitute, the waiter na kadhalika.
*** Continue giving bad advice to jubilee. You will say afadhali KANU. The number of Chinese Tourists in Kenya has been growing tremendously and they are not only coming to Kenya but everywhere else including Paris NY and Australia. Everyone is courting the Chinese upcoming middo crass, they are the ones with the money. I was reading in the Nation that the Chinese were leading in the number of tourists who visited the Maasai Mara 2013 to witness the annual wildebeest migration In 2013 Over 100 Million Chinese left China to tour the world 1% of that number is a million. I wonder why we focus our energy elsewhere @ kipchirchir, don't confuse prisoners who are working on Chinese funded infrastructure projects in kenya to be tourists . Some of those Chinese tourists roast maize in nairobi and the ones who visit our parks are poachers  Hater @Swenani...those prisoners are BRINGING money in the economy even if they roast maize. As for poachers, the last time I checked guys were blaming some GOK employees kwani the theory now has changed? @Kipchirchir, At they are bringing what in the economy? Do you know chinese are very mean.They would rather share a three bedroomed house 12 people and buy a nissan caravan and have one of them as a driver.That is lost income for 24 kenyans if it were americans or british since they will employ 12 drivers and rent 12 houses. The GOK employees are just facilitators,the same people who process those business/work permits for the shinese are the same ones offering protection to the shinese and doing the dirty job ABK If Obiero did it, Who Am I?