Market
Review
Starehe Boys' Centre Vs Moi High School Kabarak
accelriskconsult wrote:Toxicity wrote:If you had calling letters to these schools and you had one week to make a decision which one would you choose over the other and what will be the reasons?
Help a parent here! What to expect from Kabarak (From experience) 1) Good facilities, dorms, labs, classes 2) Will adjust well to dealing with people of the opposite gender since school is mixed 3) Can excel academically if interested, can also excel in extra curricular activities including musical instruments and sports if inclined 4) Exposure to professionals through lectures and other activities including academic tours 5) Discipline is not negotiable in Kabarak. Expulsions of repeat offenders is common 6) Religion, if interested 8) Will learn to live with the sons of both the mighty and the lowly 9) Will rub shoulders and get beaten by students who scored less that 350 marks in KCPE if not focused (and learn that the insurgents can very quickly become the incumbents) Kabarak was only set up around 1978 so the alumni network is not very well established. Initially, it admitted around 85% of its students from one community which has not worked very well in building a strong alumni network. This anomaly was just corrected around 10 years ago but there is still a bias in admissions. I totally agree The biggest plus for me would be the discipline and culture inculcated I can remember them days guys being expelled for smoking or for chronically missing church! The facilities are world class and of course for academics the results speak for themselves.The alumni may be limited inlike Stacherians who are all over but who says you need an alumnus to get a job. Mwanaume ni effort!My 2 cents You were put on this earth to achieve your greatest self, to live out your purpose, and to do it fearlessly.
jguru wrote:Toxicity wrote:Yes please give the reasons....to be more detailed the young man grew up in Nakuru and performed pretty well in last year's KCPE, The parents want him to go to Starehe but he is insisting on Kabarak(The brother and two cousins have gone through Kabarak). Starehe for me as well but how do you change the mind of the young one? hence I asked for the reasons to convince .... His reasons must be: Starehe wears shorts upto form 4; Red and blue hurts the eyes or Kabarak is closer to Nakuru than Nairobi (mtoto wa mum). Let the young man go to Kabarak then. That chance can be taken over by a bright needy boy from a not-so-privileged background who actually deserves it. Actually the fact that he is a "mtoto wa mum" is precisely why you should ship the boy to Starehe immediately. he may wear shorts but he'll be a man wearing shorts.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/13/2010 Posts: 160 Location: rift Valley-Naks
Both are good schools.However,Starehe has been there for a long time and has a very strong alumni which may come in handy in the latter years. Starehe has broader representation of the society( has a mix of both the privilege & under privilege),kabarak has more of the mid & upper echelon of the society.So in-terms of bringing up your kid in an environment that mimics our society starehe would do a good job. ''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
school fees in kabarak is nearly 300k per year i dont of starehe
bartum wrote:school fees in kabarak is nearly 300k per year i dont of starehe 300k! Wow! In Starehe, school fees are paid according to the the social/political/economic status of the parents. There are students who pay 250k a year. Others 100k, 60k or 40k. It varies. Out of the 200 or so students Starehe admits each year, approximately 120 or more do not pay fees and come from really humble backgrounds. Dr. James Mwangi's (Equity Bank CEO) 3 boys went through Starehe. I wonder how much he used to pay in school fees... Actually, the Scholarship Program that Equity has right now is a Copy+Paste of the Starehe model at a much grander level. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
jguru wrote:kiwaru wrote:jguru wrote:kiwaru wrote:Both schools are great, wacha mutoto aende Moi... Starehe ni jina tu. Mzungu Griffin alipotokomea, kukawa na a lot of wetu na wao. And since then their performance is on a downward trajectory. You are very wrong! Starehe remains one of the best schools in KE. Admitting a high number of students from academies led to this drop in performance 4 years on. This was sorted out. You must be crazy to say Starehe ni jina tu. It's like saying Alliance or Mangu ni jina tu! What was their position again last year??? Btw, I firmly believe that this (among other top schools) pick the creme de la creme from primary schools... why would the same school go ahead to tapa tapa in KCSE. Just my opinion. ... and am not crazy KCSE Ranking for the last 8 yearsLet's wait for KCSE 2013 results next month. To me Alliance B seem stable and focused! Hiyo ya Kabarak inayumbayumba kama mkia ya samaki. NB: Can you please also include Maranda boys hapo kwa list for regional balance? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
Toxicity wrote:If you had calling letters to these schools and you had one week to make a decision which one would you choose over the other and what will be the reasons?
Help a parent here! @toxicity when in doubt use brutal force Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Fyatu wrote:Toxicity wrote:If you had calling letters to these schools and you had one week to make a decision which one would you choose over the other and what will be the reasons?
Help a parent here! @toxicity when in doubt use brutal force hapa brutal force imekata! update president set president = speaker where president is null
bartum wrote:school fees in kabarak is nearly 300k per year i dont of starehe I dont know of the High school ......I only know of the university update president set president = speaker where president is null
Thank you all for the comments and advice given; I talked to the young man yesterday giving all the pros and cons mostly highlighted here and I din't want to make the decision for him I wanted him to make the decision ....He still seemed undecided,Today I will invite friend who is an alumni of Starehe boy's Center and Kabarak University to talk to him and from there he needs to make up his mind as if it is Starehe reporting day is Monday 27th......Thank you all! update president set president = speaker where president is null
Toxicity wrote:Thank you all for the comments and advice given; I talked to the young man yesterday giving all the pros and cons mostly highlighted here and I din't want to make the decision for him I wanted him to make the decision ....He still seemed undecided,Today I will invite friend who is an alumni of Starehe boy's Center and Kabarak University to talk to him and from there he needs to make up his mind as if it is Starehe reporting day is Monday 27th......Thank you all! I think the boy is still too young for you to leave it to him to make such an important decision. Decide for him and send him straight to Starehe.
Toxicity wrote:Thank you all for the comments and advice given; I talked to the young man yesterday giving all the pros and cons mostly highlighted here and I din't want to make the decision for him I wanted him to make the decision ....He still seemed undecided,Today I will invite friend who is an alumni of Starehe boy's Center and Kabarak University to talk to him and from there he needs to make up his mind as if it is Starehe reporting day is Monday 27th......Thank you all! Tuma kijana starch, he is too young to rationalize anything other than girl matters. And the fact that he is "undecided", your problem is halved. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
simonkabz wrote:Toxicity wrote:Thank you all for the comments and advice given; I talked to the young man yesterday giving all the pros and cons mostly highlighted here and I din't want to make the decision for him I wanted him to make the decision ....He still seemed undecided,Today I will invite friend who is an alumni of Starehe boy's Center and Kabarak University to talk to him and from there he needs to make up his mind as if it is Starehe reporting day is Monday 27th......Thank you all! Tuma kijana starch, he is too young to rationalize anything other than girl matters. And the fact that he is "undecided", your problem is halved. Simonkabz has said it! Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Any of the sch is good enough academically saying this I mean if he wants to pass or fail in the 2 schs it's possible. However I believe Starch will be good for him, for the simple fact that he will mingle with kids from different backgrounds...poor and rich, so he will develop positively socially. And yes as a parent you will have to make that choice. You dont want him to blame you for not being the father when he needed you. He needs you to make that choice. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
BTW when did Kabarak stop being a public school and became a private school? Wasn't it built using public funds and even staffed by TSC teachers?
Going by these admission statistics, Starehe might have a problem with KCSE exam results in future. They say sponsors are not enough to take care of a larger intake of poor boys. STAREHE (257): PRIVATE 182 (70.8%) PUBLIC 75 (29.2%) ALLIANCE (313): PRIVATE 83 (26.5%) PUBLIC 230 (76.5%) MANGU (271): PRIVATE 66 (24.4%) PUBLIC 205 (75.6%) MASENO (269): PRIVATE 68 (25.3%) PUBLIC 201 (74.3%) Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
jguru wrote:Going by these admission statistics, Starehe might have a problem with KCSE exam results in future. They say sponsors are not enough to take care of a larger intake of poor boys.
STAREHE (257): PRIVATE 182 (70.8%) PUBLIC 75 (29.2%)
ALLIANCE (313): PRIVATE 83 (26.5%) PUBLIC 230 (76.5%)
MANGU (271): PRIVATE 66 (24.4%) PUBLIC 205 (75.6%)
MASENO (269): PRIVATE 68 (25.3%) PUBLIC 201 (74.3%)
JGuru do you have a source for this information? This is just proof enough of how low the school has fallen. It used to be that poor kids formed about 80% or more of the student population.
jguru wrote:Going by these admission statistics, Starehe might have a problem with KCSE exam results in future. They say sponsors are not enough to take care of a larger intake of poor boys.
That explanation does not make sense... As at 200, Starehe had more than 100M in its endowment fund, which fund was supposed to generate about 10% p.a. for poor boys and subsequently grow in value. Add to the fact that a typical fee paying boy is charged an average of Kshs 150,000 in Starehe...
mv_ufanisi wrote:jguru wrote:Going by these admission statistics, Starehe might have a problem with KCSE exam results in future. They say sponsors are not enough to take care of a larger intake of poor boys.
JGuru do you have a source for this information? This is just proof enough of how low the school has fallen. It used to be that poor kids formed about 80% or more of the student population. Unbelievable that Starehe has received the highest number from private schools and their total number of admitted students is no longer the highest among the top schools!!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
As an interested party, I have refrained from commenting on this thread as I am an alum of Colditz. Its a no brainer for me, on top of the curricula and extra-curricula events, there was also the excitement of sneaking to the neighbouring Majengo to become a man.......
Market
Review
Starehe Boys' Centre Vs Moi High School Kabarak