Binyavanga Wainaina
mpobiz wrote:Impunity wrote:Motomoto wrote:Anachimba ama kuchimbwa? Gross, I tell you! I heard that this people don't have "the hand brake" or it is worn out. A slight sneeze or a cough may result in kuachilia hatharani. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Most of these guys who seem to be senior bachelors and you don't get to hear about any girlfriend points to an alternative lifestlye. All I can say is, its very sad indeed. Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
rryyzz wrote:Most of these guys who seem to be senior bachelors and you don't get to hear about any girlfriend points to an alternative lifestlye.All I can say is, its very sad indeed. Nditto.....they always seem to be balling!! Larry Asego covering for Maina yesterday had that discussion with King'ang'i on Classic, i wish it was MK on the show!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
muganda wrote:Honestly, don't have a problem with the guy per se, but with the lifestyle.
Can be consensual, private and still wrong: I am a prostitute I am having an affair I am sleeping with my daughter's friend I am sleeping with my sister I am gay Hear, hear.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Reading Binyavanga's article sent my mind to Gandhi's relationship with Manuben, the young girl who lived with him and served him towards his last days.
The girl refused to marry, and is said to have died 'a lonely spinster'. And she called 'Bapu' her mother. Here was Gandhi taking a sexual twist, and in his Spiritual quest, he turns into his own sexuality. And the consequence of these 'experiments' was as mixed as homosexuality, or even heterosexuality. In fact, I find it plausible that heterosexuality and homosexuality and all other forms of sexuality 'cause' each other.
I have met accounts of Muslim rulers who kept boys for their pleasure, and Prophets engaging in sexual behavior that at one time or the other has engendered censure.
And in equal measure have these rulers and Prophets and Sages prohibited certain forms of sexual expression.
Each Civilization has to decide on how Sexuality has to be understood and expressed.
And right now, people are getting out of closets to engage others in a conversation on how to look at sexuality. Crises in the Catholic church, and the Church in general reveal that the meaning of Sex and Sexual expression is in doubt.
Most of us here seem to be leaning on a 'don't ask don't tell' policy. A policy that has failed to work even in America. And why did it fail? Let's not even start thinking that 'gayism' is a Western matter and that it's a stranger to Africa.
This matter is shaking the foundations of Man, and unfortunately honesty and truth are difficult to find. Or when found, difficult to contemplate. But now even government is shaken, and anarchy, and perhaps misanthropy is imminent.
Everyone must come out of the closet if humanity is to survive. Even the heterosexual monogamist shown by @butterflyke should come out of the closet and admit that he not only can't speak for his wife, but that he can't justify himself by disregarding sex and sexuality.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
muganda wrote:Honestly, don't have a problem with the guy per se, but with the lifestyle.
Can be consensual, private and still wrong: I am a prostitute I am having an affair I am sleeping with my daughter's friend I am sleeping with my sister I am gay Can something be moral, and immoral at the same time? Yes. And as long as there's no Supreme power to rule over all, Man has an ethical problem. That's why empires are built. How people acquire power and express it is the matter here. If I were to give an analogy then it would be how a person gets AIDS, and opportunistic infections abound. Things that could be held back before can no longer be held back. This is what's happening now. It's the city walls falling, who will care and effect morality except the mighty and strong?
I for one do not care if he is gay or not. If my kid came and told me he is gay I quite honestly would not know how to react. Maybe ask him if he uses protection. I do not know, some of these things still sound foreign to me. I am sure many of you feel the same. WHO DARES WINS
masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:masukuma wrote:Amores wrote:masukuma wrote:i follow the guy on twitter (he is a fellow from Nax). I kinda always suspected it based on the kind of advocacy he had been on. well.. sijui niseme or hata kama kuna kitu ya kusema! i guess i felt the same why when Sheldon of "the big bang theory" came out. do you separate the man from the artist? crossroads my friends crossroads!! but it's kinda sad! He is? I didn't hear of his coming out story. Maybe everyone who is should come out,ndio we demystify this thing once and for all! i was a great fan of the big bang theory! way before it was hip to watch it. i used to download it hours after they showed it in the US. the wife and I used to watch it together talk about following it religiously until sometime season 5 when they made the announcement - have never had psyche to watch it again. For me it was Barney of 'How I met your mother' I have never reconciled between the guy who was always looking for an opportunity to land on airports and the other out of the closet...no. yes that happened to me as well... my interest kwishad and i have never been bothered with the program. he also had a part to play in the smurfs and when he kissed the 'spouse' on the movie i was like - yuck!! boss ignorance is bliss! the first time this ever happened was will ellen degeneres and her sitcom Ellen (she was the funniest woman I had ever seen) then she came out and interest dwindled. I have bought and read, cover to cover, all 8 copies of Kwani? (A journal which Binyavanga founded and edits). I will still buy and read the next published copy. I have watched The Big Bang Theory for the last 7 years. Season 7 Episode 13 aired on 9-Jan-2014 and I watched it on 10-Jan-2014. Waiting for the next episode. I don't care much for gay people and their activities. I have studied, worked and interacted with them. I don't see what the big deal is. @Masukuma, you are in familiar company. Most Kenyans are extremely homophobic and that will not change any time soon. Every man who has ever attempted or has had anal sex with a female will soon be termed gay. Same as every man who has ever had a digital rectal exam or a prostate massage and actually enjoyed it. Sad. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
A different view point(copy pasted From FB) "Not me. I like gay men. They reduce competition. I would only hate gay men if I was gay. Bastards increasing competition. I think only repressed gay people are homophobes. Self hate and all that." Yes, I used to be homophobic. Not anymore. They are just like you. Some are better human beings than you will ever be. Stop living in your cocoon. The world is round. There are square pegs. You might be one of them. Just give us time, we can come up with a way that makes you the square peg in our round hole. Simplicity is the utmost sophistication.
Njung'e wrote:aaaargH!!!.....Disgusting.I really don't want to meet with him coz my eyes won't stop exploring his pant's front for anything green......Yuk! there goes my appetite.. Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/10/2010 Posts: 1,001 Location: River Road
Let this guy enjoy his time on earth, it's his life. if you keep thinking about what gays do behind closed doors you need to examine yourself deeply-there is something wrong with you.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/12/2011 Posts: 177 Location: Jersey Island
simonkabz wrote:maka wrote:simonkabz wrote:samdoe wrote:Foz00 wrote:simu ni simu lakini usiniombe utumie yangu Did you mean simo?? Ati simo? WTF? He he relax siwewe @zanze I concur let them keep their sexual orientation to themselves we dont want to know... lol. ...at the bootcamp, we had this notorious jogging tune .... "oyee oye matandiko Tandika moja moja Tandika mbili mbili Tandika tatu tatu Simo ni simo Ya nyoka ndio mbaya" Wainaina would be quite happy to sing along Mzee Kabz,afadhali shimo ya nyoka kuliko hii ingine ya B-.
Kwani's ED the lady called Wachuka....
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Mist wrote:A different view point(copy pasted From FB)
"Not me. I like gay men. They reduce competition. I would only hate gay men if I was gay. Bastards increasing competition. I think only repressed gay people are homophobes. Self hate and all that."
Yes, I used to be homophobic. Not anymore. They are just like you. Some are better human beings than you will ever be.
Stop living in your cocoon. The world is round. There are square pegs. You might be one of them. Just give us time, we can come up with a way that makes you the square peg in our round hole.
so based on his own admission he is/was a repressed gay guy! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:2012 wrote:I don't mind him being gay, in fact he always displayed gay tendencies. My question is, did he have to come out of the closet with a bang the way he did like he's advertising himself?
I think there's a bigger agenda here, like maybe being the brilliant gifted writer he is, he want to be the 'spokes person' for gay rights in Africa because this 'coincidence' has come too soon to the UG and Naija anti gay legislations. Anyway, maybe I should stop reading too much into this. i have been following him on twiRRa and his tweets were more about advocacy and activism about persons with posterior motives. Prof of Bufallo also advocates for gay rights in his twiRRa account and also on our dailies.... No more comment.
Much respect @tycho as always #46 #47Gandhi was wrong on Manuben. The Muslim rulers who keep boys are wrong; same goes for Prophets and Sages who do the same. Something may be right or wrong at the same time, due to perspective, legislation, culture. But morality, ethics, the natural law are of a higher calling. You see, there is the Supreme power to rule over all men, Who grants choice, yet choice cannot invalidate morality, whether the city stands or falls. So the gay lifestyle in humans is akin to beastiality, prostitution, abortion, euthanasia, suicide, slavery; in that it impugnes on human dignity. And remains wrong even if a civilization deem it otherwise. Hence coming out of closet as an affirmation or validation is WRONG. If it be a journey in soul searching, a confession, that is another matter altogether.
Njung'e wrote:Rollout wrote:Gay should have a right to do their thing, as long as he is not trying to land on you, why is anyone bothered? Why am i bothered?I am straight but i have never screamed in anybody's ears about my orientation....and it does not mean i do not have a right!!....If only they could stop telling us whom they are!! @Mpobiz, A friend from Pwani once told me it's quite common.They use bulb onions to plug their loose sorry ass*s....aaarrghh!! (Why am i posting this?) You're missing the point, everyone around you is straight so you're not the minority, they're! The reason why they scream is to support other gays and encourage them to be comfortable with themselve, nothing wrong with that. Let others be what they wanna be again as long as they're not landing or trying to land on you!
Kaka Sunguch wrote:simonkabz wrote:maka wrote:simonkabz wrote:samdoe wrote:Foz00 wrote:simu ni simu lakini usiniombe utumie yangu Did you mean simo?? Ati simo? WTF? He he relax siwewe @zanze I concur let them keep their sexual orientation to themselves we dont want to know... lol. ...at the bootcamp, we had this notorious jogging tune .... "oyee oye matandiko Tandika moja moja Tandika mbili mbili Tandika tatu tatu Simo ni simo Ya nyoka ndio mbaya" Wainaina would be quite happy to sing along Mzee Kabz,afadhali shimo ya nyoka kuliko hii ingine ya B-. Hehee actually hiyo ya nyoka is not exactly the rear, but the home I guess. You can go poking any hole bora usiingie mahali nyoka anaishi......utaumwa kishwa TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rollout wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Rollout]
is to support other gays and encourage them to be comfortable with themselve, nothing wrong with that.
! Aldulterers should also come out to support each other since those involved are at all times consenting aldults.Before you get mad,let me ask you to show some love to the man who screws your wife since,in your words,the fellow isn't landing on you. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Binyavanga Wainaina