wazua Mon, Feb 24, 2025

5 Pages<12345>
Hilarious Origin of Names of Towns and Locations in Kenya
#41 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 9:51:01 AM

@McR, Fanua pia meaning za huko strongholds- Karachuonyo, Aleo Kusonga, Uliri,Bondo
#42 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:07:15 AM

majimaji wrote:

Ruiru town named after Ruiru river (black river), named so because of the rivers dark waters due to iron and manganese minerals from the source area

I also heard a different one. On the night before the boys went to become men, they walked from their homes to this river to deep themselves. Since they always arrive late night, the river always looked dark thus Rui Ruiru.
#43 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:08:59 AM

1.Kapsabet....Its kwa Elizabeth(Elizabeth's place) in kale kap is kwa and since you know kales pronounce Elizabeth as elisabet they called the place kapsabet
2.Kaptana---Kwa turner(turner's place)
Ikolomani---Gold mine in luhya kuna chida ya matamchi Gold mine=Kold mine
3.Kakamega-Kakamega was used to describe how the mzungus used to cut ugali(kakamega-Kamekata) mega is to cut while kaka is to refer to a small person
4.Chavakali:Is a women things in luhya(it was a women market)
5.Bungoma:engoma(drums)
6.Emuhaya:Aim higher:A mzungu who used to run a friends church used to encourage the kids to aim higher so they would go around telling otherr kids to emuhaya
#44 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:11:30 AM

Am wrote:
radio wrote:
Ruaka is named from the nearby river Ruaka, in full Rui Rwa Aka or the women's river. Women traders would freshen up at that river after a day's biz

How come its almost an abomination now to use the name Muka or Aka?

@Radio. Urbanization. You and I don't but It still happens Huko Uccha.

Others are names like Nyukwa yet Thoguo is accepted.
wanyuru
#45 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:14:16 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Ituramiro = the story I have heard, is it is at the of a steep hill. Hence 'kukaa vibaya'

The people of Kirinyaga/Embu are the Luo's of Central province - thus the penchant to Anglicize names like, Difatha's, Kutus, Runyenjes, Siakago etc

Karatina - from the Muratina tree, one used to stand where the market now is.

Ndenderu is a slippery place.

Many of the names in the northern part of the Nyeri Valley and Nyandarua are from Maasai, specifically Samburu, who occupied the area before the Maa civil war. Thus names like Nyeri, Mweiga, Ol Kalou, Nyahururu, Maragema, Njororoko etc

While we are at it, who can tell me where the following names came from:
- Gatina, Rodkopany, Padpieri, Iveti, Gathatia ng'ondu

what about "gathuki mundu" in mukurwe-ini and "tari nduiku" (must be in Kiambu)

seppuku
#46 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:48:47 AM

wanyuru wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Ituramiro = the story I have heard, is it is at the of a steep hill. Hence 'kukaa vibaya'

The people of Kirinyaga/Embu are the Luo's of Central province - thus the penchant to Anglicize names like, Difatha's, Kutus, Runyenjes, Siakago etc

Many of the names in the northern part of the Nyeri Valley and Nyandarua are from Maasai, specifically Samburu, who occupied the area before the Maa civil war. Thus names like Nyeri, Mweiga, Ol Kalou, Nyahururu, Maragema, Njororoko etc

what about "gathuki mundu" in mukurwe-ini and "tari nduiku" (must be in Kiambu)

I read in Wangari Maathai's Unbowed that Nyahururu was so named by the Kikuyu after the tall water fall there. The water falls hururururururu hence Nyahururu. Sounds plausible to me. That was before a self important Mzungu known as Joseph Thompson showed up there much later and decided he had discovered the thing. He named it after his father.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku
#47 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:50:20 AM

1.Kapsabet....Its kwa Elizabeth(Elizabeth's place) in kale kap is kwa and since you know kales pronounce Elizabeth as elisabet they called the place kapsabet
3.Kakamega-Kakamega was used to describe how the mzungus used to cut ugali(kakamega-Kamekata) mega is to cut while kaka is to refer to a small person
6.Emuhaya:Aim higher:A mzungu who used to run a friends church used to encourage the kids to aim higher so they would go around telling otherr kids to emuhaya

Aim higher = Emuhaya!!!
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#48 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:53:40 AM

Gathige wrote:
The weirdest is Ituramiro. I hear it's in Gatundu. I heard the explanation like 10yrs back nikachangaa

spit it!

some woman was selling uji hapo and was in the 'turama' sitting position. Akina magigi wa huko were regular customers.

@Lolest, Uji is likely to be sold on an "inama" position and not "turama".

Among the Ameru, it is a taboo for a man to go to the kitchen while his mother is in there. The reason is, she may sit vibaya and that could cause lack of respect
#49 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 11:17:07 AM

Gatina Kanungaga - Kawangware.
MADE
#50 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 12:28:25 PM

seppuku wrote:

Aim higher = Emuhaya!!!

hahaa..Isikuti nayo?
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
#51 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 1:42:03 PM

MADE wrote:
seppuku wrote:

Aim higher = Emuhaya!!!

hahaa..Isikuti nayo?

Isikuti=Its good
Luhya's were entertaining a mzungu with the using the isikuti,when they finished the mzungu said its good.The luhya's thought the mzungu named the thing isikuti(its good)
#52 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 3:08:18 PM

MADE wrote:
seppuku wrote:

Aim higher = Emuhaya!!!

hahaa..Isikuti nayo?

Isikuti=Its good
Luhya's were entertaining a mzungu with the using the isikuti,when they finished the mzungu said its good.The luhya's thought the mzungu named the thing isikuti(its good)

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly my favorite
YoungMulla
#53 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 5:43:08 PM

very interesting.
what of githunguri, juja, gatunguru, ihururu ...
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
#54 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 7:53:31 PM

Ihururu,-eagles mob (mahuru)

Warufaga(elburgon)-potatoes were given that last name zikimwagika they would roll in all directions.

Kangumbiri- A place where they jailed people & after serving the jail term,white pple would say...u can go free! lmao.Laughing out loudly

Karindundu.... a village in Mathira where there were many owls

Kiangoma- madeemoni place

Mathakwai-ini- place has many trees with big leaves

Ndumanu- lots of darkness that you can't see anything..

Kiangwaci-lots of sweetpotatoes

Kiaruhiu-where everybody was buying pangas to farm

Kamunyaka_ guys must be lucky

Ndugamano~ People landed while standing.
#55 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 8:06:23 PM

Ihururu,-eagles mob (mahuru)

Warufaga(elburgon)-potatoes were given that last name zikimwagika they would roll in all directions.

Kangumbiri- A place where they jailed people & after serving the jail term,white pple would say...u can go free! lmao.Laughing out loudly

Karindundu.... a village in Mathira where there were many owls

Kiangoma- madeemoni place

Mathakwai-ini- place has many trees with big leaves

Ndumanu- lots of darkness that you can't see anything..

Kiangwaci-lots of sweetpotatoes

Kiaruhiu-where everybody was buying pangas to farm

Kamunyaka_ guys must be lucky

Ndugamano~ People landed while standing.[/quote]

This might give some pple ideas on other matters.
#56 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 8:54:42 PM

There's a place na huko Dagoretti gishagi wanaita Mai-a-ihii
#57 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 8:57:54 PM

There's a place na huko Dagoretti gishagi wanaita Mai-a-ihii

Pray Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Wakanyugi
#58 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:27:08 PM

@wakanyugi, Siakago is Sia Aka Ago as @rankaz has explained. I thought Karatina is corruption for quarantine?....Frere Town was named after Robert Frere, a missionary.

Thanks.

Karatina is named after the Muratina tree.

But of course Kariakoor, Kahuka ka Mburi, Kirigiti, Thogoto are corruptions of Carrier corps, Kipkarbus, Cricket and Scotland respectively.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi
#59 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:31:14 PM

Wee wacha usitubring'ie! Ati people landed when standing Laughing out loudly
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
oltome
#60 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:43:30 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you the Samburu, though Maa speakers, are a different entity to the Maasai, the section that was annihilated was the Ilaikipiak clan which was very powerful but warlike and quarrelsome, apparently the remnants of this clan were assimilated particularly by the Nyeri Kikuyu (hence their famed 'meaness') and to lesser extent some Ameru clans