Happy Birthday "Nyayo'
Happy Birthday Nyayo ......... still going strong despite the hate! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Pedes wrote:Moi did what he could; squandered the best opportunity a Kenyan President had, ever will, to make the most of their time in power, 24 years. Peace and stability aren't things we should thank him for, we should thank Kenyan citizens for that we kept calm and bid our time as pissed as people would get they didn't lose their heads. I feel you BUT you cannot just say he was all evil He had a few good things buana! Though I agree, with the kind of power he had(absolute, zero opposition for more than 10 years) he should have taken us much farther than he did
quicksand wrote:Moi,...systematically crushed nascent and thriving cash crop farming and dairy sectors, I do not know about other cash crops but my reading of books by Kenyan wazees like Matiba informs me that coffee prices internationally went down after the Brazilian caused boom of the late 70s! Yet Gemans have always insisted that Moi brought down the sector to finish them!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
Pedes wrote:Moi did what he could; squandered the best opportunity a Kenyan President had, ever will, to make the most of their time in power, 24 years. Peace and stability aren't things we should thank him for, we should thank Kenyan citizens for that we kept calm and bid our time as pissed as people would get they didn't lose their heads. wewe thank the Kenyan people as we thank moi! everything good that happens to kenya is because of the kenyan people and everything bad is because of the leadership. damn these leaders... I wonder who chooses them... damn them! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Pedes wrote:Moi did what he could; squandered the best opportunity a Kenyan President had, ever will, to make the most of their time in power, 24 years. Peace and stability aren't things we should thank him for, we should thank Kenyan citizens for that we kept calm and bid our time as pissed as people would get they didn't lose their heads. ooooookey  That is a funny one. I hope you are not among the guys who blame Baks for the PEV......the people therefore are to blame for "losing their cool".......I agree! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Swenani wrote:Can we focus on the positive side of Toro, people have a lot of negative energies. We should be thankful to Toro for the following
1.Girl child education 2.Peace , SECURITY and stability 3.Managing negative ethnicity Moi is overpraised on this!! Peace? 1991, 1993,1997,1998 pre and post election skirmishes were the training grounds for guys who did 2005 and 2007/08 Security? Were you in Kenya in the 90s? That's when things really went south on this. Some have claimed insecurity was caused by SAPs. Stability? That I will give to him. That's the good thing with authoritarian rulers. His paranoia ensured that save for '82 coup, Kenya remained stable Managing negative ethnicity? I dare say he encouraged that. The difference between Kenya than and now is: 1. THE PEOPLE are more educated, and more aware of their rights and 'rights'. They are also more edgy and will fight govt for any reason. 2.THE TRIBE 'in power' did not have enemies. They were mostly in their rural areas. Never really in many sectors. Low interaction with discriminated against peoples. Machungu were reserved for wakubwa only.
1. I remember the 90s graduates were hopeless. Every weekend my parents would be invited for a harambee for a form four leaver/uni graduate who was going to US for further studies 2.Baba created a cult of himself.. 3.Today's corruption is child's play compared to what was there. Some mzee who worked in the ministry of water told me how every district would take money to baba for his harambees. By the time the money got to hm a few other guys would have taken advantage and 'eaten' a good chunk. e.g go to district trweasurer, ask for 1M for Baba's harambee, bribe the guy with 100k so that he signs, then peleka 500k to M01! 4.Maziwa ya nyayo  demonised until you read it had been tried in UK too! 5.Collapse of parastatals! 6. 8-4-4. What was wrong with it? I heard older 7-4-2-3 system products complain about it. I liked its emphasis on practical life things(Art, Music, Homescience, Business, Agric)Too bad in his sunset years in power they did away with those subjects! 7.He gave us UMK. Guy was virtually unknown before '97
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
the mad man weighs in  All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:Can we focus on the positive side of Toro, people have a lot of negative energies. We should be thankful to Toro for the following
1.Girl child education 2.Peace , SECURITY and stability 3.Managing negative ethnicity BS, what negative energy when the guy messed OUR country? It's not like he was doing us any favors being president. Virtually everything that was functioning until 1978, died under Moi's watch. Infrastructure, institutions, ethics , land ownership, entrepreneurship etc etc. If he ever wished to have me focus on anything positive about him at all, he should have tried to do ONE positive thing.
masukuma wrote:the mad man weighs in  Is this for real ama ni photoshop??? Kweli kuna watu na viatu update president set president = speaker where president is null
And he now has another monument for his 90th Birthday at the Kabarak University update president set president = speaker where president is null
mkeiy wrote:Swenani wrote:Can we focus on the positive side of Toro, people have a lot of negative energies. We should be thankful to Toro for the following
1.Girl child education 2.Peace , SECURITY and stability 3.Managing negative ethnicity BS, what negative energy when the guy messed OUR country? It's not like he was doing us any favors being president. Virtually everything that was functioning until 1978, died under Moi's watch. Infrastructure, institutions, ethics , land ownership, entrepreneurship etc etc. If he ever wished to have me focus on anything positive about him at all, he should have tried to do ONE positive thing. Uko na googles kweli, what was working between 1963 and 1978? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Another positive from Toro -He was never sworn in at dusk If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
The giraffe that sees far. Happy birthday mzee!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
aemathenge wrote:aemathenge wrote:Thank you for reminding me how vomiting feels like. I guess this shall become an annual ritual until Em Oh One gets to rest in peace. Your Excellency, Mutukufu Rais, Professor, Mr. Macharia is doing very well despite all the power you welded against him. How about that. How about that.
Nice to see mzee still going strong, doing better than the mahaters!!! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
The one who was sworn in at midnight has been very quiet!? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:The one who was sworn in at midnight has been very quiet!? Kenyans are not interested in seeing him at all. He should lie low as we mourn our people who were slaughtered with powersaws for failing to pronounce onion in mountains language. You must also not forget Ugandan soldiers who course not speak Kiswahili and took many people to Makueni.
Happy Birthday "Nyayo'