wazua Sat, Jun 27, 2026

8 Pages<12345>»
IEBC being sabotaged??
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2013 11:31:55 PM

I'm troubleshooting @muganda. You first blame someone until proven its not them.

I've been informed data is being transmitted. Seen safaricom fellows wanting to kill those who say otherwise.

So I'll blame Next Technologies.

Next I'll blame JapakGIS too

Until they come out with blazing guns saying otherwise.

Someone must pay for this including the procurement fellows at IEBC. Heads must not only be seen to have rolled, but actually need to roll.
T-Bag
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2013 11:48:56 PM

IEBC can fly in "experts" from Antarctica or anywhere in the Globe in under 24 hrs, better still the experts can troubleshoot remotely. The server is may not be domiciled in kenya.
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
wazuaguest
#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2013 11:49:23 PM

muganda wrote:
@alma I must commend your sense of duty and restraint. I think the problem with this issue can be compared to hungry children on a queue for food, you have a window of time and it is important to serve before things get out of hand.

Let patience prevail.

Meanwhile @whiteafrican has provided path for the data from polling station to IEBC API: http://iebctechkenya.tumblr.com...he-data-from-the-polling
1. Polling station uses Safaricom SIM cards »
2. app installed in phone »
3. transmitted via Safaricom’s VPN »
4. Servers hosted/managed by Next Technologies »
5. API hosted by JapakGIS »
6. Google hosted website at http://vote.iebc.or.ke

Then the problem is at Next Technologies or JapakGIS. From what i've read online.

2.and who is the developer of the app? is it really working /efficient? was it tested in advance? did anybody try to make modifications mid way of any nature.
anyway we have been conned
Africa belongs to Africans.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2013 11:49:29 PM

@alma I hear you, but you more than most understand we are talking about getting information to Bomas here, hence we only have two providers - Safaricom (steps 1-3) or Next Technologies (step 4).

Next Technologies were already faulted because last night the Server was said to have crashed.

Since then a new issue of transmission faults arose today. Naturally Safaricom would vigorously defend themselves but the issue buoyed to the surface.

http://iebctechkenya.tumblr.com/
#25 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2013 11:58:33 PM

muganda wrote:
@alma I hear you, but you more than most understand we are talking about getting information to Bomas here, hence we only have two providers - Safaricom (steps 1-3) or Next Technologies (step 4).

Next Technologies were already faulted because last night the Server was said to have crashed.

Since then a new issue of transmission faults arose today. Naturally Safaricom would vigorously defend themselves but the issue buoyed to the surface.

http://iebctechkenya.tumblr.com/

iebc has not given a definite answer where the issues arise - I would have preferred a briefing from the IT personnel on the same, the other guys are just mentioning servers crashing (30,000 sms can not even crash an ideos) - or problems with transmission (each data set must be less than a kb - doubt safcom can have issues with 30,000 kb of data) - or system failure (only very peculiar programmers on that budget can fail to code a single form with 8 fields and a login).

I would appreciate a report from the IT guys on what the issue is
#26 Posted : Wednesday, March 06, 2013 8:04:55 AM

failure of IEBC system was expected..

IEBC Must Fix The Results Transmission System Fast

TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2013 - 00:00 -- BY SARAH ELDERKIN

Last Sunday night, Citizen TV’s ‘Kibaki Succession’ segment on its 9pm ‘Sunday Live’ programme featured not the usual discussion by David Makali and Peter Opondo of the week’s events, but instead host Julie Gichuru interviewing the chairman of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), Issack Hassan.

Ms Gichuru talked a lot but failed to ask the fundamentally most important question, “Is all your equipment and are all your electronic systems up and running, fully operational, fully prepared and fully protected?”

Hassan was lucky she did not ask this – because it happened that an IEBC demonstration of the equipment and system a couple of days earlier had gone horribly wrong.

Last week, the IEBC called IT-savvy representatives of political parties to a meeting on Friday at the Sunshine Holiday Inn in Westlands, Nairobi, where the use and efficacy of the equipment to be employed for the election counting and reporting was to be demonstrated. A representative of the US National Democratic Institute (NDI) was also present.

Party participants had a whole range of questions on which they wanted reassurance from the IEBC, especially concerning potential failures carried forward from the past.

To demonstrate how the new system would obviate all this, some of the participants at the meeting were divided into five groups of three, each group a mock ‘polling station’. They were given mobile phones such as those to be used on March 4. The phones are loaded with the software and menus for completing the tasks at hand.

The remainder of the group sat watching the screen, waiting for the ‘results’ to come in.

That’s when the problems started. The five ‘polling stations’ were initially all unable even to log in.

After a few of the five did eventually manage it, the next problem arose. They were logged in but there was no connectivity with the ‘tallying centre’. The ‘polling station’ callers could not be authenticated.

Finally, after struggling for ONE HOUR, only ONE of these five ‘polling stations’ managed to transmit its results.

Now, much as we want to trust that the IEBC is going to do a good job, we have to ask – if four out of five ‘polling stations’ have problems in a demonstration meant to show the efficient use of this technology, what on earth is going to happen when 33,000 polling stations all try to log in and transmit results at the same time?

We hope the IEBC is trying to fix these problems but, on the basis of the evidence so far, and considering the sheer volume of the data to be transmitted, it certainly appears that there could be a massive system failure.

This is an issue that needs to be taken very seriously indeed – particularly in view of the persistent rumours of intended rigging.

There are a number of crucial security issues that need to be addressed.

1.Who has access to the database and what are the dangers of its being compromised?

2. What systems are in place for data encryption to prevent hacking and corruption of data during transmission?

3. Who is dealing with maintenance of the equipment, and could this involve additional, possibly unauthorised, log-in capability and access?

4. What would happen in the case of server failure – what storage technology, such as RAID (Redundant Array Independent Disk), is being employed to ensure storage of data in different places, and who has access to this?

5. Is there even a simple back-up system, in case of data loss?

6. Hackers can rearrange or delete data from a database, and insert factors that affect the outcome of results. What is being done to prevent computer programmers and IT experts from doing this?

A participant was told not to present these questions at the meeting, but we need answers to all these questions from the IEBC.

When the American Express headquarters was destroyed during the 9/11 attack on the World Trade Centre in New York in 2001, Amex data was safe. The organisation had engaged in good practice. Despite the catastrophic event, it suffered no loss of data. Its worldwide database was safely stored in other locations.

What can the IEBC tell us about its own measures for the security and functionality of its systems? What can it actually demonstrate to us about its readiness to conduct these elections?

On Friday, those present at the meeting were asked to raise their hands if they were confident of the IEBC’s preparedness. No hand was raised.
elder1981
#27 Posted : Wednesday, March 06, 2013 9:23:27 AM

If private companies can have strong it systems, hii mambo ya IEBC kusema system failure is a joke. They are dealing with very small data.
The Main thing is making the Main thing the Main thing.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, March 06, 2013 9:25:13 AM

What do you expect from a system that was initially expected to cost sh4bn but was finally purchased at sh8bn?
#29 Posted : Wednesday, March 06, 2013 9:29:55 AM

And the last minute purchase did not help either. there was not time to test and retest it. but it is a learning process and i still do commend them so far. the process may be slow, but it is transparent. And the back-up plan worked well where the BVRs failed from the on-set.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, March 06, 2013 9:38:38 AM

Bwana Hassan and team must bring the persons responsible for this mess to book.

IT system failures are normal. But they are made normal by the fact that they are quickly resolved. Not resolving an issue like BVRs or Evids, and claiming a server is down for 24 hours cannot be tolerated by tax payers.

I'm glad that they were wise enough to have the manual process in place as backup.

But there is no way they can expect us to take them seriously if they don't bring to book whoever was in charge of procurement, and the IT department. It is a shame to hear that poll officers couldn't charge their batteries or that they didn't remember their passwords.

In IT terms, this a major cock up and someone should be punished for it. And seen to be punished.

I still give major props to their keeping the process free and fair to this point. Lakini mambo ya IT, let them be serious about who they hire for such things.
8 Pages<12345>»