wazua Thu, Dec 5, 2024

6 Pages<12345>»
The International community threat and it's impact on our economy....which way??
Cde Monomotapa
#41 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 4:41:35 PM

PS: Look out for further deliberations/actions around the proposed BRICS Devt. Bank set for March 26th in RSA. If the IMF/WB/IFC were creations post-World War 2, then hail the BRICS Bank of the global economic make-up of today & the future. Let's play...
mkonomtupu
#42 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 6:19:38 PM

ProverB wrote:
Reading thro this thread... I laughed.. so so hard.

Please note...Sanctions? Think zimbabwe.

@Guru... just let it be. LOL!

#Blame the education system.

I really blame our education system it never taught critical thinking. When someone threatens you with "consequences" and you run to the hills, have some dignity and man up and call their bluff

Have you guys forgotten that Margaret Thatcher and Ronald Reagan labelled Nelson Mandela a terrorist. In fact Thatcher said about the ANC that " The ANC is a typical terrorist organisation...Anyone who thinks it is going to run the government in South Africa is living in cuckoo land"

In 1990 Mr. Mandela declined to meet Thatcher because the man had dignity in him. Years later the same mzungus erected a statue in his honour.

In the US, Mandela had to get special certification that he is not a terrorist from the Secretary of State in order to travel to the US.
http://www.telegraph.co....rom-US-terror-list.html

Surely when ICC witnesses are turning to be fake you want to still lick boots. Let's have some dignity.

Jubilee all the way, I can't vote for the socialist alternative, they have stated in their manifesto that they will introduce exchange rates controls
hisah
#43 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 7:02:07 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
PS: Look out for further deliberations/actions around the proposed BRICS Devt. Bank set for March 26th in RSA. If the IMF/WB/IFC were creations post-World War 2, then hail the BRICS Bank of the global economic make-up of today & the future. Let's play...

180 nations have formed an alliance. It is getting very interesting. Someone will soon be caught without pants when the tide ebbs.

In S.America a new union currency will likely be in place by 2016. Those that have exploited this region are watching in disbelief. Watch argentina give the finger to the old world.

Santions in KE for electing a leader democratically. The west is caught up in their own web smile

I'm least interested in the sideshows. Big deals still flowing. The rest is noise...

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
gk
#44 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 7:03:19 PM

.....good people
is there anyone here whose mar4th decision will be influnced by a noncitizen 50yrs after indepndnce?
I dont like either of the leading contendrs but nothing irks me like these unsolicited westrrn opinions
#45 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 7:32:32 PM

Some are unable see, some refuse to see. I am reminded of high school, it is like trying to teach algebra to a fellow classmate who has absolutely no aptitude for mathematics. After a while all you can do is sympathise knowing full well the 2 maths papers in KCSE will nail him to the wall.
Or like the case of Esther Arunga. We all gaped in horror and wondered, still wonder, what the hell is she doing? She can't see, caught in a catalysmic hurricane of emotions and euphoria.
It is the righteous indignation of the innocent, childlike, because of lack of understanding. This is not a fight for freedom. Do not be deceived. We are as free as we are gonna get. We don't have wealth and resources, they do. The only way we can be freer is to ensure that they need us more than we need them. Or at least they need us badly enough. This is not the case currently.
Everyday, we are cornered and subjugated by people, corporations and other entities that have more than us, or have something that we want or need. Our spouses and fiances talk down to us, we take crap from our bosses, we take crap from customers, we take crap from our MPs. We have a veiled threat hanging over our heads, so some are shaking to the boots in rage, or deluding themselves we might escape consequences, thinking there some sort of justice will swoop down and stop the west from inflicting pain on us.
Anyone who has something you want or need has power over you. Simple. This is the way of power. Those with power write the rules. Understand the nature of this imbalance of power between us and them and it will begin to become apparent the futility of railing against them. Chest thumping does not give you power. Having choices does not give you power. If a stone wall is erected in your path it is senseless to beat it with your bare fists, though you are welcome to try. The wise pick their fights.
So kids, try and learn algebra, even if it is boring and unpalatable, because the maths paper is compulsory, and because ignoring it will muck up your overall grade.
Cde Monomotapa
#46 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 7:48:42 PM

hisah wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

180 nations have formed an alliance. It is getting very interesting. Someone will soon be caught without pants when the tide ebbs.

In S.America a new union currency will likely be in place by 2016. Those that have exploited this region are watching in disbelief. Watch argentina give the finger to the old world.

Santions in KE for electing a leader democratically. The west is caught up in their own web smile

I'm least interested in the sideshows. Big deals still flowing. The rest is noise...

Interesting. Came across a new coinage, the 'South-South' movement i.e S. America, Africa, Asia trade & investment flows. Let's see.
Cde Monomotapa
#47 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 9:03:37 PM

Cde Monomotapa
#48 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 9:32:26 PM

The unforeseen consequences of Western econ sanctions on Zim THEN is them missing all* infrastructure & mining deals NOW to BRICS against a backdrop of a biting crisis at home. Oh well, change of plans & just a PEACEFUL Referendum next month will do for Ausi & EU http://www.africareview..../-/6o8waaz/-/index.html - Brito & the US are on their own, the larger EU can't wait till elections later this year.
Cde Monomotapa
#49 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 9:41:44 PM

^ & yes, ZANU-PF (The National & Peoples Party) is most likely to floor MDC big-time. (Tyranny of numbers). Lastly & personally, I don't think I have the patience & or time to learn Mandarin & any such other language other than English. Where we'd expect that common sense prevailed that we can communicate well with the West & thus, maintain each others relevance economically (coz of POLITICS, WTF?) in SSA, I just don't understand. SMH
josiah33
#50 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 9:51:10 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
The unforeseen consequences of Western econ sanctions on Zim THEN is them missing all* infrastructure & mining deals NOW to BRICS against a backdrop of a biting crisis at home. Oh well, change of plans & just a PEACEFUL Referendum next month will do for Ausi & EU http://www.africareview..../-/6o8waaz/-/index.html - Brito & the US are on their own, the larger EU can't wait till elections later this year.

Interesting........hope Mugabe finally manages to turn around the economy of Zimbabwe. If he does indeed succeed, am sure it would teach some of us some lesson. Though am sure no one would be willing to learn the Mugabe way- it's so painful a way to learn.
#51 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 9:52:48 PM

For Sport wrote:
jamplu wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
Hogwash, nothing will happen

Prove it.

Lets not bow to their demands then we'll see if they will not buy our flowers coffee and now oil. The more they talk the more people are getting the morale of voting in the Hague brothers.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you think
this is the only country that can grow flowers and coffee or has oil? we are seriously delusional!

We all know once supply is cut prices go up...that is not sustainable for them esp now that their economies are in the gutter.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly God help us all!

I now understand why they say a little knowledge is dangerous.
God help us. As we eat our Sovereignty, fuel our cars with Sovereignty, buy milk and Hiv drugs with our Sovereignty, build our infrastructure with our Sovereignty. Amen.

so sovereignty is edible.cos me and my fellow employees at my workplace are still waiting to be educated on sovereignty recipes COS the sanctions threats have Already started to bite.and retrenchments are REAL
Cde Monomotapa
#52 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 10:05:04 PM

josiah33 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Interesting........hope Mugabe finally manages to turn around the economy of Zimbabwe. If he does indeed succeed, am sure it would teach some of us some lesson. Though am sure no one would be willing to learn the Mugabe way- it's so painful a way to learn.

The core problem in Zim post Land Reforms has always been being cut off from Devt. Capital to support govt & private sector progs. The econ turned in '09 and since then, capital has been streaming from all other Regions/States (Africa, BRICS, Mid. East e.t.c) but the West, thus, they're actually playing catch-up in Zim now. Zimbos like Kenyans are bright & enterprising (why we run Diaspora) and as it has been in KE since '02 when capital started to flow, then, you'd better watch for Zim too.
josiah33
#53 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 10:21:55 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
josiah33 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

The core problem in Zim post Land Reforms has always been being cut off from Devt. Capital to support govt & private sector progs. The econ turned in 09 and since then, capital has been streaming from all other States (Africa, BRICS, Mid. East e.t.c) but the West, thus, they're actually playing catch-up in Zim now. Zimbos like Kenyans are bright & enterprising (why we run Diaspora) and as it has been in KE since '02 when capital started to flow, then, you'd better watch for Zim too.

Well! well! i am learning some new things from you......by the way, just a few days ago someone thought he could buy Zimbabwe after he learnt that the country had 217 dollars left in it's accounts after paying civil servants. And someone else told him not to be in a hurry coz Kenya will come much cheaper after the elections. What are your thoughts on that?
the deal
#54 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 10:42:01 PM

Friends jokes aside...as someone with a first hand account of what happened in Zim...I would not want Kenyans to go through that...when sanctions where placed on Zim there was a massive exodus to neighbouring countries...most Zimbabweans only survived because of neighbouring countries who have strong economies...the exodus still happens today...now where will Kenyans run to? Uganda or Tanzania?
Cde Monomotapa
#55 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 10:59:04 PM

@josi Zimra like KRA collects revenue/taxes for GoZ thus, what Biti was refn to was the Public Account not the economy. In a creative bid to ask for donor funding for referendum & elections (like Kenya) it was blown out of proportion.
Cde Monomotapa
#56 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 11:10:00 PM

NB: @Josi Zim has been on a cash budget since '09 & running on the USD (hence can't print like the Fed) and also w/o a T-Bill/Bond to fill in short/mid/long budget gaps. However, the money mkt is set to be revived this year & pursuant to the Zim Accelerated Arrears clearance Debt & Development Strategy (ZAADDS) launched last year, WB/AfDB/IMF/IFC/EIB e.t.c funding is set to resume soon. Bank sector deposits up from USD3.6B in '11 to USD4.4B '12 [can all fit in KCB smile]. Banking sector confidence is yet to fully re-up but EcoCash (MPesa) has shaken things up big time since '11. #StayTuned | Download the latest Zim Monetary Policy Statement & learn more about the New Zim (not @deal's or foreign media's hostile versions) Download zimbabwe-monetary-policy-jan-2013.pdf http://sirnigelsjourney....tary-policy-jan-2013.pdf
eboomerang
#57 Posted : Sunday, February 10, 2013 2:10:29 AM

It's amazing how the catalysts behind this elections have evolved over time.

Now it the "colonialists" vs "us". Talk of propaganda Laughing out loudly

These recent political developments have exposed the soft underbelly of this country -we are actually multiple countries within one country in various ways.

Our country can be divided based on social status(Rich vs Poor), tribal affiliations (5 large tribes), demographics(age).

For those who lean towards Uhuru/Ruto, they could care less of strained international relations. According to them, they have nothing to loose.

Sure enough, we do not have to stoop to anyone but then again the pride and arrogance being shown does not match our nation's ability to stand on it's own. The fact is, we are not there yet.

It is not the time for chest thumping yet, there are other countries in the region that are coming up really fast and a small stumble of five years will see dynamics in the region change significantly.
#58 Posted : Sunday, February 10, 2013 4:03:21 AM

The persons who bore the greatest responsibility for the PEV... How can Mwai Kibaki and Raila Odinga miss on that list?
#59 Posted : Sunday, February 10, 2013 5:17:08 AM

Kenya is not a banana republic. Who owns the flower, tea and coffee farms, the holiday and game resorts? Is it not their cousins and their relatives who refused to pack their bags and call themselves Kenyans today? Will Tullow and Africa Oil withdraw from exploring oil in Turkana? Will Base titanium give up exploration in Kwale etc? The truth of the matter is they walk out the Chinese check in. The reason baba was focused on looking for markets in the Middle East and Asia was to avoid hii panganga.

If you haven't noticed, the sanctions have started...dint they ban miraa? Refuse to pay KDF its dues? How long shall we lick their boots? But notice they cant keep off our markets, because what is to come is very enticing.
#60 Posted : Sunday, February 10, 2013 7:58:05 AM

the deal wrote:
most Zimbabweans only survived because of neighbouring countries who have strong economies...the exodus still happens today...now where will Kenyans run to? Uganda or Tanzania?

What about Somalia, S. Sudan or Ethiopia?? Sad