wazua Mon, Dec 2, 2024

Crossroads
Nabwire
#41 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 1:46:01 AM

Quicksand, Drunkard says $100k is too high, but this site thinks its just right http://www.careers-in-finance.com/ibsal.htm
So lets average and say I get a starting salary of $75k, I can easily pay off the loan in 5 years. About coming back home, I wouldnt necessarily look for a job in the commercial banks that you have listed, I would go into investment banking and wealth management. But my dream would be to be self employed and just manage peoples wealth, ofcourse for a fee. Thank you for your advice, much appreciated, nitasoma kwa/na nguvu!!
Drunkard
#42 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 1:46:11 AM

Series 7 is just a licensing test, it is like driving test, I don't even think you need college education to do it you just need to be sponsored by a company.

Quant is basically quantitative analysis, currently a few college offers hybrid programs in respond to capital market needs they go by names like, Financial Mathematics, Financial Engineering, computational finance and Quantitaive Finance, they all come in Master levels only.
Nabwire
#43 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 1:52:13 AM

Ai headache! I think I will focus on finishing Undergrad first, hizi Quants are for later. Can you breakdown what it is that you do? As in at the office 9-5, what are the goals required of you? Do you cold call? Or do you look at numbers all day, some kind of day trader?
Yeah Prudential did infer that I neednt complete my schooling, nilifanya tests mpaka nikachoka!
#44 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 2:21:24 AM

I do agree with Drunkard, 100K seems high, for a starter. I am using comparative logic, not any knowledge of US banking salary scales. 100K translates to 750K Kshs per month. In Kenya banking, that salary is paid to heads of departments or a business unit. An entry trader or analyst is several levels below that. The site also says that salo is after a bonus, no base pay is mentioned. I am sure there are performance targets attached to getting the bonus. There are also numerous links to educational institutions offering Finance courses. Can't hurt to encourage people to enroll for these courses. Take it with a pinch of salt. Only a person who has been through the slog can tell you the realistic figures.

I am not in banking (I am in Telecoms/Systems), but I have asked some consultants I have worked with from Britain, France ...their pay is about 2.5 times of the Kenyan equivalent with similar qualifications and experience. For worker bees, the scales are pretty similar regardless of industry. To hazard a guess, the entry salary could be 50K USD for a banker - minus bonuses.
Drunkard
#45 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 3:58:25 AM

quicksand wrote:
I do agree with Drunkard, 100K seems high, for a starter. I am using comparative logic, not any knowledge of US banking salary scales. 100K translates to 750K Kshs per month. In Kenya banking, that salary is paid to heads of departments or a business unit. An entry trader or analyst is several levels below that. The site also says that salo is after a bonus, no base pay is mentioned. I am sure there are performance targets attached to getting the bonus. There are also numerous links to educational institutions offering Finance courses. Can't hurt to encourage people to enroll for these courses. Take it with a pinch of salt. Only a person who has been through the slog can tell you the realistic figures.

I am not in banking (I am in Telecoms/Systems), but I have asked some consultants I have worked with from Britain, France ...their pay is about 2.5 times of the Kenyan equivalent with similar qualifications and experience. For worker bees, the scales are pretty similar regardless of industry. To hazard a guess, the entry salary could be 50K USD for a banker - minus bonuses.

Good guess, 42k to around 60k for a business school entry level undergraduate depending on the company and to extension, school. Top 10 MBAs average just about 95k on entry level basis, Quant programs entry level average just over 120k, but remember they're selected schools with very few intakes. In short 100k is a long shot for a newly out of college undergra. To trade you've to prove that you can actually make money, no one is going to hand you money to use to train, series 7 will not get you anywhere near JP trading desk as Jason Hill was saying. Don't confuse stockbrokers to traders, trading floors are full of Phd and Masters in quantitative subjects or people with proven records of extra-ordinary success,just to prove it, google wallstreet jobs, what do you see as the qualifications? Phds, Masters in quantitative subjects........ gone are the days when trading was top-down analysis then purchasing. These days you find the best programmers, mathematicians often called strategists, Quantitaive modelers, all these make a trading team, Trading is done by supercomputers(high frequency trading), these people's work is to design trading program and hedging strategies and the 20%
jasonhill
#46 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 4:58:54 AM

Drunkard wrote:
jasonhill wrote:
Drunkard wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
Thanks for your input Accel. I dont think I explained myself well, I am already in the US pursuing my undergrad, so going back to Kenya, finishing the undergrad and coming back to the US is out of the question. Thats the reason why i'm at a crossroads, if I leave the US, I dont plan on coming back for school, anyone who has schooled in the US knows how tough life is for a student. Thats why I will either finish my schooling, get a good job then eventually head back to Kenya, or just head back to Kenya without the diploma, those are the choices on the table.
About Goldman, I thrive under pressure, I dont think they can put me through more stress than I have already been through as a student. Plus worst case scenario, if I burn out, I still would have Goldman freaking Sachs on my resume, its a win win!!! Thanks but im not changing my major, Finance all the way.

Don't listen to all this people, great schools give you big opportunities and a foot into the door of great companies, walk into these big companies and see if no-name school is represented!

WRONG.

You are in the US, so just get a degree from ANYWHERE, as long as it's accredited and not for-profit, and get your series 7 and 65. Look at my other posts for tips on how to talk, act, and work.

There's no use paying big coin to a highly-regarded school in the US unless you also have the connections to go with it, which are far more important. Sure, it looks good to go to Harvard, Yale, or Princeton, but it guarantees nothing. I know guys that went the Ivy League route that are teaching, and guys that went to state college that are making huge fees on desks. You could always move to Ohio and go to Ohio State... who doesn't love the Buckeyes? It's cheaper if you are a resident, and living there is cheap, easy, and safe. And JP has desks there that you could start on. It's also only a 6.5 hour drive or 1 hour flight to NY and DC, where you will eventually land once you get on.

Work your butt off on a trading desk while living poor (but wearing Brooks Brothers suits; that's a must); you can make at least half a million dollars in 5 years if you put in the work. Put all that money in an EQB account via Citi. And if you can't make at least that much in 5 years with a 7 and 65, you aren't serious anyway and need to cut your losses and leave.

It doesn't HAVE to be Goldman; hit ALL the investment banks, funds, etc up until you get into one where you can make some money. You don't get into the investment banks by visiting the tents they set up on campus. You do it by hitting the pavement and knocking on doors, or by working in a crap branch and performing very well- then transferring to a real desk. Get that 7 and 65 and start making calls. Start on something like JP Morgan Funds's phone desks or a smaller house that does well if you have to. How many languages can you speak? That's important.

Once you return to Kenya (rich or at least affluent) you can go to any school you like and start your own shop, like you are Tubby Burnham.

Best,

Hill

@ Jasonhill,
I cannot disagree enough, infact I think you're naive first, there are Thousands of series 7 and 65 making less than 30k a years so the thinking that having series 7 and 65 will get you a job at JP trading desk is wrong. High frequency trading make up apprx 87% of all trading by all the major investment banks and hedge funds, stock broker is not a trader, get it right. Stop misleading people on things you do know, please understand the recruitment of the major banks;> you get an internship- though your schools, you get an offer from that company or a competitor after the interships, an offer is a two years development analyst position, after two years, you can stay with the company as an associate or move on to grad school or take up other offers, no one is going to pick you from a no name company to JP just because you're hardworking and have series 7 and 65.

infact your accessment of the ivy leage schools is very much wrong, I will personally encourage anyone with an opportunity to attend the Ivy league to do it. Infact there are more scholarships/ grants/ financial aids than any other schools in the Ivy leagues. Ivy leagues school give you that recruiting presence, it is less of the knowledge which I believe every college give fairly same level of knowledge but it is about the brand. Mr Hill, if you never went to these schools or you went there and get screwed, don't mislead young people.

OK Drunkard, you've been spouting a lot of misinformation, so I guess it's time to ask straight out... what is your position at which investment bank? I'm JP alum, FVP, with a Red Brick Masters. I'm the guy that builds the systems. Using Quant software at JP? Compliance tools? Trader's email? Notes apps? Trader's IM? Custom apps? A Bloomie terminal? Chances are that my team and I, with me at the helm, architected and implemented the system. I'm not saying that I'm a genious at all things in the IB, but I know the money they make, how they get in, and where they come from, and you were even wrong on the salary survey, according to previous posts. And on another thread you say that the Wall Street movies are "just movies"!!!!!!!! They are like RELIGION around here.

Ivy League guarantees you nothing at all. It's just a good conversation piece. Please prove otherwise. I want you to declare that one cannot get into JP's Investment Bank without an Ivy League degree, so that I can show you how absurd that is.

What I've said is that the 7 and really 66 (63 + 65) are a start; that with some perseverance and tenacity will get you into JP, Goldman, whoever, but an Ivy League degree by itself won't. MOST of the people at Wall Street firms DID NOT go to Ivy League schools. Jamie Dimon did, but you can follow his exact path, and if you don't have his generational connections, you'll be selling mortgage refis over the phone (but still making more than that pittance 30k you are speaking of).

Unless you just make a base salary, no bonus, no commish.

The chosen few you are seeing being ushered in from Ivy League schools is confusing you; they were chosen to come in before they were even born, and inherit institutional accounts that will make them rich before making "call one".

Please don't mislead people. You cannot recoup the cost of the degree if you stay in the US and try to work it off pushing paper for an investment bank doing it like you have prescribed. Coming in through a red brick internship means nothing if you aren't "chosen" because you have connections. Recruitment from Ivy League is but a small percentage of how people get into major investment banks, and even if you do get in, without performing and working like I have prescribed in my posts, you will be out very fast, regardless of where you went to school.

If you have the CASH to spend, go to an Ivy League school. Why not? It SOUNDS good. If you are going to struggle and aren't already fairly wealthy, it makes no sense to struggle and risk not finishing or getting into wild debt when in reality, it's not a "leg up" on the competition whatsoever.

Furthermore, to say that you cannot earn 500k a year with a series 7 and a no name college degree" is absurd. There are people at small firms earning twice that with just high school diplomas and the 7 and 66. For you to discount and scoff at the power of licenses and some hard word would get you personally escorted out of the entire state of New York. Laughing out loudly

Best,

Hill
Drunkard
#47 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 6:13:00 PM

@ Mr Hill

I met this kenyan one time, very articulated; he told me he worked for Boeing and he seemed to know what he was talking about but something didn't seem right as we talked about plane manufactures he missed a number of basic things, I later learn he actually work for boeing nuts contractor, in short he was working for a company that supply nuts to boeing. There is also another Kenyan who claimed to be working for Freddie but turn out to be processing Freddie loans at a local bank. The list goes on and on. For those Kenyans in Kenya that is how alot of Kenyan in USA lie about what they actually do.

Mr Hill, it is not hard to actually figure out if someone knows what they're talking about or not, I know you threw out some technical IT stuff which are not technical to alot of us, nevertheless, you've called wrong shot over and over again. Everyone knows that Ivy league serve you better than other colleges, even Kenyan Ivy League( e.g strathmore) served Kenyan students better. In one of your previous post you claimed that you've done alot of recruitings for both Ivy and non Ivy schools and then you went ahead and said your interns don't get paid and I called that out as red flag for someone who don't know or haven't been anywhere close to recruiting.

You said you need to have alot of connections to get to great companies, no you don't, you need to be smart and know what to do, I don't beleive you were at JP at some point since you'd understand alot of these. My own experience, I had no connections but having 3.9 GPA and passing 3 actuarial exams before celebrating my 21 birthday earned me two thing a great internship and a ticket to a competitive master program. I have always told students I know to make sure they get their internship before they graduate, forget about summer school, often students just apply a month before summer but remember most recruiting starts a year before the entry date and offers goes out over 8 months in advance!

I don't thing you've had a great success in your personal quest to get into Investment banking or corporate finance because you're so critical of almost everything to do with corporate world and believe me people who work for these great companies and industries believe in what they do. Ask someone who have work on something no matter what it is, and they'll tell you they believe in it with whole their heart. I will never be critical of capital markets and by extension financial engineering, even the securitization which caused the credit crisis was a breakthrough in the world of financial engineering but the execution was poor, the design itself was nothing but great engineering, that is how much faith I have with wall street.

Again you said that most people in Wall street did not go to Ivy, I will make a quick calculation.... about 90% of them went to top 30 schools and going back to recruiting and if you've ever filled Goldman sachs application you'll know that they ask for SAT or ACT scores, low SAT score won't cut it and top 30 schools will require high scores to get you in. Yes there are no name schools in Wall street, but how many of them? few very few and when you get down to their stories you'll easly point out why they're there in the first place.
Drunkard
#48 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 6:56:19 PM

@ Hill

I don't know anyone who has gone to Ivy leage and drop out because of fees, you get in you work hard with your grade they take care of you, thats what it is.

Yes Mr Hill, I agree that you have to work hard and you've implied in most of your post and I completely agree with you, but working hard plus series 7 alone won't get you escorted in New York or Nairobi. First someone has to give you an opportunity to work hard. Lets be realistic, let me ask a simple question mr Hill, how do you get a job not only in Wallstreet but in SafariCom OR IBM or BP or Mercedes? Do you just apply and say you're a hardworker? guess what 200 people apply for that same job and say exactly that. I have said over and over that you have to try to go to good schools, get good grades, get internships or present extra ordinary success. Now tell us without just saying you've to work hard, give us a different approach than mine.
Nabwire
#49 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 9:02:22 PM

Heated debate, good pointers, good job gentlemen atleast I am getting an idea of how things work. Is JP the it bank on Wallstreet, I thought Citi was a better catch! Anyways thank you for your contributions, keep it going, maybe just maybe, you are both right. There are several ways to skin a cat. I am not really interested in working on the trading floor, or do you have to start there? Drunkard please give me a breakdown of what an Analyst does, and also what a Quants does, please! When Buffet worked for Graham, what was his job title? Coz I know soon after he went back to Omaha and started Buffett holdings, those are the footsteps im trying to emulate, which path do you take for that? Hill I thought you basically have to have gone to Harvard or Yale to even see the interiors of Goldman???
Quicksand, from what I understand, the bonuses are usually given based on departmental performance, not necessarily individual performance especially at the entry level.
jasonhill
#50 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 12:58:33 AM

@Drunkard:

http://money.cnn.com/201...worth.fortune/index.htm

http://www.usatoday.com/...5-cnbc-ivy-league_N.htm

You have a Stanford graduate degree, right? Right? Maybe you can also CITE some articles to back up what you are saying.

To give you once little ounce of credit, however, yes, Goldman prefers looking at Ivy League, but again, that guarantees nothing, and is a preference. And most GS employees did not go to an Ivy League school. What they don't tell you is that the IL employees that they do have are mostly already connected before they even went to secondary school. Old money... it's the same around the world.

Best,

Hill
Drunkard
#51 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 3:35:18 AM

jasonhill wrote:
@Drunkard:

You have a Stanford graduate degree, right? Right? Maybe you can also CITE some articles to back up what you are saying.

To give you once little ounce of credit, however, yes, Goldman prefers looking at Ivy League, but again, that guarantees nothing, and is a preference. And most GS employees did not go to an Ivy League school. What they don't tell you is that the IL employees that they do have are mostly already connected before they even went to secondary school. Old money... it's the same around the world.

Best,

Hill

I don't have to prove anything about myself, you don't even know where I work and what I do, we're not taking about me, we're talking about you, you're the one advicing people here not me, you're the one hiring people not me, you're the one who said your a former JP vice president not me, you're the one who is so American that he has lost his last name not me, I am just drunkard who happen to have been to some fancy schools and don't care much about it, what I care about now is exposing how fake you're.
jasonhill
#52 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 4:07:29 AM

Drunkard wrote:
jasonhill wrote:
@Drunkard:

Best,

Hill

I don't have to prove anything about myself, you don't even know where I work and what I do, we're not taking about me, we're talking about you, you're the one advicing people here not me, you're the one hiring people not me, you're the one who said your a former JP vice president not me, you're the one who is so American that he has lost his last name not me, I am just drunkard who happen to have been to some fancy schools and don't care much about it, what I care about now is exposing how fake you're.

You've made me feel like Barack Obama, in that it seems that you are demanding my birth certificate! Laughing out loudly Would that and a JP paystub/pay advice please you?

Best,

Hill
tony stark
#53 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 11:09:29 AM

Wazua meets mashada.....
Ehhh kumbe diaspora earn pesa kama ujinga. Wacha I take my 50K salo (Kenya shillings that is) away from this thread.

accelriskconsult
#54 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 12:05:57 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Thanks for your input Accel. I dont think I explained myself well, I am already in the US pursuing my undergrad, so going back to Kenya, finishing the undergrad and coming back to the US is out of the question. Thats the reason why i'm at a crossroads, if I leave the US, I dont plan on coming back for school, anyone who has schooled in the US knows how tough life is for a student. Thats why I will either finish my schooling, get a good job then eventually head back to Kenya, or just head back to Kenya without the diploma, those are the choices on the table.
About Goldman, I thrive under pressure, I dont think they can put me through more stress than I have already been through as a student. Plus worst case scenario, if I burn out, I still would have Goldman freaking Sachs on my resume, its a win win!!! Thanks but im not changing my major, Finance all the way.

That is not what I was suggesting Nabwire. All I was saying is that there are many ways of achieving what you want.

What I am against is incurring huge debts in the process. See link below http://www.nic-bank.com/...te/About-NIC/Management - the finance director is 32 yrs old. Look at his profile and what he has done to get where he is. In my estimation, this guy does not need to go to Goldman Sachs or JP Morgan as he is on his way to becoming the MD of a leading bank way before his 40th birthday.

I have known the guy since 1998. His resolve to go to Harvard was obvious and he never showed any outward signs of struggling to get financing.

I have no doubt that if you have the innate qualities to succeed in your preferred career choices, you will find it very easy to get the funding to attend whichever school you desire to attend. From the look of responses on this forum, you are researching in the wrong place. I would suggest that you get a very high GPA, get internship in GS, JPM, Citibank or any other top financial services company. Impress during the internship and while there apply to get into the top 5 business schools. A good undergrad research project coupled with internship at some of the bigger companies could go some way into getting you an MBA place in the top schools. Option 2. Score at least 750 in the GMAT and apply for a place in your preferred school. If you come back here with questions on how to get financing, I will start thinking that you are not cut for the kind of challenge you are pursuing. And btw Nabwire, I am supremely qualified to dispense this kind of advice having experienced the corporate world in both sides of the globe.
#55 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 2:38:44 PM

@accelriskconsult: 32? Is it a typo cause it does not add up. You typically finish a bachelors at 23 or 22. How did he do a Masters at Oxford, another Masters from Harvard and squeeze in 8 years working experience with PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte Consulting and Barclays Bank of Kenya? Must be a genius or older than 32. I am feeling woefully inadequate by this yardstick Sad
accelriskconsult
#56 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 3:37:56 PM

quicksand wrote:
@accelriskconsult: 32? Is it a typo cause it does not add up. You typically finish a bachelors at 23 or 22. How did he do a Masters at Oxford, another Masters from Harvard and squeeze in 8 years working experience with PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte Consulting and Barclays Bank of Kenya? Must be a genius or older than 32. I am feeling woefully inadequate by this yardstick Sad

I graduated in 2000. He graduated in 2001 and immediately joined PWC. I could be off my max 1 year which would make him 33. His career profile is typical of someone who is in a hurry (Tom Mboya was the other Kenyan described as a man in a hurry. Note his 3 job changes in Barclays. About the masters degrees, it would seem that he did 2 in 3 years.

See more details on Linkedin http://www.linkedin.com/...fps_PBCK_joseph+mutugu_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*2_*1_Y_*1_*1_*1_false_1_R_true_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2&pvs=ps&trk=pp_profile_name_link
#57 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 4:12:51 PM

quicksand wrote:

If this is true then the guy has been running through life while the rest are walking.
#58 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 4:22:03 PM

M.Sc. in Financial Economics (OXFORD)

This is a one-year taught graduate degree course that provides training in the tools of financial economics sought by financial institutions, companies and public organisations. It combines a rigorous academic core with tailored practical application, designed in consultation with leading financial recruiters. Our students are placed within top investmment banks, financial consultancies, and government finance ministries.

This course combines:

The intellectual rigour of a graduate programme with the delivery of a business school.
Thorough grounding in economics with practical applications to finance.
Quantitative training in finance with sound theoretical principles.
A global alumni network and a first-rate careers service.
Collegiate structure within one of the world’s great universities.
A state-of-the-art business school within an ancient university.

This course is run jointly with the Saïd Business School. More information can be found on the course webpage.
accelriskconsult
#59 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 4:23:13 PM

bkismat wrote:
quicksand wrote:

If this is true then the guy has been running through life while the rest are walking.

Look at the link given above and let me know what you think.

And btw James Mworia, MD Centum also has some impressive credentials garnered over a very short time period.
Nabwire
#60 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 9:14:00 PM

Gentlemen please lets put egos aside, no one has to prove anything. This post is about what choices to make
a) go back to Kenya without a degree
b) get a degree by paying through the nose
Please note that I am not interested in going to a State, I have worked way to hard to end up being mediocre, I know im biased but thats how I feel. No matter how many articles are written, its a fact that an Ivy league takes you further in life, period!! Please show me a Warren Buffet, a Bill Gates, a Barack Obama who went to State and made it big? Do you think Obama would have made it to Presidency if he didnt have Harvard and Columbia under his belt? Do you think the people who make the world go round would have looked at him twice with a State? Lets get past Ivy league is not important, because it is!!!
And there are holes in the 2nd link that Hill posted, showing that an Ivy really is important

From an undergraduate perspective, the primary advantage of Harvard or Yale is the connections that college creates between the students and their peers," Eberman explains. "Those connections can be quite valuable over time when it comes to jobs and salaries."

Please note that most Ivy Leaguers are more interested in starting their own businesses, yes you also want to be employed but it will not be a lifelong endeavour. Thats why the Alumni network is important. And plus, all the top people at GS, JP, Citi etc etc I can bet are Ivy, I am willing to bet my left kidney for that. So the salary comparisons are maybe at a Junior level, but at the senior level there is no comparison, I stand corrected.