wazua Mon, Dec 2, 2024

5 Pages<12345>
Uganda Shilling - Death Wish
Cde Monomotapa
#41 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 9:11:25 PM

Bottomline... I am a beneficiary of the new & black empowerd Zim. One of the most endowed African states from highly educated HR, smart BLACK biz class, a strong Diaspora, 42 different mineral resources (void of Dutch disease), a highly developed financial sys.with a ZSE having 85 listed companies, vast agric. Wonderful tourist attractions e.t.c e.t.c and we use the USD and are more productive with it than its owners. An economy charging @ 8-10% p.a. I am happily invested.
Cde Monomotapa
#42 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 9:18:08 PM

Get the white out your African minds. Beneficial partnerships, YES. Dominion, never again. Afrika Oyee!!
#43 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 9:26:05 PM

Cde, how much did the Zim economy grow by next year? The stock market also sees more 'diversified'
Cde Monomotapa
#44 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 10:10:15 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde, how much did the Zim economy grow by next year? The stock market also sees more 'diversified'

Zim did 8% last year. Estimates for 2011 10%+ on the back of improved agric (tobacco,sugar,cotton,maize) and mining (gold,chrome,ferrochrome,diamonds & platinum) high international prices does wonders for us smile. The ZSE has two indices, Industrial & Mining. Industrial comprises of all other co.s not mining. Mining index has 4 companies: 2 gold mines, Riozim & Falgold. 1 coal miner, Hwange & a Nickel miner Bindura. More miners expectd due to the empowerment laws.
Cde Monomotapa
#45 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 5:39:30 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Bottomline... I am a beneficiary of the new & black empowerd Zim. One of the most endowed African states from highly educated HR, smart BLACK biz class, a strong Diaspora, 42 different mineral resources (void of Dutch disease), a highly developed financial sys.with a ZSE having 85 listed companies, vast agric. Wonderful tourist attractions e.t.c e.t.c and we use the USD and are more productive with it than its owners. An economy charging @ 8-10% p.a. I am happily invested.

All this wealth shared amongst only 15M Zimbos. The more empowered black Zimbos there are, the better!!
#46 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 4:33:55 PM

@cde - Lakini, it's not 15mn Zimbabweans who are empowered but a few thousand who suck mugabe's ... finger
#47 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 4:40:59 PM

The UGX hit 2700+ again this week. The Central Bank of Uganda has asked that citizens stop using imported toilet paper & use banknotes since it is cheaper.
#48 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 4:53:42 PM

The UGX hit 2700+ again this week. The Central Bank of Uganda has asked that citizens stop using imported toilet paper & use banknotes since it is cheaper.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Kwani, how much had you invested in UGX, umeumwa tu sana!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

FUNKY
#49 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 5:03:08 PM

@ vituvingisana - even if we stop using imported things most of the locally manufactured goods use imported raw materials so it will not make much of a difference.
hisah
#50 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 8:06:19 PM

I thought The Bernank and the EU central planners were cartoon freaks plus our Ndungu, but the UG guy also proves he can be a worse toon...

Which begs the question, do all central planners go to the same school... Yawa!

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Cde Monomotapa
#51 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 8:13:51 PM

@cde - Lakini, it's not 15mn Zimbabweans who are empowered but a few thousand who suck mugabe's ... finger

U should've been a super-hero..u'd save the whole world, hey? Laughing out loudly
#52 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:05:55 PM

http://www.businessdaily...4/-/ed8o89/-/index.html

If you thought the KES was a piece of crap, the UGX is a piece of crap that the crap crapped! via @coldtusker
#53 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:08:27 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Kwani, how much had you invested in UGX, umeumwa tu sana!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

All my UGX profits have been wiped out in US$ terms! Yaani, I would have more money buying US$ & leaving them under my mattress for 1 year! Bila interest!
young
#54 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:08:36 PM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Uganda+central+bank+sells+hard+currency+as+shilling+slides/-/539552/1213354/-/ed8o89/-/index.html

If you thought the KES was a piece of crap, the UGX is a piece of crap that the crap crapped! via @coldtusker

No news you have said that before!
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
young
#55 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:41:58 PM

young wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Uganda+central+bank+sells+hard+currency+as+shilling+slides/-/539552/1213354/-/ed8o89/-/index.html

No news you have said that before!

Your investment strategy in UG or any other smaller country should be for long term gains (10 years) minimum.

Quite unlike you I am rather sending more few USD to translate to plenty UGX to invest at the time you are scared, because on the long term things will be very good in UG I tell you.

Are you no longer a WB follower, why do you want to run away when everyone is scared ? This is the best time for foreigners like me to take positions in Kenya and small UG, as small USD translates to a basket full of money in local currency.

If I am a Kenyan I would take more interest in Uganda during this temporary confusion because post M7 regime plus petroleum will transform Ugandan Economy in future.
Kenyan Banks (KCB, Equity, DTB) are already there, Uchumi, Nakumatt, Textbook Centre (of sarit center) are already there. West African banks (UBA, Ecobank) are already there. Nigerian Insurance company IGI, bought a controlling stake in NIC Uganda. If they are making stupid investment decisions, yours trully @young is happy to join them to be stupid.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Cde Monomotapa
#56 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:42:43 PM

After Dec 2012 the UGX will be a highly sought after ccy.
young
#57 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:44:56 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

I project 2016. 1 USD will likely change to 1400 UGX, and 1 KSH to 16 UGX.

This is the best time for foreigners (kenyans inclusive) to invest in UG. Is like when there is blood in the street, move ahead to invest!!!
But invest with the money you will not need in 7 years upwards.
Cde Monomotapa
#58 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:50:26 PM

young wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Just the 1st Ugandan oil barrell sold and news of how much more can be sold will heighten sentiment and I think cut ur time-lines by half smile (markets are allegedly forward looking). Nevertheless, let's stick around, there is definetly more wealth to be generated smile
young
#59 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 4:48:46 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
young wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Just the 1st Ugandan oil barrell sold and news of how much more can be sold will heighten sentiment and I think cut ur time-lines by half smile (markets are allegedly forward looking). Nevertheless, let's stick around, there is definetly more wealth to be generated smile

Tullow oit is to be listed April 2012.
Already trading in Ghana bourse
young
#60 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 4:51:44 PM

Tullow Oil Listing Uganda listing link

http://www.busiweek.com/10/page.php?aid=23