wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

6 Pages<12345>»
My car is vibrating!!
jaribu
#41 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 2:32:00 PM

this damn topic is now causing my damn head to vibrate!

no one seems to MAKE any bit of damn sense!

you damn guys are now confusing the damn gal about the damn car!

let's bloody move on.

damn it

wHo.. DaRes.. wIns!
Djinn
#42 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 2:46:00 PM

I concur with Wally5...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Waria
#43 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 3:50:00 PM

Clay muganda has advice for you: Sell the white toyo and youll never have to deal with mechanica 101 ati okoth..smelling the dip stick! upgrade to passat

Me first,U next
#44 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 4:05:00 PM

yap..it worked..its like i said..check the idling level...

diagnosis...thats the way to go for most problems kwanza with this 2000 and later models..there a guy in parlkands who does it perfect..dnt start with the jua kali ones..get it diagonized,then dont trust the diag mechanic to repair the car..he will charge you till you have nothing to drink on sato..i believe its their technique since they are ' computer literate mechanics'..one time i had a ride with a 1AZ engine... it refused to accelerate somewhere at sagana..called a local mechanic..after two hours of trying to trace the acclerator cable..he finaly gave up and said...'sasa hii,pahari mumetoka lazima ikuwe mmetupa cable hapo'..you must have lost the accelerator cable!!!!!!..i cried..my wife thinks i cried...it was towed to the city ..never felt that foolish facing the kirinyaga road mechanics...damn!!!!!

i love your smile
#45 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 4:07:00 PM

Hmmm! So the car vibrates only at D n not at N? Wally kamata tano...

Can silence be misquoted?
novestor
#46 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 4:23:00 PM

Go with @willy5...BTW...they are called 'tok box' in local jargon...go around saying ninatafuta tok box ya 110 iwekwe tu-test...it should not cost much...

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
reithi
#47 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 6:23:00 PM

I will throw in my penni mbili. All your descriptions of the problem point to the transmission..

Basically,the most logical approach such a nagging problem is by the process of elimination starting with the simple things such as mountings before moving to the transmission. So lets start;

Engine and G-Box Mountings- Checked and OK
Automatic Transmission Fluid- Drain to check condition and any particles from worn out clutches. If it is dark red or brownish,the ATF needs to be replaced. If there are particles,this could be a sign of worn inetrnal parts. If it has a sump,remove it to check the filter and any particles. If all is OK,please proceed to the next step.

Torque Converter- As Wally5 has pointed out,this is the most probable cause. Please also check for blue/purple areas on the surface which signals overheating,a major cause for failure. If all is OK,please proceed to the next step.
Open the G-Box- PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS A LAST RESORT AND MUST BE DONE BY AN EXPERIENCED TRANSMISSION MECHANIC. Most automatic G-Box function on hydraulics using the valve body and in-built piston(s). If the piston(s) are worn,the car will vibrate on drive.

Best of luck.

reithi
reithi
#48 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 6:28:00 PM

@ mlefu

'called a local mechanic..after two hours of trying to trace the acclerator cable..he finaly gave up and said...'sasa hii,pahari mumetoka lazima ikuwe mmetupa cable hapo'..you must have lost the accelerator cable!!!!!!'

Ha ha ha. Just made my evening.

reithi
Sasha
#49 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 5:10:00 AM

@jaribu: You need to take a chill-pill. You, my friend, are the one who needs to relocate your sense of humour!

@nanfor: LMAO! I don't carry them around! Welcome back,you were missed.

@Wally5 & reithi: Thank you. New twist. Never thought of that (or at least my mechanic never did). Will have it checked.

@Waria: Like I said at the beginning, this is my mum's car. She's using mine.

@mlefu: Wewe umeanza kuvuta gum ya guka? Idling is fine, had it rechecked yesterday.

@Wendz: Wewe wacha peeping! Leta peni mbili zako! No sage advice for me here?

@Djinn & novestor: Thank you guys. Much appreciated!

Okay. So did what most of you recommended and this was the result:

Mountings are okay, will need replacing soon, but are not worn out.
ATF is okay, no smell of burnt toast (Much Know) and there are no particles.
The air valve was cleaned (as suggested by tom_boy), but the problem is still there.

Wacha I plan to have this tokbox checked. Will get back with results! Thank you all!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#50 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 5:34:00 AM

@Sasha,

On this one,i allowed myself to peep.... you dont know how much i have learnt from this thread. I was gonna say mounting coz thats the only thing i have experienced that made the car shake but it was quickly dismissed and from then on,i got a notebook,now have many new terms (some i didnt know a car had).

if/when my car shakes,i think my mech will be in trouble(will get half the pay coz i will have diagonised it..;-) - am so knowledgeable - almost reaching that level that @mlefu wouldnt marry... hehehehehee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

Tito44
#51 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 6:20:00 AM

@sasha

It seems you've covered enough ground already. Don't touch the gear box yet. From the little knowledge i have,gear box problems will also be experienced when driving i.e. delayed gear change.

The vibrations may be caused by a misfiring ignition coil. This is something that can easily be tested. Just tell the fundi to try out with another working coil. Also,be sure that the plug wires are good.

Sometimes,the cylinder head may be the problem causing the car to lose power,hence vibrating. In such a case,the cylinder head can be replaced or just rebuilt and skimmed. Your car will be humming again. However,if the head is removed for checking,it will require that you replace the head gasket.

All the best

extrablessed
#52 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 6:34:00 AM

@Sasha - your mountings 'look ok' but they are not ok,(unless they are not properly fastened). The fact that you observed some jerking when you shift from N to D (while holding on brakes),is an indicator of weak/failed mountings...and they are unable to contain the shocks/vibrations from the engine.

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
Tito44
#53 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 6:39:00 AM

@extrablessed

Jerking is not necessarily as a result of poor mounting. A jumped timing belt will also cause that.
banyamulenge
#54 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 6:53:00 AM

This might not be worth much now but again who knows,another Skerian could benefit......If you happen to stray or pass by Karatina,ask for the IBIS Hotel inside the town and look for a mech called Odhis around there. This guy is ex DT and could open up Legacy engine and transmission and put it back single handedly back in 2001. My ka B12 was just too simple for him........am yet to meet a mech who commands such prowess with a motokar.

God for us all.... the rest of you pay cash

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
#55 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 7:13:00 AM

hii gari yako imetengenezwa na watu wengi sana..if it does not work...sell it!!!!!..if it works..kindly let us know where it was done.

i love your smile
The Real Shaft
#56 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 7:44:00 AM

ama...

zimeni vibrator......

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Sasha
#57 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 8:19:00 AM

@Wendz: LOL! Good for you. I was hoping it would help someone else.

@Tito44: Thank you very much. Noted.

@extrablessed: Trust me, the mountings are ok.

@mlefu: I sure will

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#58 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 8:28:00 AM

Wow,this is such an informative thread! Nilikuwa wapi jana?...i missed out bigtime,Not that i'd have commented anyway,but the peeping..very good! Am currently taking notes...Kweli SK is a rich source of info!
@Sasha
All the best,and please keep us posted on the final diagnosis...

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
K22
#59 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 11:30:00 AM

While we are still on Mechanic 101,is it true this vibration is most common with ex Singapore cars? I have also learnt a lot from here.... tokbox.... hmmmm... so do we call it a gadget or eeeh 'thingy'?

Randomly insane

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
Djinn
#60 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 11:51:00 AM

@K22 - just tell the mech 'Hio keria,karibu na ile ginene,chini ya ile thingy,ina tetemeka na kutoa sauti noma,jo!'

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less