Prof. Makau Mutua - Irritant!!
I like Prof, at times he may stretch it but by and large he knows his stuff.
who will tell the Buffalo professor that his writings are not enjoyed by majority ! "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
the sage wrote:I like Prof, at times he may stretch it but by and large he knows his stuff. Seconded. But I hope his too much faith in ICC is not misplaced.Time will tell.
@ nostoppingthis, What the good Prof is saying maybe true but my point is that it gets tiring to read him bashing one side of the political divide if you may. The thing is Kenyans are by far very tribal (more than anyone is willing to admit) and will vote according to the laid down tribal patterns. Case in point, when ODM run for elections in 2007 it comprised of the bigwigs of the most populated communities (read tribe). Raila-Luo vote, Ruto-Kalenjin, Balala - Coastal/Muslim, Mudavadi - Luhya Ngilu - Kamba Vote etc. Now with this in mind, all these tribes had "their" man/woman ascending to power. The Kikuyu/Gema (or whatever you want to call it) on the other hand wasn't really represented in ODM hence they went back to MK. The kamba vote went to K.Musyoka. With the above, it is clear for anyone with eyes open to see that WE Kenyans are tribal. Now with regard to your question, there is no problem with Prof analyzing if the two communities involved in the article would vote the "other" way. My point is Prof should also analyze the other side of the divide to see if the same scenario plays out... ie Raila giving way to Balala/Mudavadi/Ngilu etc. Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
...no honour among thieves...
nostoppingthis wrote:@B.Timer and @Inuendo, is what Prof Makau saying far fetched? Is it possible for UK's followers to vote for WR or vice versa? Have UK followers voted for any other presidential candidate not perceived to be their own? Ruto supporters of today, voted for Uhuru to a man in the election before last. Uhurus supporters in Central can vote for another candidate outside central if they feel that, that person means well for them. More importantly though, and this is true for all regions, that candidate would need to be sold by the local leaders. Prof Makau's sentiments seem to me to be drawn from his heart as opposed to his head. Dunia ni msongamano..
B.Timer wrote:nostoppingthis wrote:@B.Timer and @Inuendo, is what Prof Makau saying far fetched? Is it possible for UK's followers to vote for WR or vice versa? Have UK followers voted for any other presidential candidate not perceived to be their own? Ruto supporters of today, voted for Uhuru to a man in the election before last. Uhurus supporters in Central can vote for another candidate outside central if they feel that, that person means well for them. More importantly though, and this is true for all regions, that candidate would need to be sold by the local leaders. Prof Makau's sentiments seem to me to be drawn from his heart as opposed to his head. Will WR's supporters still vote for UK after the experience of the PEV? You seem to doubt that UK supporters will vote for someone else...."if the person means well"...really? That is going to be hard to sell to Central Kenya....Meru/Embu votes for Kyuks, I doubt it would work vice versa...but I stand corrected.
Inuendo wrote: Now with regard to your question, there is no problem with Prof analyzing if the two communities involved in the article would vote the "other" way. My point is Prof should also analyze the other side of the divide to see if the same scenario plays out... ie Raila giving way to Balala/Mudavadi/Ngilu etc.
RAO is called the "Kingmaker" for a reason...unless you are part of the persons who see him doing it again...and for them it is about the popular candidate, this chama went for primary elections (could be the only one we've had in Kenya) and will do it again...whoever wins, goes to the poll as presidential candidate...the other chamas anoint candidates... Why would Uhuruto have the sole purpose of him not ascending to power? Are we comfortable with the status quo? All of us were very excited with the prospect of a Baks presidency in 2002, and it must have been the highest percentage a president has obtained, but he turned and became something else...hope was killed for this country, he failed to seize that opportunity....
nostoppingthis wrote:Inuendo wrote: Now with regard to your question, there is no problem with Prof analyzing if the two communities involved in the article would vote the "other" way. My point is Prof should also analyze the other side of the divide to see if the same scenario plays out... ie Raila giving way to Balala/Mudavadi/Ngilu etc.
RAO is called the "Kingmaker" for a reason...unless you are part of the persons who see him doing it again...and for them it is about the popular candidate, this chama went for primary elections (could be the only one we've had in Kenya) and will do it again...whoever wins, goes to the poll as presidential candidate...the other chamas anoint candidates... Why would Uhuruto have the sole purpose of him not ascending to power? Are we comfortable with the status quo? All of us were very excited with the prospect of a Baks presidency in 2002, and it must have been the highest percentage a president has obtained, but he turned and became something else...hope was killed for this country, he failed to seize that opportunity.... @ nostop wewe wacha- now you are telling me that even the next campaign will be based on 'change' ati they did primaries- yes they did but are you trying to sell ODM as democratic party? me thinks all the parties need to craft a different message since i think we all know what they all represent....if the triton,maize scandal,water scandal,FPE scandal ( the list is endless) is anything to go by........
@Famooz, the message will still be about "change" whichever party... doing primaries does not necessarily make them democratic, but aren't they trying as opposed to the norm? and when you talk about "craft"...that seems mischievous..."likely to misguide voters" Baks was given his chance to bring change, so much hope....where are we now? the next person will be given a chance and I hope he/she does not stick to the status quo and protecting cronies...
nostoppingthis wrote:@Famooz, the message will still be about "change" whichever party... doing primaries does not necessarily make them democratic, but aren't they trying as opposed to the norm? and when you talk about "craft"...that seems mischievous..."likely to misguide voters" Baks was given his chance to bring change, so much hope....where are we now? the next person will be given a chance and I hope he/she does not stick to the status quo and protecting cronies... hehehe attending mbuzi helps :))) i would be going for your jugular right now
Prof Makau on Miguna. Ama kwa kweli, Nyani haoni kundule! The two traded tirades recently. Expect a repeat. http://www.nation.co.ke/...44/-/nrn237/-/index.htmlDunia ni msongamano..
Leo, makau amesema yale yoote yaliyokuwa moyoni mwangu kuhusu migus migus For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
Double M missed the point long time ago and has been wrecking ODM from within than even the rebel MPigs
The reply by MM to Mutua will be explosive, expect in a few days!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
there's a contributor called Alice who gave very sound advice on megooner megooner and was asking (not quoted verbatim): someone save us from miguna, who -his aunt,friend, family whoever- will confiscate miguna's laptop, mobile, pen and paper?
I think for the article in August 21st the good Prof was on point.
pn wrote:I think for the article in August 21st the good Prof was on point. Quite so, only issue is that Prof Makau himself is/could be guilty of not so dissimilar indiscretions! Dunia ni msongamano..
[quote=B.Timer]Prof Makau on Miguna. Ama kwa kweli, Nyani haoni kundule! The two traded tirades recently. Expect a repeat. http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/nrn237/-/index.html[/quote] Quote:The reply by MM to Mutua will be explosive, expect in a few days!!!! Sunday Nation allowed Muguna right of reply. I have always found Miguna's views, and the way he expresses them, to be quite objectionable, but suprisingly here, he comes out as a sober guy! http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/8x1rhn/-/index.html
Dunia ni msongamano..
Prof Makau Mutua seems to be readying himself for - inevitable disappointment by Ocampo - a guy he had given too much advance bill. The prof is seeking to lower the bar to ground level as he settles for some consolation that - the mere arraigning in court of big men is an achievement. http://www.nation.co.ke/...18/-/p2vkie/-/index.htmlDunia ni msongamano..
Prof. Makau Mutua - Irritant!!