wazua Sun, Apr 26, 2026

10 Pages<12345>»
ICC suspect loses 840M Kshs at JKIA
#21 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 9:57:38 AM

SAC Cohen wrote:
This story is Rubbish. US$10 million in cash is equivalent to 1000 bundles of $100 dollar bills which are bundled into U$10,000 sets.

According to the U.S. Treasury, "In $100 bills, the weight of $1
million is about 22 pounds." [that's 10 kg.]...
http://www.ustreas.gov/press/releases/rr2748.htm

This implies that the guy was carrying 100Kg of hand luggage...

the area of a single bill is 6.6294 cm by 15.5956 cm which is
.066294 m by .155956 m = 0.0103389471 square meters

Since $1,000,000 requires 10,000 bills, the total area of the bills is
103.389471 square meters... multiply this by 10, to get $10million
and the total thickness is 124 micrometers * 10,000 = 1,240,000
micrometers = 1.24 meters.
So the height of a single stack is 1.24 meters.
And the volume of the stack is 103.389471 * 0.000124 = 0.01282 cubic meters

I rest my case.

And here I was thinking liquidated assets cannot be frozen......
#22 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:04:33 AM

gogeta wrote:
SAC Cohen wrote:
This story is Rubbish. US$10 million in cash is equivalent to 1000 bundles of $100 dollar bills which are bundled into U$10,000 sets.

According to the U.S. Treasury, "In $100 bills, the weight of $1
million is about 22 pounds." [that's 10 kg.]...
http://www.ustreas.gov/press/releases/rr2748.htm

This implies that the guy was carrying 100Kg of hand luggage...

the area of a single bill is 6.6294 cm by 15.5956 cm which is
.066294 m by .155956 m = 0.0103389471 square meters

Since $1,000,000 requires 10,000 bills, the total area of the bills is
103.389471 square meters... multiply this by 10, to get $10million
and the total thickness is 124 micrometers * 10,000 = 1,240,000
micrometers = 1.24 meters.
So the height of a single stack is 1.24 meters.
And the volume of the stack is 103.389471 * 0.000124 = 0.01282 cubic meters

I rest my case.

or may be he is the guy who writes the sunday nation article .i guess its called 'world of figures' or something like that.

I dont think so... but I suspect another wazuan writes that article....

sometimes you wonder what background check the journalists do before they feed us all this crap! And google is everywhere, even on their phones. I think it should be a shame being a journalist these days.... Wale wa kitambo they used to do thorough work.
#23 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:07:45 AM

Maybe being at the hague gave someone an opportunity to be paid since pharmacies are legal over there and Kenya acts as a transit centre.
All in all thats alot of money to be carried in cashsmile
#24 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:40:55 AM

Wheres there's smoke, there's fire...

May not be $10m, but looks like one of our "future leaders" lost cash at the airport...

And this is the guy we want as president...

hmmmmmmmm
Wa_ithaka
#25 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:43:30 AM

True story. Have you thought that it is not actually cash but travellers cheques? Some of us who have never travelled don't know the difference
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#26 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:51:31 AM

@Wabushes, you killing Cohen's argument!! :)
Was Simon Mbugua and Embakasi MP at the airport at the time?
#27 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:52:56 AM

The Standard is all trash...Last week I looked at the exchange rates page and what was there were figures for December 2010. They are just too lazy they can copy the information provided daily by CBK...Bure kabisa...akia Mungu ( Did I hear Kibaki right last night!!!)...This is so UNTRUE
#28 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:04:37 AM

The Standard is all trash...Last week I looked at the exchange rates page and what was there were figures for December 2010. They are just too lazy they can copy the information provided daily by CBK...Bure kabisa...akia Mungu ( Did I hear Kibaki right last night!!!)...This is so UNTRUE

Nini hii?
wanyuru
#29 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:06:00 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:

@ Wazua

I propose huyu bwana SAC Cohen akue annointed "Elder" with immediate effect.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I second that!

[quote]@ gogeta, the guys name is Mungai Kihanya. Btw, coincidentally he is uhurus cousin!/quote]

Weka LinkLaughing out loudly This wazuan is not a cousin to UK
#30 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:08:57 AM

That story must have a KK kind of error.the weight[100kg] itself, I think cannot be allowed as a carry on in any airline.
10 Pages<12345>»