Mututho law
#21 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 1:28:16 PM

nunua phombe ukakunywe kwa nyumba!
#22 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 1:39:37 PM

So jailing poor kenyans for 18 months is supposed to take people to heaven how?

Bure kabisa law.

They are apparently supposed to go there to make money. There are very many "opportunities" in jail you know - Selling contraband, extortion - threatening calls and smses etc.

Sample this:
Ms Mkenya wrote:
Interestingly the article mentions 'most of the 25 accused persons were aged between 20 and 26' These are the guys who should be out there making money!

Mututho has a point. I support this 100%

In your support @alma, how are we solving the problem? The most probable outcome is that by the time those fellows leave prison, they will have been initiated into criminal activities, will be more hostile to other members of the society, will probably have been initiated into mungiki or other proscribed groups etc. etc. Any business they might have been running before being arrested will have collapsed, their children will be out of school, marriages will have broken down etc. just because, God forbid, they decided to have a drink or two using their own money in a licensed bar at 2:00pm. Seriously?

Stupid, stupid law. If only our [and it pains me to say our] MPigs had brains. Just a bit. Is that too much to ask? Did they really think this through? We have been talking of decongesting our prisons for years and now we are imprisoning people for having a beer. Seriously?? Absolutely Bure Kabisa.

MPs and ministers steal billions of our money and just "step aside" to be reappointed when the dust settles and a normal Kenyan decides to have a cold tusker at 2:00pm and ends up in prison for 18 months?
#23 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 1:50:27 PM

Those who step aside are going to 150 bob to 200 bob "hotels" that sell "pharmaceuticals" and can drink at any time of the day.

Any law that is created that

1. Tries to legislate morallity and
2. Discriminates according to economic power

is a bad law. Whatever the intention.

I'm talking like someone who doesn't drink at 2pm (ok i'm kidding) and doesn't like alchoholism.

The only people who are going to jail for 18 months are going to be poor folk who cannot afford the kitu kidogo to the cop.

And of course the people who also go to jail are the workers in this joint who have decided to do something with their lives instead of being thugs in our streets.

Hii ni bure law that will destroy the very fabric of the home that it is trying to protect.
#24 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 2:10:45 PM

Cant help chipping in again. I do not touch or even smell alcohol. This point should be clear. The law attempts to make people be like me?....pshaw....

But suppose my family and I walk into an establishment for lunch or dinner and I order a glass of alcoholic drink like wine to accompany my meal as they also have theirs, will I be arrested for:

(a) drinking (or sipping) alcohol at midday or in the evening?
(b) having a child or children with me as I consume my alcoholic drink?
(c) will there be a cop nearby keeping watch on revelers, sorry, partakers of the drink like me? for prompt arrest and prosecution?

Questions are many. Is this a sharia law?

Changaa and other local alcoholic drink were once illegal and with all good intentions. This law just might be repealed at some point.

Am I for the drink? Am I a hypocrite? Not at all! I am for good laws! Only!
Tommy
#25 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 2:20:47 PM

I met a friend of mine who was going to carnivore at 2pm. i reminded him about mututho and he told me cops dont visit the well established joints. is it true that there is application of law selectively? I hate corruption, but if a cop arrests you and you give him a good amount of money, will he still take you to court?. my take is that this young men did not have spare money for the cops hence their fate. any cop in the house to stand up against this?
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
B.Timer
#26 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 2:22:27 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
Cant help chipping in again. I do not touch or even smell alcohol. This point should be clear. The law attempts to make people be like me?....pshaw....

But suppose my family and I walk into an establishment for lunch or dinner and I order a glass of alcoholic drink like wine to accompany my meal as they also have theirs, will I be arrested for:

(a) drinking (or sipping) alcohol at midday or in the evening?
(b) having a child or children with me as I consume my alcoholic drink?
(c) will there be a cop nearby keeping watch on revelers, sorry, partakers of the drink like me? for prompt arrest and prosecution?

Questions are many. Is this a sharia law?

Changaa and other local alcoholic drink were once illegal and with all good intentions. This law just might be repealed at some point.

Am I for the drink? Am I a hypocrite? Not at all! I am for good laws! Only!

I hear you loud and clear!
Applause

Alma and Maich
Good arguments too.
Mcreggae
We we ni wetu
Dunia ni msongamano..
#27 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 2:52:32 PM

Question,How do they ensure that those who consume changaa wait upto 5pm to enjoy their favourite kinywaji?
#28 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 2:54:51 PM

PONDI wrote:
.. soko la nyama hilo.. guys were likely getting 'serviced'. was ojwang of vitimbi arrested? thats his fav drinking hole

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly are you serious!
#29 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 3:13:53 PM

Well, lets be objective here with this mututho law. some people like a beer with their lunch..... sio ile ya kunywa mpaka unaokwotwa chini. One or two beers wont make anyone drank(i have never tried though). Am just from lunch with friends(serious characters and discussing serious business) and they had their lunch with a beer. To me there is nothing wrong with having one or two beers with your lunch if you arent drinking like its an end-of-month-friday-evening.... I think the blanket ban is just ridiculous. I think the element of being drunk and/or disorderly would have been more appropriate. One of my friends, a lawyer, was telling us that it will be difficult enforcing the law especially in five star hotels... where do you leave the kids when going to the restaurant(and even there they sell alcohol).

Someone has said that the only people who will go to jail are the poor.... and unfortunately they are right....

By the way, is wine also on this category of banned alcohol?
#30 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 3:34:10 PM

Wendz, yeah....wine iko ndani!!!!!
.....already on ma viceroy half with no policemen to take me!!!!
10 Pages<12345>»