wazua Sat, Jul 26, 2025

64 Pages«<2728293031>»
UNAITAS
BGL
#561 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 7:05:58 PM

gatoho wrote:
BGL wrote:
Of all my investments, the only 'swala' i got is FEP holdings and I think I will be left holding a mongoose at some point .... I think I did not do due diligence when I bought it. Anyway, I got the share certificate. however, I do realise in this place a certificate may translate to a piece of paper. I do not trust these FEP people. Given a chance I will sell my shareholding in FEP even at a loss. Anyone thinking of buying this share......beware.

BGL there was a thread here on wazua years back that dissuaded me and I gotta thank this forum for that as well as bringing this to my attention.

History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Dahatre
#562 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 8:26:38 PM

UNAITAS is also going gangbusters with insurance (crop, car, livestock, building, SME etc).

I am intrigued by their health insurance in particular. No age limits and no penalty for existing conditions. If you have ever tried to buy health insurance for a parent, you know this is impossible. So this might be an unmet need.

But I know the insurance sector less than I know banking.

Any thoughts from those in the know? I could not find anything on their 2014 report about this venture
gatoho
#563 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 6:38:03 AM

Dahatre wrote:
UNAITAS is also going gangbusters with insurance (crop, car, livestock, building, SME etc).

I am intrigued by their health insurance in particular. No age limits and no penalty for existing conditions. If you have ever tried to buy health insurance for a parent, you know this is impossible. So this might be an unmet need.

But I know the insurance sector less than I know banking.

Any thoughts from those in the know? I could not find anything on their 2014 report about this venture

I had tried to get my mum insurance for last 8-9 years to no avail.. wouldn't let this pass
Foresight..
Dahatre
#564 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 7:44:41 AM

Please let us know what you find out about rates etc. It sounds like the sticking/tricky point might be outpatient care since they say that they cover 100% of the inpatient expenses.
gatoho wrote:

I had tried to get my mum insurance for last 8-9 years to no avail.. wouldn't let this pass

xtina
#565 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 3:25:06 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
sasa hata wakizima taa, I've done good damage

Wewe!!!! Musizime taa. Bado niko nje!!! Planning to get in by December! Want to buy/add on two or three stocks the UNAITAS. Kuingia Novembet/December kwa fujo then qualify for dividends mara hiyo hiyo. Then reinvest the kids.

Stima ikizimwa before then I will get a mini heart attack!!!

In April at cardinal branch I was told about 3 months remaining. I know the closure date has been a moving target like mayweather( ask pacquiao) but its the only prediction we have had for a while.

Nimelemewa, I'm not sure what I should focus my energies and monies on: UNAITAS, NSE ama kaplot. What can wait and what can't wait? d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
enyands
#566 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 4:25:17 PM

xtina wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
sasa hata wakizima taa, I've done good damage

Wewe!!!! Musizime taa. Bado niko nje!!! Planning to get in by December! Want to buy/add on two or three stocks the UNAITAS. Kuingia Novembet/December kwa fujo then qualify for dividends mara hiyo hiyo. Then reinvest the kids.

Stima ikizimwa before then I will get a mini heart attack!!!

In April at cardinal branch I was told about 3 months remaining. I know the closure date has been a moving target like mayweather( ask pacquiao) but its the only prediction we have had for a while.

Nimelemewa, I'm not sure what I should focus my energies and monies on: UNAITAS, NSE ama kaplot. What can wait and what can't wait? d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Depends on you. What do you treat as dire ... something urgent or something important or something necessary , If its something urgent then UNAITAS because it might close anytime , if asomething important rthen you do ka prot , if something nnecessary then nse . Different people have different priority levels
gatoho
#567 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 7:17:51 AM

Dahatre wrote:
Please let us know what you find out about rates etc. It sounds like the sticking/tricky point might be outpatient care since they say that they cover 100% of the inpatient expenses.
gatoho wrote:

Tbh I didn't read fine print. Britam et AL had rejected her on age alone, so when accepted I grabbed it. Seems to be a catch on the accredited hospitals
Foresight..
Dahatre
#568 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 12:15:50 PM

@gatoho sikuelewi..
Are you saying you bought her the insurance already?

gatoho wrote:

Tbh I didn't read fine print. Britam et AL had rejected her on age alone, so when accepted I grabbed it. Seems to be a catch on the accredited hospitals

its2013
#569 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 7:27:43 PM

Buyimg shares just because the offer is about to close doesn't make a strong indication to buy. How many shares have they issued out? I can't seem to find that bit of info and curious how the rest of you are analysing this share
Pretty hurts
jerry
#570 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 8:09:52 PM

its2013 wrote:
Buyimg shares just because the offer is about to close doesn't make a strong indication to buy. How many shares have they issued out? I can't seem to find that bit of info and curious how the rest of you are analysing this share

"whatever things are worthy..."! UNAITAS is one such thing at the moment. Unless there was manipulation it's only a good "company" that can pay 8% dvd in a year that share capital more than doubled. Give me the cash and I'll put it nowhere else!!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#571 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 8:18:02 PM

its2013 wrote:

business daily wrote:
Unaitas Sacco’s total share capital increased to Sh1.44 billion in 2014 from Sh693 million a year earlier as a result of an aggressive membership recruitment drive that has resulted in members increasing by 43 per cent to 200,000 from 140,000 over the same period.

Do the math
enyands
#572 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 8:18:40 PM

jerry wrote:
[quote=its2013]Buyimg shares just because the offer is about to close doesn't make a strong indication to buy. How many shares have they issued out? I can't seem to find that bit of info and curious how the rest of you are analysing this share

"whatever things are worthy..."! UNAITAS is one such thing at the moment. Unless there was manipulation it's only a good "company" that can pay 8% dvd in a year that share capital more than doubled. Give me the cash and I'll put it nowhere else!![/quote

you nailed it Jerry]
young farmer
#573 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 9:51:38 PM

business daily wrote:
Unaitas Sacco’s total share capital increased to Sh1.44 billion in 2014 from Sh693 million a year earlier as a result of an aggressive membership recruitment drive that has resulted in members increasing by 43 per cent to 200,000 from 140,000 over the same period.

Do the math[/quote]

1.44B/10 = 144 Millions shares, Who know their share capital target if are still recruiting members.
gatoho
#574 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 6:31:13 AM

Dahatre wrote:
@gatoho sikuelewi..
Are you saying you bought her the insurance already?

gatoho wrote:

Yes I did buy her, but am realising it's only good in a few dispensaries..
Foresight..
Boris Boyka
#575 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 7:39:24 AM

young farmer wrote:

business daily wrote:

Do the math

1.44B/10 = 144 Millions shares, Who know their share capital target if are still recruiting members. [/quote]
still open....no closing window yet...No one wants Birrions to go away. Actually they may need to have 4B in capital. Lets wait and see.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
its2013
#576 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 8:42:31 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
young farmer wrote:

business daily wrote:

Do the math

1.44B/10 = 144 Millions shares, Who know their share capital target if are still recruiting members.

still open....no closing window yet...No one wants Birrions to go away. Actually they may need to have 4B in capital. Lets wait and see.[/quote]

So as we buy we are buying into an ongoing dilutuon whose rate we do not know.
Pretty hurts
Boris Boyka
#577 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 9:34:51 AM

its2013 wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
young farmer wrote:

business daily wrote:

Do the math

still open....no closing window yet...No one wants Birrions to go away. Actually they may need to have 4B in capital. Lets wait and see.

So as we buy we are buying into an ongoing dilutuon whose rate we do not know.[/quote]
Given their confirmed banking intent and ambitions to fund major projects...
www.businessdailyafrica....4/-/a93m0sz/-/index.html and
www.allafrica.com/stories/201409100235.html
it would be prudent to get enough cash for strong muscles before closing window as opposed to closing window now then have a cash call in two years time...My take. That said...BUY.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
jerry
#578 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 10:27:07 AM

its2013 wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
young farmer wrote:

business daily wrote:

Do the math

So as we buy we are buying into an ongoing dilutuon whose rate we do not know.[/quote]
Now that I'm in I also think there ought to be a "definite' period of capital mobilization.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Dahatre
#579 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2015 8:27:20 AM

@gatoho
Can you share some insights on the nature of the policy? premiums, deductibles etc?

Yeah the number of clinics in their panel within Nairobi seems limited. There is also only a handful of inpatient hospitals and I have no idea whether these are even good/quality hospitals. The major hospitals seems to be missing from their panel.
gatoho wrote:

Yes I did buy her, but am realising it's only good in a few dispensaries..
streetwise
#580 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2015 11:36:05 AM

I am told some of these organisations have class A and class B shares what is the stucture at Unaitas