IEBC showdown today!!!!!!!!
#541 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 9:38:49 AM

limanika wrote:
safariant wrote:
Amores wrote:
Not sure about this, NASWA will say votes are being cooked

Very true. I can foresee goons in kisumu rioting and burning tires demanding results like on 2007 while IEBC is waiting for results from all 290 constituencies to be tallied which might take a whole week.

I digress.
IEBC should tell us: 1) what measures they've put at constituency level to verify 'draft' results from polling stations and constituency level before final result is announced. 2) are there circumstances that can lead to result from specific polling station being cancelled e.g. uncontrollable violence or wanton rigging 3) what measures have they put in place to ensure what was received at bomas is exact same result that was announced at constituency. 4) is there risk of rogue elements, hackers and interested parties forming parralel network of constituences mirroring kenya in the 'cloud' and transmitting results to iebc server?

Actually they did. They have been doing it all the time. Start from that link up there to see the explanation they gave. They also said they have hired akina IBM, Dell and Oracle to help them secure their systems from hackers.
#542 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 9:51:11 AM

I really do not think people listened to what IEBC said. First, the context of the story is important. It was in a media briefing. The CEO said that media will have access to the results real time as they stream in. He also said the results will also be live 24/7 on their website. All he pleaded with them not to do was to announce the final results, like they shouldn't go ahead and declare so and so is now the President elect since that is the role of the Chairman. What he said they won't do this time round is that ritual of a commissioner coming to announce after every one or two or whatever hour. In fact he clarified that this decision was more so because the results declared at the constituency level were final and will be transmitted online to Bomas, no need of the RO to come all the way to Nai.

Now if the media has the data and they are showing it publicly, where exactly is the vacuum? Even the old way of a commissioner announcing them was still being done through the same media.

This makes a lot of sense. The papers did not bring this out this clearly.
#543 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 10:31:58 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
I really do not think people listened to what IEBC said. First, the context of the story is important. It was in a media briefing. The CEO said that media will have access to the results real time as they stream in. He also said the results will also be live 24/7 on their website. All he pleaded with them not to do was to announce the final results, like they shouldn't go ahead and declare so and so is now the President elect since that is the role of the Chairman. What he said they won't do this time round is that ritual of a commissioner coming to announce after every one or two or whatever hour. In fact he clarified that this decision was more so because the results declared at the constituency level were final and will be transmitted online to Bomas, no need of the RO to come all the way to Nai.

Now if the media has the data and they are showing it publicly, where exactly is the vacuum? Even the old way of a commissioner announcing them was still being done through the same media.

we have always said that kenyan journalism leaves alot to be desired
thuks
#544 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 11:08:52 AM

freiks wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

May be it sounds too good to be true. Sasa hakutakuwa na mahali ya kuenda kupigia kelele unless at the 290 tallying centresLaughing out loudly
I care!
kayhara
#545 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 11:27:59 AM

thuks wrote:
freiks wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

May be it sounds too good to be true. Sasa hakutakuwa na mahali ya kuenda kupigia kelele unless at the 290 tallying centresLaughing out loudly

Baba and Uhuru should have enough agents in each others strongholds that's where the action will be the National tallying center will be very empty I guess, Safaricom and other Telcos should boats up their internet or even sell election day data bundles, I hope the IEBC website can take the traffic it shall receive on that day.
If things go according to IEBC plans losers won't have grounds to cause any chaos, The winners should also not rub in the defeat to the losers.
With 700 voters per station voting should end on time and counting also might be through by 9pm.
To Each His Own
tnai9
#546 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 3:12:44 PM

kayhara wrote:

With 700 voters per station voting should end on time and counting also might be through by 9pm.

This is what I can't understand! Last time in my polling station we were in the thousands. I was on the queue by 6am and voted towards midday. Where are the other polling stations located after the split(to limit to 700 voters)? d'oh! d'oh!
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
thuks
#547 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 3:20:55 PM

tnai9 wrote:
kayhara wrote:

This is what I can't understand! Last time in my polling station we were in the thousands. I was on the queue by 6am and voted towards midday. Where are the other polling stations located after the split(to limit to 700 voters)? d'oh! d'oh!

I guess they increased 'service lanes aka streams'
I care!
#548 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 3:23:01 PM

tnai9 wrote:
kayhara wrote:

My understanding of the per station is the stream where one will vote is considered a polling station.So for example Nairobi Primary School polling station will have 20 of this gadgets for 700 × 20 people which will be 14000 voters.There are 41000 polling stations and 41000 gadgets.
tnai9
#549 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 3:23:59 PM

thuks wrote:
tnai9 wrote:
kayhara wrote:

I guess they increased 'service lanes aka streams'

Just checked. There is a polling center and a polling station
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
tnai9
#550 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 3:25:47 PM

My understanding of the per station is the stream where one will vote is considered a polling station.So for example Nairobi Primary School polling station will have 20 of this gadgets for 700 × 20 people which will be 14000 voters.There are 41000 polling stations and 41000 gadgets.

You got it..smile ...had just found out the same..polling center and station. Hii englis...smile
thuks
#551 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 3:35:25 PM

tnai9 wrote:

You got it..smile ...had just found out the same..polling center and station. Hii englis...smile

Someone should go to court 'because of excess kits' because there are 19.5 m voters'. Is it possible that the excess ballots will vote via this idle capacity?Laughing out loudly
I care!
#552 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 4:05:35 PM

So if these kits fail (which they will), what is the exact procedure to be followed? IEBC does not clarify anywhere.
heri
#553 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 4:24:20 PM

tnai9 wrote:
kayhara wrote:

I don't understand how this works. On average how long does it take one person to vote inorder to allow 700 people to vote within the available time?
#554 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 4:32:04 PM

So if these kits fail (which they will), what is the exact procedure to be followed? IEBC does not clarify anywhere.

They have clarified and said that they will use the manual register. The voter will fill a form 34 which will have to be confirmed/signed by all the party agents
#555 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 4:43:30 PM

From 31st July, there will be a countrywide test run of these kits. Every kit is locked to a specific polling station. In case of the kit failing to work, they shall replace within an hour.

However there are those voters who cannot be identified by BVR (different from the kit failing). For these ones, a special form will have to be filled and witnessed by the agents.

Like @kayhara said, we might know the winner by midnight polling day.
#556 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 5:52:25 PM

You must be a serious pessimist.

Give the gadgets a chance.I pray your hopelessness is in the kits only otherwise its a miserable life to be hopeless.
#557 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 6:25:55 PM

You must be a serious pessimist.

Give the gadgets a chance.I pray your hopelessness is in the kits only otherwise its a miserable life to be hopeless.

@BigC, For sure a large percentage will fail but IEBC also has some back up kits for this eventuality. During the testing, the success rate was 98% so failing chances are there. In the worst case scenario, they will then resort to the manual register.

Lets all be honest, this is a manual voting thingyy. The moment you get a flip chart paper sized 6 sets of ballots, tick them with a bic pen and you get your finger splashed with GV ink with a kasmall gadget identifying you and calling the thing digital voting is a misnomer. Any one who has ever done those Monkey surveys, that is the most basic of what a digital vote is. Hii yetu ni manual x manual
#558 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 6:57:05 PM

From 31st July, there will be a countrywide test run of these kits. Every kit is locked to a specific polling station. In case of the kit failing to work, they shall replace within an hour.

However there are those voters who cannot be identified by BVR (different from the kit failing). For these ones, a special form will have to be filled and witnessed by the agents.

I liked that unlike last time, there will be an IT guy on every polling station on standby to do basic troubleshooting in case of failure.
#559 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 9:26:18 PM

I liked that unlike last time, there will be an IT guy on every polling station on standby to do basic troubleshooting in case of failure.

Depending on which part of Kenya, this is a soul in danger
#560 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 10:49:33 PM

Amores wrote:

Like @kayhara said, we might know cthe winner by midnight polling day.

Depending on which part of Kenya, this is a soul in danger

Sure. The most dangerous job on earth. You can imagine @alma the IT expert sent to bondo trying to trouble shoot the equipment while the "adopt a polling station" gang is baying for his blood saying he messed the kit to steal babas votes.