34 Pages«<2627282930>»
Champions League - 2011/2012
#541 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 8:47:04 AM

I thought Barca would get an equalizer but the woodwork came to the aid of Chelsea a second time. Cesc and Sanchez were wasteful on the night, and Pedro capped the Catalans'night with that awful miss once the woodwork was rattled at the death. For me the best player on the field was Cahill, 3 or 4 times he made last gasp tackles timed to perfection to deny Messi and Iniesta. While Drogba's goal (and only shot on goal) was well taken, Ramirez's cross was even better, he was already falling but was still able to find Drogba with the cut back beyond Mascherano - how Barca missed Pique and Abidal in this game.

Chelsea will have to have another perfect performance at Camp Nou. If they get a goal on the break, they can park the bus again and ride their luck to the finals. It'll be a tough ask though, especially if they concede early. Thankfully no one will miss the second leg through suspension

And now on to the match of the season as always - El Clasico. Two wounded lions meet. The white lion will be happy to take a draw

Red: Those were shots off target!!!

Blue: That is called efficiency. How I wish that was the case?? 1 shot on target, 1 goal = 100% conversion rate. But you are wrong coz we had two shots on target.

As for ball possession, it was 30 to 70, which is unconstitutional... you should not have the ball more that two thirds of the time... ama katiba inasema nini??

Sasa hii camp nou tutaweza kweli?? maybe we can try and park the mbass.... again time will tell.

#542 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 9:21:35 AM

C&P

Crashing to the floor before writhing in what appeared to be desperate agony every time a Barcelona player dared to brush off his muscular 185lb frame, Drogba's shameless habit of feigning injury and then miraculously recovering within a matter of seconds was as pathetic as it was unnecessary. As it turned out, his winning goal came in the two minutes of time that had been added on for his first half 'injuries', yet Barcelona only had themselves to blame for their failure to equalise.

End.

It is shameful for a man of Drogba's size to feign injury the way he does.Nonetheless, he's one of the best lone strikers out there when needed to be.
#543 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 9:22:16 AM

Solid defending by Chelsea although Cesc and Sanchez wasted several chances. Drogba needs to quit this habit of throwing himself on the ground at every opportunity, hata his own teammates were a bit irritated by his behavior. It seems both S/F matches will be decided in the second leg, Barca and Real have to face each other in La Liga before then while Chelsea travel to Arsenal this Saturday. Barca are always a different team at the Nou Camp so it will be interesting to see what strategy Di Matteo will use.....i don't think Parking the bus will help because Barca will push them from the 1st minute and will probably get a few "favors" from the ref but then again open play might also be disastrous.
Ric dees
#544 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 11:52:19 AM

"You don't need to have the ball to win a game" - Jose Mourinho

What a night, disciplined,luck,clinical all ingredients needed to win the Champions league, surely the gods were on our-side when the heavens opened.

I liked the way the game played out and i must say Barca really snuffed out many of our long balls deep from the defence as they played a very high line and rendering Didier less effective on his most effective play. His feigning injury was all calculated and these really broke Barca's momentum and we needed these whenever Barca seemed to get the momentum.(heck at the Allianz Bayern stole all 3 pair of boots for Benzema and Ronaldo - seem to work) Kudos to Ramirez, he snuffed Alvez out Kabisa (hence him being played on the left wing)and same to Mata on Iniesta that was dogged defence.

Obi Mikel tracked Lionel Messi well and the lil maestro just could not link play together with Sanchez/Fabregas and as the game grew on they got frustrated. What i liked is they did not try to press Barca (as Man U tried at Wembley) they just packed the bus and i think Barca thought from the 60th minute they would tire, well this was not the case. I cannot say Chelsea is a counter-attacking team but Barca were so scared of these and at times they dint know to whether to commit or track back - i could see several times Alvez standing half-way not sure whether to commit since Ramirez was way faster than him.

2nd leg to come but i still fancy Barca as Nou Camp is quite expansive (read more space) so pray/hope we can contain them within the 1st 30min then it will be anybodies game.

Arsenal here we come momnetum is surely with us maybe just maybe we can win 2 cups this year!

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#545 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 12:13:04 PM

The Gooners will be facing some pretty tired legs this Sato
#546 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 1:51:08 PM

[quote=Ric dees]

indeed
mkeiyd
#547 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 3:36:17 PM

kyt wrote:
[quote=Ric dees]

indeed

Any team/coach is entitled to their game plan but it hurts the purists,when one parks the bus and gets away with a win.
I can't believe we didn't score not even a solitary goal.
Lady luck gave us her back while hugging Chelsea the whole game.
It was so frustrating, a feeling i got when we played Osasuna losing 3;2 and another game against Espanyol where we drew.
Football is a game of skill and chance/luck. We had plenty of the former,they'd the latter.
#548 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 4:51:26 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
kyt wrote:
[quote=Ric dees]

indeed

Any team/coach is entitled to their game plan but it hurts the purists,when one parks the bus and gets away with a win.
I can't believe we didn't score not even a solitary goal.
Lady luck gave us her back while hugging Chelsea the whole game.
It was so frustrating, a feeling i got when we played Osasuna losing 3;2 and another game against Espanyol where we drew.
Football is a game of skill and chance/luck. We had plenty of the former,they'd the latter.

Hurting the purists, my foot. That was a defensive masterstroke.
#549 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 9:08:43 AM

Peps sounded agitated, if this is anything to go by. May be an omen of events at Camp Nou tonight

http://soccernet.espn.go...f-chelsea-clash?cc=3888

I agree with @Ric, if Chelsea survive till half time without conceding, they may just get that goal and defend
mkeiyd
#550 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 10:38:56 AM

If for whatever reason Cheslea goes thru' tonight, then come tomorrow i will be rooting for a Real breakthough, then sit back,relax and wait for May 19th to see Jonnah Lomus of our soccer world.

Come on Barca, show total football. The true fun of the game.

Viva Barca!
Marty
#551 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 10:40:04 AM

Peps sounded agitated, if this is anything to go by. May be an omen of events at Camp Nou tonight

http://soccernet.espn.go...f-chelsea-clash?cc=3888

I agree with @Ric, if Chelsea survive till half time without conceding, they may just get that goal and defend

1-0 away from home in a two legged Champion's league tie is a bad result. It simply means, if Barca concede one, then they'll need to score at least thrice. This is football.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
mkeiyd
#552 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 10:42:48 AM

If for whatever reason Cheslea goes thru' tonight, then come tomorrow i will be rooting for a Real breakthrough, then sit back,relax and wait for May 19th to see Jonnah Lomus of our soccer world.

Pep was agitated by the line of questioning insinuating we lost coz he played Tello and Thiago ahead of Alexis n Fabs. In all fairness,Tello performed better than Hernandez in their respective positions. Fabs is slower than Thiago could be why he was thrown in the mix.
But we have one Barca manager,he was just doing his job which has brought us immense success.

Come on Barca, show total football. The true fun of the game.

Viva Barca!
#553 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 11:10:56 AM

My prediction is 4-1 to Barca.....i just don't think Chelsea are well prepared to face a Barca side under a lot of pressure.

"Last time Guardiola used the F word at a press conference. Barca went on and thrashed Real Madrid 5-0......."

#554 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 11:25:16 AM

I want the catalans to crush chelsea, for obviously selfish reasons, a tidy sum of money is at stake!!!
#555 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 5:15:51 PM

My prediction is 4-1 to Barca.....i just don't think Chelsea are well prepared to face a Barca side under a lot of pressure.

"Last time Guardiola used the F word at a press conference. Barca went on and thrashed Real Madrid 5-0......."

Applause Applause

True. I see Barca switching on that magic switch that they do when required to win a high pressure game. They didn't do it on Sato suring El Clasico, hard to see them losing for a 3rd straight match (or drawing for that matter)
kivairu
#556 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 6:04:25 PM

Its in everyone's interest that Barca shud win the game. Chelsea doesnt play football. We dont even a name for what chelsea plays. Football is supposed to a beatiful game.Its a shame for english footbal.

To parapharase the words of van der sar...Barca should win, for the good of the game.

Barca 3, chelsea shenanigans 0....i'm already drinking to this!smile

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
#557 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 6:39:08 PM

Mimi naona Chelsea wakinyukwa bao nne kuendelea!!! Kwaza wakifungwa dakika ishirini za kwanza, watakuwa wakikimbia ovyo ovyo kama paka amepotea macho!!!
#558 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 9:09:43 PM

Once a pensioner always a pensioner! Catalans are tamable even when in Camp Nou.
Motomoto
#559 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 10:54:12 PM

What was John Terry thinking f***ing Alexis arse with his knee. This guy never ceases to amaze me!
Manyala
#560 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 10:55:52 PM

Scores 2 -1; aggrigate 2 -2.
Red Card to Terry. Penalty to Barca.
Sorry to say this, but Barcelona hardly wins any CL against 11 players.
My 2 pesos.