wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

34 Pages«<2526272829>»
Champions League - 2011/2012
#521 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 9:15:48 AM

Once again Ronaldo fails to perform against a top team....he might have as many goals but i really don't think he's in the same class as Messi. Nice attacking football by Bayern although as someone has mentioned Gomez was a bit wasteful. Anyway, i really enjoyed the match.

I don't expect tonight's match to be that tight, Chelsea's midfield is a bit weak and their defense is also fragile unlike the past under Mourinho's reign. Ashley Cole, Ivanovic, Meireless and Luiz are all one yellow card away from missing the return leg at Camp Nou.....with Messi, Iniesta, Cesc, Sanchez and Co at the front you would expect at least one of them to get a card. Barca's Puyol and Mascherano will also be walking a tight line.
#522 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 9:38:47 AM

Once again Ronaldo fails to perform against a top team....he might have as many goals but i really don't think he's in the same class as Messi. Nice attacking football by Bayern although as someone has mentioned Gomez was a bit wasteful. Anyway, i really enjoyed the match.

I don't expect tonight's match to be that tight, Chelsea's midfield is a bit weak and their defense is also fragile unlike the past under Mourinho's reign. Ashley Cole, Ivanovic, Meireless and Luiz are all one yellow card away from missing the return leg at Camp Nou.....with Messi, Iniesta, Cesc, Sanchez and Co at the front you would expect at least one of them to get a card. Barca's Puyol and Mascherano will also be walking a tight line.

He will perform at home. am not his fan but i liked the pass he gave that resulted to the goal. even though he had failed to score seconds earlier.
mkeiyd
#523 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 10:11:46 AM

From the angle he was,passing the ball was the only option. The guy sulks in big games. CR7 is good, but Messi, he's the one.
I hope tonight's game won't be a repeat of Ovrebo's. I'm hoping for a decisive, clean win for Barca. That Cuenca boy should be given some minutes to run at cAshley.
#524 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 11:39:33 AM

Here's what some pundit thinks Chelsea should do to beat Barca...

http://www.goal.com/en-g...bout-beating-barcelona-

Perhaps they can do this at The Bridge but will they be able to replicate the same at The Camp?
Marty
#525 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 12:00:23 PM

Here's what some pundit thinks Chelsea should do to beat Barca...

http://www.goal.com/en-g...bout-beating-barcelona-

Perhaps they can do this at The Bridge but will they be able to replicate the same at The Camp?

Easier said than done. The biggest concern is Chelsea's midfield and defence where they are clearly inferior to Barca
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#526 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 12:47:49 PM

It seems everyone has written us off kabisa... time will tell.
Karisblue
#527 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 3:06:22 PM

Gonna be a long and tiring game, as usual seeing very little of the ball and needing to finish off the chances IF and when they come.
To be honest expecting the worst,but hoping for the best.
Considering our current position in the EPL this could be our last CL campaign for the next "few" years, especially for the senior players, the lads should go out there and give it their best shot.

Nothing to lose really.
#528 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 3:09:37 PM

kingfisher wrote:
It seems everyone has written us off kabisa... time will tell.

Personally I haven't. People who have not been watching Bundesliga (or at least the highlights) thought Bayern would be overrun at the Arena yesterday. Maybe the away goal will help Real in the long run but they were outplayed for most of the game.

What is certain beyond doubt is that Barca will have 60%+ possession. Question is what will Chelsea allow them to do with it...
Ric dees
#529 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 3:31:57 PM

@Kingfisher..let them dis-regard us at their own peril.. I don't know but yesterdays game somehow dissapointed me too cagey for my liking, seems both teams seemed to accord each other respect..i think Bayern are formidable at the Allianz boy thats what you call supporting cast!

The bridges size will/should help us and i hope our midfielders play the game of their lives, i honestly think Lampard should make way for Meireles in this game, he is too slow as Torres once remarked lakini all roads lead to Fulham broadway 2 things wil happen either i will loose my voice/eat kebabs for supper on my way home or the journey home will be long dead and might just sleep on the train and miss my stop..tutaona!! 1-1 my prediction, torres on the sore sheet!

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Karisblue
#530 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 3:44:43 PM

@Ric, Enjoy.....,
Lord Stark
#531 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 4:01:07 PM

COYB!!!!!!!!!!
Never forget who you are, for surely the world won’t. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armor yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you. – Tyrion Lannister
#532 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 4:04:05 PM

Interesting stats, Messi has actually never scored against Chelsea!
TiggerTiggy
#533 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 10:37:17 PM

drogba drogba drogba! 1-0 chelsea leading at half time
#534 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 10:58:15 PM

First shot on target, and they score.
TiggerTiggy
#535 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 11:40:18 PM

welldone pensioners from chelsea! Applause
Karisblue
#536 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 11:45:20 PM

@ Ric, what a night!! and Messi has still not scored against Chelski!!!!!!!!!!
#537 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 12:04:21 AM

savour the victory @Kingfisher and @Ric dees....hope they make it through at camp nou ....
#538 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 1:00:24 AM

Kudos pensioners and king DD and thanks so much A.Cole for the save and that's why you're the best LB in the world.
Marty
#539 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 7:16:40 AM

The Pensioners did well though sometimes they rode their luck. It is possible to beat this Barca team if they soak their pressure even at Camp Nou. I hate their dominance in this league of Champions
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#540 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 8:07:55 AM

I thought Barca would get an equalizer but the woodwork came to the aid of Chelsea a second time. Cesc and Sanchez were wasteful on the night, and Pedro capped the Catalans'night with that awful miss once the woodwork was rattled at the death. For me the best player on the field was Cahill, 3 or 4 times he made last gasp tackles timed to perfection to deny Messi and Iniesta. While Drogba's goal (and only shot on goal) was well taken, Ramirez's cross was even better, he was already falling but was still able to find Drogba with the cut back beyond Mascherano - how Barca missed Pique and Abidal in this game.

Chelsea will have to have another perfect performance at Camp Nou. If they get a goal on the break, they can park the bus again and ride their luck to the finals. It'll be a tough ask though, especially if they concede early. Thankfully no one will miss the second leg through suspension

And now on to the match of the season as always - El Clasico. Two wounded lions meet. The white lion will be happy to take a draw