Spikes
#5021 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 3:17:11 PM

littledove wrote:
KQ reduces operating loss from Kshs 16.3 billion to Kshs 4.1 billion
Revenues grew by 5% to sh. 116 billion

No one commented on the positives

Wewe kazi yako nikutetea stock even when it has wiped out your fortune! Umesahau ya kwamba you are still on suicide watch since yesterday.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#5022 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 3:18:26 PM

enyands wrote:
Why is Ngunze still the CEO?

Because our country rewards the most incompetent and inefficient officials

Connection

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 544,100 ABP 7.15; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#5023 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 3:19:18 PM

enyands wrote:

Huko chini watu wanapelekwa mbio na ma appraisal him he is just enjoying the hefty perks and delivering crap.
ArrestedDev
#5024 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 3:20:49 PM

enyands wrote:

I expect the AGM to be very tense and hope that an intelligent shareholder with the necessary influence pull a fast one on both the board and the executive management.
heri
#5025 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 3:44:18 PM

heri
#5026 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 3:46:47 PM

#5027 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 4:36:47 PM

heri wrote:

yes and the dollar is not tied at 100
#5028 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 5:54:19 PM

Probably the board is waiting for the popular American "Third Strike"!!!

KQ broke the loss records in the history of listed companies. This year they have broken their own record. May be the board is waiting for a third record!!!

Three strikes.... Applicable to Nguze???
#5029 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 6:04:17 PM

But on a serious note, I have seen people fired due to REDUCED PROFITS and fellows are breaking loss records and they still have jobs???

In some cases you join a company and they make 600m profits and you are thrown out!!! Why?? They are used to 800m to 900m profits. They are not even interested in what you might do "next year". They know there is a chance it might fall to 400m PROFITS and they can't live with that!!!
#5030 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 6:14:04 PM

mlennyma wrote:
heri wrote:

But with the resources KQ has, you should have someone who can predict the direction the shilling is likely to take given the macro and micro economic factors and give advice on the loan before it has been taken and even after it has been taken!

Example One

Example Two

The issue is simple. As a manager, don't sit on your a$$ and start whining. You are not paid millions to give excuses. You are there to come up with solutions. And they had better work! Otherwise we would have hired a random Kenyan and paid him/her a fraction of your salary if we wanted "might work" ideas!!!
#5031 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 6:15:17 PM

But on a serious note, I have seen people fired due to REDUCED PROFITS and fellows are breaking loss records and they still have jobs???

In some cases you join a company and they make 600m profits and you are thrown out!!! Why?? They are used to 800m to 900m profits. They are not even interested in what you might do "next year". They know there is a chance it might fall to 400m PROFITS and they can't live with that!!!

ArrestedDev
#5032 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 6:57:22 PM

mlennyma wrote:
heri wrote:

But with the resources KQ has, you should have someone who can predict the direction the shilling is likely to take given the macro and micro economic factors and give advice on the loan before it has been taken and even after it has been taken!

Example One

Example Two

The issue is simple. As a manager, don't sit on your a$$ and start whining. You are not paid millions to give excuses. You are there to come up with solutions. And they had better work! Otherwise we would have hired a random Kenyan and paid him/her a fraction of your salary if we wanted "might work" ideas!!!

Managed like a typical GOK entity. I have always insisted Ngunze should leave. Wazuans have pointed out several flaws in his decisions on here. The links above doesn't work.
ArrestedDev
#5033 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 7:06:23 PM

Probably the board is waiting for the popular American "Third Strike"!!!

KQ broke the loss records in the history of listed companies. This year they have broken their own record. May be the board is waiting for a third record!!!

Three strikes.... Applicable to Nguze???

I do not expect any strike from the pilots going forward. It seems the pilots lobby group was sorted out by the board chair, CS transport and the AG. God knows whose interests they are protecting.
#5034 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 7:23:06 PM

Same time next year he will stand at the podium to deliver another set of disastrous results having pocketed a few millions the whole year.
#5035 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 7:41:53 PM

Same time next year he will stand at the podium to deliver another set of disastrous results having pocketed a few millions the whole year.

Why does KQ Board and shareholders allow for mediocrity Sad Sad Sad
enyands
#5036 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 8:05:51 PM

Obiero mentioned before that the only only thing holding him is "connections"
#5037 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 8:23:13 PM

Beats everyone...
#5038 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 8:26:52 PM

Largest shareholder (29.8%) - GOK: Clueless, vested interests, corruption, Don't care (not my money - tax payers pap!) etc.

2nd Major shareholder (26.73%) - KLM: Benefiting from the mediocrity at KQ big time. As credible reports show, shafting KQ and the other shareholders right, left and center.

That is 56.53%!!!

The minority shareholders si ni akina @Obiero who are armed with fake "inside information" and misguided optimism!!! And even for those with no optimism and "inside information", what do they do with their minority shareholding???
#5039 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 9:36:54 PM

Largest shareholder (29.8%) - GOK: Clueless, vested interests, corruption, Don't care (not my money - tax payers pap!) etc.

2nd Major shareholder (26.73%) - KLM: Benefiting from the mediocrity at KQ big time. As credible reports show, shafting KQ and the other shareholders right, left and center.

That is 56.53%!!!

The minority shareholders si ni akina @Obiero who are armed with fake "inside information" and misguided optimism!!! And even for those with no optimism and "inside information", what do they do with their minority shareholding???

The information I had was credible. Ngunze himself said that "the auditors in their wisdom saw it fit that we should provide for the losses in the current financial year".. That changed the dynamic in the forecast

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 544,100 ABP 7.15; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Pesa Nane
#5040 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2016 11:10:19 PM

Pole @maka, win some (sasini kwa sasa Applause ), lose some smile and get clobbered elsewhere (KQ) Laughing out loudly

But on the brighter side, your time horizon was three years (Post #2563 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 8:05:06 AM)

Am actually stocking up with a 3 year minimum time horizon.Lets compare notes then.... smile

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.