SGR Progress thus far
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:murchr wrote:Forget the talk by arm chair and keyboard analysts. Familiarize yourselves with the dutch project fyra and you'll understand why its important for the chinese to run the line. These statements Quote:Elsewhere, the evacuation of goods from Mombasa Port is set to take a radical turn with experts warning of “certain death” for container freight stations (CFS) as the standard gauge railways nears completion.
The privately owned CFS facilities where bulk, liquid and containerised goods have been kept upon offloading to help ease congestion at the port may no longer be necessary at all.
According to the Kenya Railways Chief Executive Atanas Maina, the Sh327 billion SGR which will accommodate 1,620 boxed and flat wagons pulled by 43 DF8B freight locomotives will be able to haul 100 times more containers to Nairobi and beyond in a day
Mr Maina said that each cargo locomotive (DF8B) was capable of towing 216 Twenty-Foot Equivalent Units (TEUs) weighing an estimated 4,000 tonnes per trip and it is estimated that in top operation, the Mombasa Port will see 22 million tonnes cargo moved annually against the current 1.6 million.
Joho is finished. It's only in Africa where we build infrastructure to support our exports not imports support our imports not exports Wow! Isn't that sad?? BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:murchr wrote:Forget the talk by arm chair and keyboard analysts. Familiarize yourselves with the dutch project fyra and you'll understand why its important for the chinese to run the line. These statements Quote:Elsewhere, the evacuation of goods from Mombasa Port is set to take a radical turn with experts warning of “certain death” for container freight stations (CFS) as the standard gauge railways nears completion.
The privately owned CFS facilities where bulk, liquid and containerised goods have been kept upon offloading to help ease congestion at the port may no longer be necessary at all.
According to the Kenya Railways Chief Executive Atanas Maina, the Sh327 billion SGR which will accommodate 1,620 boxed and flat wagons pulled by 43 DF8B freight locomotives will be able to haul 100 times more containers to Nairobi and beyond in a day
Mr Maina said that each cargo locomotive (DF8B) was capable of towing 216 Twenty-Foot Equivalent Units (TEUs) weighing an estimated 4,000 tonnes per trip and it is estimated that in top operation, the Mombasa Port will see 22 million tonnes cargo moved annually against the current 1.6 million.
Joho is finished. It's only in Africa where we build infrastructure to support our exports not imports support our imports not exports Wow! Isn't that sad?? Quick questions Why is the rail going to Naivasha? Why don't Africans produce anything to export? If the roads and rails/ports were not built, would you still complain that the govt is not building infrastructure? Isn't that we accuse Moi of? You giving this flimsy excuse left your villages where you'd produce something, to come to the city to consume import stuff. If you really feel that this rails purpose is to encourage imports - which are already clogging our roads - go make hay and start exporting something "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
@Lolest, Are the trains one-way only? I mean, what would stop me from ferrying my coffee to Mombasa using SGR? Kindly educate me. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Copy cats.... http://www.the-star.co.k...isits-tanzania_c1493213
Quote:Tanzania on Monday asked for a loan from state-owned Export Credit Bank of Turkey (Eximbank) to help finance a new railway it hopes will help it open up east Africa's hinterland and compete with neighbouring Kenya as a trade hub.
Tanzania wants to construct a 2,561 km standard gauge railway connecting its main port of Dar es Salaam to land-locked neighbours, including Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia, Rwanda and Uganda.
Njung'e wrote:@Lolest,
Are the trains one-way only? I mean, what would stop me from ferrying my coffee to Mombasa using SGR? Kindly educate me. Hi swali yako inahitaji suruali, there are certain things which are implied which do not require to be stated e.g what does it imply when you spend one bar of soap everyday you go to shower? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Swenani wrote:Njung'e wrote:@Lolest,
Are the trains one-way only? I mean, what would stop me from ferrying my coffee to Mombasa using SGR? Kindly educate me. Hi swali yako inahitaji suruali, there are certain things which are implied which do not require to be stated e.g what does it imply when you spend one bar of soap everyday you go to shower? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Quote:Yada yada yada.
China eyes African ports
Experts say Chinese infrastructure investment in Africa is not about altruism.
Funding railways benefits China by connecting ports and facilitating the movement of raw commodities that are badly needed to fuel China's development.
“East Africa, particularly the ports in Kenya, ports in Tanzania and especially ports in Djibouti, these are very important for the Chinese just for the exports,”
Yada yada yada. Rink From the Voice of America.
so these locomotives are just nearly like what we received here in kenya though theirs are electric. sura ni ile ile tu Life is an endless adventure
freiks wrote:so these locomotives are just nearly like what we received here in kenya though theirs are electric. sura ni ile ile tu Dimwits thought electric trains meant the bullet trains. And the dunderheads believes that diesel propelled trains cannot hit anything like 200km/h on the tracks, to them ONLY thitimaa can attain that. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/3/2015 Posts: 118 Location: Nairobi
freiks wrote:so these locomotives are just nearly like what we received here in kenya though theirs are electric. sura ni ile ile tu Make google your friend... what is here now is freight locomotive, DF 8 Pax locomotive is DF 11 I know you ask because of sura, lakini...show me how many trucks on our roads are worth a second look (freight movers). Compare the same with buses (pax movers)
aemathenge wrote:Quote:Yada yada yada.
China eyes African ports
Funding railways benefits China by connecting ports and facilitating the movement of raw commodities that are badly needed to fuel China's development.
“East Africa, particularly the ports in Kenya, ports in Tanzania and especially ports in Djibouti, these are very important for the Chinese just for the exports,”
Yada yada yada. Rink From the Voice of America. So your goggles never let you see this: Quote:Hwang says that for China, these projects will take a long time to pay dividends.
By contrast she said African economies are likely to see an immediate impact.
“These are big transportation projects that will stimulate local economies, these are good for basic infrastructure,” she says.
“When we talk about China and Africa and interests, people talk about natural resources, but one of our findings was that actually there isn't a clear pattern in terms of the amounts of loans to countries and how well endowed they are with natural resources,” says Janet Eom, a research manager at the China-Africa Research Initiative.
Oil-rich Angola received the largest amount of funding, Eom says. But resource-poor Ethiopia came in second.
China views its investment abroad as part of its “One Belt, One Road” policy. Spearheaded by Beijing, this effort is a Chinese public-private partnership, Hwang says, “even though technically no company is truly private in China.”
It aims to develop a modern “silk road” where goods and commodities can be easily transported between China and its surrounding region. Eventually, China says, it would like to shift labor-intensive industrial work to places like Africa.
hardwood wrote:aemathenge wrote:Quote:Yada yada yada.
China eyes African ports
Yada yada yada. Rink From the Voice of America. So your goggles never let you see this: Quote:Hwang says that for China, these projects will take a long time to pay dividends.
By contrast she said African economies are likely to see an immediate impact.
“These are big transportation projects that will stimulate local economies, these are good for basic infrastructure,” she says.
“When we talk about China and Africa and interests, people talk about natural resources, but one of our findings was that actually there isn't a clear pattern in terms of the amounts of loans to countries and how well endowed they are with natural resources,” says Janet Eom, a research manager at the China-Africa Research Initiative.
Oil-rich Angola received the largest amount of funding, Eom says. But resource-poor Ethiopia came in second.
China views its investment abroad as part of its “One Belt, One Road” policy. Spearheaded by Beijing, this effort is a Chinese public-private partnership, Hwang says, “even though technically no company is truly private in China.”
It aims to develop a modern “silk road” where goods and commodities can be easily transported between China and its surrounding region. Eventually, China says, it would like to shift labor-intensive industrial work to places like Africa. Depends on what your teacher taught you yada yada yada means.
Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point. Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times that of Ethiopia) Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa. http://www.voanews.com/a...l?hl=1&noRedirect=1
Ethiopia SGR Kenya SGR
hardwood wrote:Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point. Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times more than Ethiopia's) Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa. http://www.voanews.com/a...l?hl=1&noRedirect=1
Ethiopia SGR Kenya SGR Kama umefika post 493 na haujaona jibu ya hii swali basi hauwes saidika "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point. Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times more than Ethiopia's) Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa. http://www.voanews.com/a...l?hl=1&noRedirect=1
Ethiopia SGR Kenya SGR Kama umefika post 493 na haujaona jibu ya hii swali basi hauwes saidika Weka link and save me the trouble of finding the jibu.
hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point.
Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B
Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times more than Ethiopia's)
Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa.
Kama umefika post 493 na haujaona jibu ya hii swali basi hauwes saidika Weka link and save me the trouble of finding the jibu. @Murchr, I would not dignify him with an answer, but then again, you are not me.
Musimo wrote:freiks wrote:so these locomotives are just nearly like what we received here in kenya though theirs are electric. sura ni ile ile tu Make google your friend... what is here now is freight locomotive, DF 8 Pax locomotive is DF 11 I know you ask because of sura, lakini... show me how many trucks on our roads are worth a second look (freight movers). Compare the same with buses (pax movers)   Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point. Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times more than Ethiopia's) Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa. http://www.voanews.com/a...l?hl=1&noRedirect=1
Ethiopia SGR Kenya SGR Kama umefika post 493 na haujaona jibu ya hii swali basi hauwes saidika Weka link and save me the trouble of finding the jibu.  Am under no obligation "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .