Investor
Stocks
Kenya airways Right Issue
@proverb. What an expose. This will help newcomers at least.they owe you one. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
@proverB looks like the conflict of a split personality! @qw should get a mental examination.. Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/12/2010 Posts: 1,199 Location: Eastlander
...anyway...all other factors considered...KQ is crap...more crap than it was during IPO when it had debt of over 3.6billion Easy analysis... [Current assets less (liabilities+costs)]/Total shares... if negative... avoid the crap like the plague. Why current assets?.. coz they are variable within the accounting period.. unlike fixed assets...whose impact (acquisition or disposal) is one off within any period.. if all ur current assets are adequate enough to cover all debt and still remain positive..now that is a gold mine.. and in that case..there are very few of such in the nse now.  ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Rank: User Joined: 1/24/2012 Posts: 1,675 Location: In Da Hood
surely what was Naikuni doing well when the stock was trading at 140/= maybe its as simple as repeating that process !
ushahidi ambao umetolewa kuhusu..... ni ukweli, ukweli mtupu.... je mwekezaji utajitetea ukiwa wapi?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
guru267 wrote:sparkly wrote: This the problem with africans (not race but geographical). They never invest for the future. GOK, KLM air france and IFC are not daft to invest in the rights. I bought the rights and will be buying more as the share falls and await the dreamliners. If i dont see profit in my lifetime, i leave the shares for my children and grand children! KQ is here to stay.
@sparkly it would be dangerous for you to align your personal goals with that of GOK or IFC.. If you were to follow someone at least let it be NSSF..Unlike NSSF These institutions do not chase profits or higher share prices.. They are interested first in the country's development... Unlike NSSF These institutions have a much higher capacity to absorb losses and therefore they have a higher tolerance for making bad investments.. Ask the IFC how many bad debts they have forgiven to date.. @Guru i hear you. But one day i will say "i told you so." Life is short. Live passionately.
Jamani wrote:ushahidi ambao umetolewa kuhusu..... ni ukweli, ukweli mtupu.... je mwekezaji utajitetea ukiwa wapi? afadhali ajitetee kabla ifike shillingi kumi. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
QW25091985 wrote:surely what was Naikuni doing well when the stock was trading at 140/= maybe its as simple as repeating that process ! Please note... if u have the capacity to wipe out the entire supply of a stock today..of any counter..the price will automatically shoot up...especially if u are an investment fund/institution... I know for a fact several funds "mopped up" KQ supply between 2004-2006 having advised clients that the stock was very "good"...i know coz i recieve analysis from several of them and Old Mutual had quite positive news on KQ over the period and by the time the stock hit 90 most of the funds reported KQ to be excessively over valued and begun leaving.. but momentum kept price rising... postivity about NSE accelerated price run..only retailers Got slaughtered at 140... it had nothin to do with Naikuni.. #poWeR of IgNorAnce n gReeD ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Kenya Airways on media reports regarding death of a passenger on Flight KQ117 from Amsterdam to Nairobi wrote:26th June 2012...Kenya Airways would like to issue this clarification following reports in sections of the media that a passenger was allegedly forced to fly next to a corpse on a flight from Amsterdam on 17th January 2012. Kenya Airways confirms that a passenger passed away on-board KQ117 from Amsterdam and below is the chronology of events:
* The passenger was visibly ill on boarding the aircraft and the Cabin Crew paged for a doctor. There were 3 doctors on board including a Dutch Medical Professor, the doctors examined the passenger, gave him treatment and certified him fit to fly. On these instructions, the Captain then made the decision to fly with the late passenger to Nairobi. * About 2hours into the flight the Passenger condition worsened and the 3 doctors again checked on him and advised the captain to land at the nearest airport. The Captain immediately made arrangements to divert and make an emergency landing in Rome or Cairo. Unfortunately the passenger passed away while the landing arrangements were being made. * The Captain followed the laid down procedures as per the company’s policy. He informed all the relevant authorities as per the Kenya Civil Aviation regulations. The cabin crew moved passengers from row 46 where the body was to make space as per the Company policy. * The aircraft Boeing 777 was full, 24 passengers in Business and 296 passengers. Efforts were made to move passengers from row 46 to the four empty seats in Business class that weren’t occupied. * Unfortunately two passengers across the aisle could not be moved due to the full flight.
We wish to point out that Kenya Airways upholds the highest standards in all operations and crew adhere to all procedures relating to such occurrences on board, indeed the three medical doctors on board were full of praise for the professionalism, compassion and understanding displayed by the cabin crew ..on fb.. .. http://www.facebook.com/#!/notes/kenya-airways/statement-by-kenya-airways-on-media-reports-regarding-death-of-a-passenger-on-fl/10151042734976703 ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,208 Location: Nairobi
Well, at least KQ is flying almost full to Amsterdam http://www.facebook.com/...ote_id=10151042734976703Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 2/1/2010 Posts: 272 Location: Nairobi
[quote=VituVingiSana]Well, at least KQ is flying almost full to Amsterdam http://www.facebook.com/...te_id=10151042734976703[/quote]  You're such a capitalist The harder you work, the luckier you get
Only system that works. Even the communist leaders of China are managing a Capitalist economy!!! I love Capitalism!!! It means if I work my a$$ off, I keep what I get [after taxes]. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/30/2007 Posts: 1,558 Location: Nairobi
Flying full almost everywhere at the moment. High season
Horton wrote:Flying full almost everywhere at the moment. High season KQ had excellent passenger numbers all thro last year...which however did not turn into profit... a full plane is little to go buy especially if bulk of revenues is eaten up in costs and inefficiency.. Is there a way they could handle every person or unit of cargo as a cost centre? ... find out how much revenue per passenger turns into profit...how much does it cost to transit a person/unit of cargo.. then...only then would a full plane be a reason to smile.. ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/25/2012 Posts: 1,624 Location: Langley
Another rights issue? LinkIf you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.
Mastermind wrote:Another rights issue? Link sasa hii ni upuzi wanafanya!!  amp; ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Mastermind wrote:Another rights issue? Link Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
With the longterm economic bullishness on Africa, travel volumes will surely spike and judging it's over 7 years a rights issue will not be any time soon. Look at all the hotel properties coming up in the country/SSA and you'll see that KQ isn't 'mad'. My 2cts. PS: No interest in KQ but in a expanding SSA hospitality group on the ZSE biased toward city/business hotels.
www.africansuninvestor.com , www.africansunhotels.com The target is to have over 5K rooms in SSA over time so KQ isn't mad or man solo angling anticipated travel volume spikes. It's just being +vely ambitious.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
Mastermind wrote:Another rights issue? Link A debt to equity ratio of 257% by 2015... I rarely touch stockz with a debt to equity ratio higher than 50%... KQ will have to raise shareholders funds to 200billion in the next three years just to be back at 100% debt to equity... Lets see how a company with just 1.5billion PAT will achieve such a feat! KQ diehards may draw consolation from this theory... Link LinkMark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Investor
Stocks
Kenya airways Right Issue