wazua Wed, Mar 25, 2026

45 Pages«<2223242526>»
Mumias FY 2014
pops
#231 Posted : Tuesday, December 09, 2014 6:49:57 PM

@obi 1 kanobi: you are very wrong like the politicians in western. sugar production in Kenya is feasible only with comesa safeguards. just compare our cane prices with those elsewhere. Open up to comesa and we will be getting sugar at half the price in the market. Uganda and the other countries can afford production at that price. we cannot without government intervention.
#232 Posted : Tuesday, December 09, 2014 9:00:15 PM

pops wrote:
@obi 1 kanobi: you are very wrong like the politicians in western. sugar production in Kenya is feasible only with comesa safeguards. just compare our cane prices with those elsewhere. Open up to comesa and we will be getting sugar at half the price in the market. Uganda and the other countries can afford production at that price. we cannot without government intervention.

What makes it cheap to produce sugar in Uganda, Sudan, Egypt etc.?

Is it something that cannot be replicated in Kenya? Why?
#233 Posted : Tuesday, December 09, 2014 9:27:31 PM

pops wrote:

Which country to you live in? Who's your Gavana? You reward thieves, with power. What do you expect? Hii nchi iko na wenyewe.

The cash I've lost on Mumias... wacha tuSad

Aguytrying
#234 Posted : Wednesday, December 10, 2014 8:43:55 AM

If sugar production was not feasible why would the Asians and international investors be busy setting up factories in Kenya. the money doesn't lie, the numbers don't lie.

mumias has gone Down because of corruption and not because sugar is not feasible. FACT
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#235 Posted : Wednesday, December 10, 2014 8:52:30 AM

pops wrote:

Which country to you live in? Who's your Gavana? You reward thieves, with power. What do you expect? Hii nchi iko na wenyewe.

That is exactly what I am talking about. Let's identify the problems and stop pretending there is some sort of juju that makes sugar production way cheaper in other countries. And yes, the buck stops with the government - specifically the president. Most of the ills are KNOWN and solvable. We only need political will and things will be sorted out. And not only in the sugar industry!!! Mashida zetu zinajulikana.
Kihara joni
#236 Posted : Wednesday, December 10, 2014 9:59:17 AM

Sugar is produced in sri-lanka, they package it, pay export duty, pay freight, pay import duty, pay transport to retailers, add retailer profit and that sugar still happens to way cheaper than our locally produced one? what gives.
Realtreaty
#237 Posted : Wednesday, December 10, 2014 10:07:44 AM

Kihara joni wrote:
Sugar is produced in sri-lanka, they package it, pay export duty, pay freight, pay import duty, pay transport to retailers, add retailer profit and that sugar still happens to way cheaper than our locally produced one? what gives.

Sad Sad
Taxes, Taxes, Taxes and taxes
When I was in Dubai I could buy a 1.5Litre water bottle at 1 to 1.5 UAE dirhams (35-40 Kshs)in a desert country but in Nairobi where it rains cats and dogs the water ranges from 40 to 7o Kshs.
Now think about sugar, a 2 KG costs 90 to 100 Kshs in Dubai while in Nairobi it ranges from 180- 300 kshs.
A bag of 50KG cement in Dubai goes from 270 to 320 Kshs while in nairobi it goes for 680 to 750 Kshs.
Just wonder why our politicians have bigger tummies as we feed them like pigs
urstill1
#238 Posted : Wednesday, December 10, 2014 10:50:49 AM

pops wrote:

That is exactly what I am talking about. Let's identify the problems and stop pretending there is some sort of juju that makes sugar production way cheaper in other countries. And yes, the buck stops with the government - specifically the president. Most of the ills are KNOWN and solvable. We only need political will and things will be sorted out. And not only in the sugar industry!!! Mashida zetu zinajulikana.

I like that statement, though it is very hard for him since he is part of the system, so I believe. In Kenya we know our problems and their solutions. Unfortunately, our tribal thinking can not allow that.
#239 Posted : Wednesday, December 10, 2014 11:22:46 AM

lets watch for a new low from 1.35 where we left it,it seems shareholders were broke like the company
HaMaina
#240 Posted : Wednesday, December 10, 2014 12:22:20 PM

pops wrote:

Kaa ngumu Mukiri, its only a loss if you sell or the company shuts down, were many on this bus.
Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
45 Pages«<2223242526>»