wazua Fri, Jul 25, 2025

43 Pages«<2122232425>»
Ksh at its weakest since it floated in 1994
#441 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 9:43:56 AM

Mainat wrote:
Listening to this http://bit.ly/oTfhCg, its fairly obvious that Ksh problem is that our FinMin is AFC (absolutely clueless) which is a joke at this time. What does he mean there will be spending cuts-should he be announcing about now; What does he mean by demand pressure from market players-is he talking about manipulation? So the solution is to borrow more from IMF? After 3 months of relentless downward slide.

IMF should say no to Kenya until Kenya cleans its house.
Why didnt Ndungu name the 5 banks he claimed were hoarding the dollar.
Shilling problem has something to do with the coming erection.
The politicians are currently busy stealing to fund their reelection and technocrats busy stealing to accumulate a nest just incase they lose their jobs next year as the monkeys change positions in the same forest.
Increasing the bank rates , cutting public spending(ie sacking common mwananchis while mpigs continue to earn tax free millions) will only increase the suffering .But I dont pity us Kenyans , Lets continue suffering until we get it right at the ballot box.Shauri yetu

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
kizee1
#442 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 3:54:19 PM

why is no one calling ndungu out for hoarding dollars? infact in his case the usd's are held in public trust! such BS...this guy and uhuru are the worst team to have in office during these tricky times...janas meeting has led to some draconian decrees that have taken our financial markets back to the 40s! and we want to be a financial markets hub-KEKE!
#443 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 4:02:35 PM

Ndungu's been selling all day today, we're at 99.50 levels. Finally he using those "reserves" for what they're meant to be used for!
kizee1
#444 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 4:33:07 PM

Ndungu's been selling all day today, we're at 99.50 levels. Finally he using those "reserves" for what they're meant to be used for!

how much did he sell? if he sold 2mio i wud be surprised
Mainat
#445 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 4:33:47 PM

CBK selling, not banks as well?
Sehemu ndio nyumba
the deal
#446 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 6:06:09 PM

After flooding $$$'s into the market address the economical fundamentals otherwise the Shilling will come push for 200 in the coming months!
hisah
#447 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 6:20:17 PM

the deal wrote:
After flooding $$$'s into the market address the economical fundamentals otherwise the Shilling will come push for 200 in the coming months!

That is my fear as I keep on seeing a major tailspin... This is not going to be funny when it hits the fan...

Meanwhile the T-bill rates keep up the upward pressure - http://www.centralbank.g...lts%201921%20-%2091.pdf
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
keke2
#448 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 6:46:30 PM

kizee1 wrote:
why is no one calling ndungu out for hoarding dollars? infact in his case the usd's are held in public trust! such BS...this guy and uhuru are the worst team to have in office during these tricky times...janas meeting has led to some draconian decrees that have taken our financial markets back to the 40s! and we want to be a financial markets hub-KEKE!

Sad Kizee, I am here,don't shout!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Cde Monomotapa
#449 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 7:50:16 PM

For those asking for the 5 banks be revealed. My question is and then what? Will it add them a plate of Ugali?
Cde Monomotapa
#450 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 7:52:34 PM

The 1st order of business the on-going rains in the EAC. Food, Water & Hydro are the 1st fundamentals currently being addressed.
Cde Monomotapa
#451 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 7:55:00 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
The 1st order of business the on-going rains in the EAC. Food, Water & Hydro are the 1st fundamentals currently being addressed.

Keep staring at ur charts techies Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
GGK
#452 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 7:55:19 PM

Kizee,

What would have another team done differently given the circumstances.

Some times firing officials is not always the best option.

kizee1 wrote:

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
GGK
#453 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 7:58:01 PM

Talk of Divine Providence coming to our rescue. The scriptures have it that He is never late or early. Lets hope all this turmoil was for a reason

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Cde Monomotapa
#454 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 8:34:25 PM

GGK wrote:
Talk of Divine Providence coming to our rescue. The scriptures have it that He is never late or early. Lets hope all this turmoil was for a reason

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Only during crisises is when system weaknesses arise and can be addressed. This year the banking & monetary systems were on the spotlight. Let the reforms be a stronger base for future growth!
#455 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 6:06:16 PM

Seemsthe shillingi has known UK is back from hague
hisah
#456 Posted : Wednesday, October 26, 2011 5:07:59 AM

hisah wrote:
But the crown today goes to TZS - has exploded (huge gap up on opening) as the USD knocks it down while taking out all time low of 1632, now trading @1661. From here it is 1700 then 1800.

http://www.forexpros.com.../usd-tzs-advanced-chart

And all this is happening before the great dollar squeeze begins in earnest!

And a month later, USDTZS is above 1700 & continuing to register all times highs @1765 (yesterdays close). I don't see how 1800 will not be tested & surpassed. There's a time biz daily was ablazed with how the TZS was stable unlike its KES & UGX sistas. But being biz daily, well what can I say...
TZS breakdown playing catch up will hurt much more. And people want to dip into that Dar exchange...

EA econs (TZ, KE & UG) will hit the slowdown bumps for at least a year. A recession is also likely esp in KE, which will spill over to the rest. I haven't yet factored in a prolonged war cost effect & frankly I don't want to... Short term pains are coming & living within your means will be a must... If only EA would look for ways to enhance cheap credit for manufacturing, infrastructure, energy & agri sectors, that would work wonders for job creation & econ expansion. Hii mambo ya mkopo wa salo to buy luxuries or holiday trips has zero econ input. Create an environment that attracts capital inflow & this is where I have beef with Treasury & Trade or planning ministries outdated policies. We need technocrats not political figureheads in those dockets. Hopefully the new constitution will fix this.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
kizee1
#457 Posted : Wednesday, October 26, 2011 10:06:32 AM

ugx making a strong rally, think yield hunters are getting in
Mainat
#458 Posted : Wednesday, October 26, 2011 10:32:10 AM

Ksh above 101 again and heading towards a record on GBP (which is obviously not the focus of GoK). The 18% discount window rate is unsustainable and once that comes off...
Sehemu ndio nyumba
kizee1
#459 Posted : Wednesday, October 26, 2011 11:08:20 AM

Mainat wrote:
Ksh above 101 again and heading towards a record on GBP (which is obviously not the focus of GoK). The 18% discount window rate is unsustainable and once that comes off...

what did cbk expect? they have all but re-instated fx controls so offshores are getting out of liquid assets
FUNKY
#460 Posted : Wednesday, October 26, 2011 11:34:01 AM