Investor
Property
Question for a4architect
Does anyone know where I can get modern glass interior doors for bathrooms? The goal is not to be the richest man in the cemetery; Enjoy life while you can.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/1/2010 Posts: 9 Location: Nairobi
Amicus Curiae wrote:Does anyone know where I can get modern glass interior doors for bathrooms? Try any of the Tile shops Eg Tile & Carpet Centre (Msa road, Lavington), Saj Ceramics (Msa road), Ideal ceramics(Msa road), etc.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
If on a tight budget, try the aluminum guys next to City Cabannas. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/8/2010 Posts: 446 Location: london
who is best to use to desighn a house? manual designer or computer house designer
Rank: Member Joined: 5/9/2011 Posts: 786 Location: Mashinani
My costs so far on my 300m2 maisonette (four bedrooms 2 ensuite) Foundation and floor 750k incl 150k labour Downstars walls 250k incl 40k labour Slab 800k incl 110k labour Upstairs walls, lintel, 4 gables 350k incl 130k labour My labour cost is exactly 20% of project cost Total 2.2m Roof is next but i expect to spend 500k incl 100k labour Peace in our Homeland.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
kamundu wrote:My costs so far on my 300m2 maisonette (four bedrooms 2 ensuite) Foundation and floor 750k incl 150k labour Downstars walls 250k incl 40k labour Slab 800k incl 110k labour Upstairs walls, lintel, 4 gables 350k incl 130k labour
My labour cost is exactly 20% of project cost Total 2.2m
Roof is next but i expect to spend 500k incl 100k labour Hee! kamundu kai wi mbeca nyigi atia? 2.2 mirrion na bado,ceiling,mawadrob,plaster,tiles,shitima,maji plumber,peter marangi,madirisha na vio na choo(s) vile vile! etc wewe kwisha kabisa!
Ngong wrote:kamundu wrote:My costs so far on my 300m2 maisonette (four bedrooms 2 ensuite) Foundation and floor 750k incl 150k labour Downstars walls 250k incl 40k labour Slab 800k incl 110k labour Upstairs walls, lintel, 4 gables 350k incl 130k labour
My labour cost is exactly 20% of project cost Total 2.2m
Roof is next but i expect to spend 500k incl 100k labour Hee! kamundu kai wi mbeca nyigi atia? 2.2 mirrion na bado,ceiling,mawadrob,plaster,tiles,shitima,maji plumber,peter marangi,madirisha na vio na choo(s) vile vile! etc wewe kwisha kabisa! Haiya, kwani wewe ungespend ngapi? Peace in our Homeland.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/14/2011 Posts: 32 Location: nairobi
Eng. Kamau wrote:Hi Wazuans, how long should I wait after the first floor slab of a maisonette is done before I start putting up walls on that first floor? Is there any effects if I do it before the 21 days given are over? Kindly let me have your advice. Hi kamau The BS 8110 are very clear. It is not only the 21 days to elapse but good watering for the cement to set is necessary. Remember 'kumwangilia' si 'kunyusisia' maji!! All the best kamau
Mo wrote:Just done the security/site store. i got mbaos from a previous site and paid a nominal price 5k for them but had to buy 30 mabatis. this is only a temporary structure so i was advised to buy reject mabati at 530 each for 2.5m for gauge 32 which i think is fair. construction labour costed 3500. Hello , where did you get the reject mabatis ?
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
this is one thread which will be useful to me in August 2013 God willing. my 10ftby 10 ftby 10ft septic tank is underway.digging expected to cost 12k. I will complete the septic tank so that the soil doesn't fill up back.hopefully by May.a budget of 40k should suffice for the complete septic tank.next will be excavating the site black cotton soil layer of about 2ft deep to the rocky layer where the house foundation will begin. 30k should be enough for the excavation. drawings to be done by June though I have conceptualized what I need .my Fundi has been of much help but will involve the experts when I'm ready .just preparing the ground as a motivation to keep focused. I have seen that I will never have the hundred of thousands that are mentioned in this thread in my pockets so I decided to go bit by bit in the construction as I build up my saving on the other side. I already have a friends drawings which I intend to replicate and get approved by the county council.already have contacts there who advised me to start breaking the ground and accumulating the materials. punda amecheka
newfarer wrote:this is one thread which will be useful to me in August 2013 God willing. my 10ftby 10 ftby 10ft septic tank is underway.digging expected to cost 12k. I will complete the septic tank so that the soil doesn't fill up back.hopefully by May.a budget of 40k should suffice for the complete septic tank.next will be excavating the site black cotton soil layer of about 2ft deep to the rocky layer where the house foundation will begin. 30k should be enough for the excavation. drawings to be done by June though I have conceptualized what I need .my Fundi has been of much help but will involve the experts when I'm ready .just preparing the ground as a motivation to keep focused.
I have seen that I will never have the hundred of thousands that are mentioned in this thread in my pockets so I decided to go bit by bit in the construction as I build up my saving on the other side. I already have a friends drawings which I intend to replicate and get approved by the county council.already have contacts there who advised me to start breaking the ground and accumulating the materials.
Just do bit by bit. Thats the way to go. Usiogope. The hardest thing is to start Peace in our Homeland.
bensonnzuki wrote:@member thanks for Ur reply. now is necessary to use Y16 or u can substitute it with Y12? any response is much welcome you may have to consult a structural engineer. Depends on the amount and type of loading( dead loads , impact loads etc)
newfarer wrote:this is one thread which will be useful to me in August 2013 God willing. my 10ftby 10 ftby 10ft septic tank is underway.digging expected to cost 12k. I will complete the septic tank so that the soil doesn't fill up back.hopefully by May.a budget of 40k should suffice for the complete septic tank.next will be excavating the site black cotton soil layer of about 2ft deep to the rocky layer where the house foundation will begin. 30k should be enough for the excavation. drawings to be done by June though I have conceptualized what I need .my Fundi has been of much help but will involve the experts when I'm ready .just preparing the ground as a motivation to keep focused.
I have seen that I will never have the hundred of thousands that are mentioned in this thread in my pockets so I decided to go bit by bit in the construction as I build up my saving on the other side. I already have a friends drawings which I intend to replicate and get approved by the county council.already have contacts there who advised me to start breaking the ground and accumulating the materials.
Hi there , please note the slab for 10 by 10 will be more expensive ( and trickier) than a 6* 8 . Given that it will cost you 12k , i guess the cost of excavating deeper might be cheaper than the broader slab for covering the septic tank. Agin 10 feet depth might not be suitable for letting the fluids soak to the ground as it will be too near the surface. just my two cents
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
sysdevPM wrote:newfarer wrote:this is one thread which will be useful to me in August 2013 God willing. my 10ftby 10 ftby 10ft septic tank is underway.digging expected to cost 12k. I will complete the septic tank so that the soil doesn't fill up back.hopefully by May.a budget of 40k should suffice for the complete septic tank.next will be excavating the site black cotton soil layer of about 2ft deep to the rocky layer where the house foundation will begin. 30k should be enough for the excavation. drawings to be done by June though I have conceptualized what I need .my Fundi has been of much help but will involve the experts when I'm ready .just preparing the ground as a motivation to keep focused.
Hi there , please note the slab for 10 by 10 will be more expensive ( and trickier) than a 6* 8 . Given that it will cost you 12k , i guess the cost of excavating deeper might be cheaper than the broader slab for covering the septic tank. Agin 10 feet depth might not be suitable for letting the fluids soak to the ground as it will be too near the surface. just my two cents My Fundi had advised a septic tank of a lesser width for the same reason you've stated but I decided to do similar size to my neighbors. makosa imefanyika. but the rock underneath is hard and of good quality for the foundation according to the Fundi. these can be excavated and used for the main house foundation.I will dig deeper and get this gold to mitigate on the higher cost of the septic tank slab. where can I get quality metal bars for the slab at the best price in town? punda amecheka
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
kamundu wrote:[quo
Haiya, kwani wewe ungespend ngapi? Seems you are doing a wonderful job. Ukimaliza pls weka picha!
Ngong wrote:kamundu wrote:[quo
Haiya, kwani wewe ungespend ngapi? Seems you are doing a wonderful job. Ukimaliza pls weka picha! Ahsante mzee. Nitaweka. Peace in our Homeland.
sysdevPM wrote:Mo wrote:Just done the security/site store. i got mbaos from a previous site and paid a nominal price 5k for them but had to buy 30 mabatis. this is only a temporary structure so i was advised to buy reject mabati at 530 each for 2.5m for gauge 32 which i think is fair. construction labour costed 3500. Hello , where did you get the reject mabatis ? you will find them in hardware shops, just say you want rejects Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/13/2011 Posts: 297 Location: Nairobi
Mo wrote:sysdevPM wrote:Mo wrote:Just done the security/site store. i got mbaos from a previous site and paid a nominal price 5k for them but had to buy 30 mabatis. this is only a temporary structure so i was advised to buy reject mabati at 530 each for 2.5m for gauge 32 which i think is fair. construction labour costed 3500. Hello , where did you get the reject mabatis ? you will find them in hardware shops, just say you want rejects 530 is too high for rejects. 1m of 32g Nyumba (best quality brand) is 475/ 190/m2.
Hi Guys, I came across an article on the Wall Street Journal, May 3rd - 5th, 2013 about Green homes aka Net Zero energy homes. NZEH - Net Zero Energy HomesAre there guys in Kenya who offer such services? The construction of these type of houses are on the increase in the US, and the owners are selling back electricity to the National grid. Can solar panels sustain most if not all the electricity requirements (of say) a 300sqM home? Asanteni...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
@nostoppinthis..Kenya lies within the equator so it receives the most energy compared to other parts of the world. Unfortunately, KPLC have been slow in allowing kenyans to generate solar power and resell it back to the grid due to myopic political reasons such as competition etc. With the new Uhuruto govt, we hope they will put solar power first and allow kplc buy back power through the residential grid. All kplc needs is to ensure they are the sole suppliers of the dc to ac converter so that all the converted ac vibrates at the same amplitude as the main kplc grid. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Investor
Property
Question for a4architect