70 Pages«<2021222324>»
SGR Progress thus far
#421 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 3:54:49 PM

The Mombasa SGR Super Bridge coming up nicely...Drool

Is that the airport that I am seeing there?

I am also seeing it.
That could be the Changamwe area!

I have confirmed on Google maps.
#422 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:27:23 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@Impunity thanks for bringing up that thingy called the line clear, many eons ago everytime we would go to the coast I would see the train driver (ni ukweli anaitwa machine operator?) drop that tennis-racket shaped thing and pick up another and I would wonder nini hio.
So its purpose is to only open up the line section?

It was introduced by the British Imperialist huko majuu on the line between Manchester and St. Pancras Station of London.
It reduced head-on collisions by upto 90%, in those days...18th century.

The same system is still being used but "digitized" now, especially for Single tracks worldwide.
The train driver is called the Train Engineer, smile (not welder!)

The line clear racket carries a huge age-hardened steel key which the Station Master keys in to some telegraph box machine.
He turns the key and press some morse code to enable the next Station to release his key for the next station after the next...
Its only after the key has successfully locked into the current station that the next station can release its key (Line clear).
But the next station after the next must also send some morse code to the next station to enable the key to be released by the next station.

The next station master after the only send the Morse code if he is sure these is no traffic between the two stations, thus the name "Line Clear".

But wait, should the current station master fail to log in the key in the telegraph machine, then the train will be grounded in the next station since there would be NO line clear to proceed to the next station after the next!

Also the station master can delay the train in the station by keeping the "line Clear" on his desk, and only take it to the train Engineer when he is satisfied.
This is normally done when the there is an oncoming traffic ahead which has closed the line hence the line is "Not clear".

He can only do this to intentionally delay the train for his wife who is still in the house to come and catch the train.

And by the way the telegraph could fail to release the key due to low power (they were powered by Dry Cells made in West Germany and USA, yes we used American batteries in the past and not Chinese), in this case the station master will invoke some power and write a special letter to the train engineer explaining the problem and confirming that the line ahead is clear!
For passenger trains, the train Captain must append his signature to accept this or decline.

The train captain is the overall,well fed, big stomach, good english and he doesn't seat in the Driver's cabin...he sleeps somewhere in the first class couches, complete with "Mechanical Thuraya" mobile phone.

I will explain the Imperial Railway "Mechanical Thuraya mobile phone" later....

Hivyo ndivyo ilikuwanga for the Lunatic Express!

smile smile smile

#423 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:38:20 PM

@Inteligensia, and by the way driving those huge GE Diesel-Electric trains you see on railways today is like operating a power station.
Remember this is a HUGE turbocharge diesel engine with 12 cylinders, whose bores are the size of your domestic ndoo/bucket...the diesel engine turns some AC generator which produce more than 2 Mega Watt of electricity!!!!!!!!!

This amount of electric power can comfortably power the entire Lamu County, you can imagine!

This energy is sent to some six HUGE traction motors to move the machine...machine operation it is!

#424 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 5:30:50 PM

The Mombasa SGR Super Bridge coming up nicely...Drool

Ni Jomvu

Is that the airport that I am seeing there?

I am also seeing it.
That could be the Changamwe area!

I have confirmed on Google maps.

safariant
#425 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 11:50:19 AM

The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#426 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 12:12:27 PM

A train doesn't have to have a long-nose design to for it to be modern. Even Germans use old school trains. A train design isnt changed every 3 years like happens with japanese cars. What matters is what is under the hood and the horsepower. Also Kenya is not buying those high speed bullet trains that travel at 300kmph and thus need an aerodynamic nose.

German train.

USA

#427 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 1:38:08 PM

Even the Machizi Express Tenda was yours?

Mbrasary, don't you have connections.
#428 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 3:50:35 PM

A train doesn't have to have a long-nose design to for it to be modern. Even Germans use old school trains. A train design isnt changed every 3 years like happens with japanese cars. What matters is what is under the hood and the horsepower. Also Kenya is not buying those high speed bullet trains that travel at 300kmph and thus need an aerodynamic nose.

German train.

USA

I used AMTRAK from LA to San diego and it was fast enough
#429 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 4:16:30 PM

freiks wrote:

German train.

USA

I used AMTRAK from LA to San diego and it was fast enough

Where fast trains are discussed, USA is not among them.
By standard of Europe, China and Far East, USA trains are SLOW OLD trains...they cant achieve anything near 200km/h.
Its now that America is building the highlighted train/railway.

The AmTrak can clock 240km/h but is restricted to 200km/h due to some speed and infrastructure limitations along the way.

#430 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 4:25:12 PM

aemathenge wrote:

If you want higher speeds no one has stopped you from using KQ.
#431 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 4:33:17 PM

aemathenge wrote:

Indeed why don't we eat cake

Unfortunately, some of us do not have tendas nor are we on Thirikali payrolls.

Tawfiq Express works for me just fine.
josimar
#432 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 10:18:51 AM

I saw the SGR site in Rangau area of Ongata Rongai , who has an idea whether there will be an SGR site in Ongata Rongai or Ngong ?
#433 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 10:31:08 AM

josimar wrote:
I saw the SGR site in Rangau area of Ongata Rongai , who has an idea whether there will be an SGR site in Ongata Rongai or Ngong ?

Rongai i doubt...
#434 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 12:20:32 PM

aemathenge wrote:

Shida is that people never see anything good. For ages people were complaining that we have never build even a single inch of rail since mzungu left. And that we needed an efficient rail transport to move goods inland from mombasa. Then Ohuru build SGR in record time. And now people are still complaining - sijui its expensive, sijui its not 2 way, sijui they dont like shape of engine, sijui it should have been electric, sijui it will disturb hyenas and other beasts at Tsavo and other parks, sijui the train should have done 200km/h and not 120km/h, sijui it spoilt the landscape view as you travel to coast by road etc etc. What do people want???????
#435 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 12:28:21 PM

aemathenge wrote:

Shida is that people never see anything good. For ages people were complaining that we have never build even a single inch of rail since mzungu left. And that we needed an efficient rail transport to move goods inland from mombasa. Then Ohuru build SGR in record time. And now people are still complaining - sijui its expensive, sijui its not 2 way, sijui they dont like shape of engine, sijui it should have been electric, sijui it will disturb hyenas and other beasts at Tsavo and other parks, sijui the train should have done 200km/h and not 120km/h, sijui it spoilt the landscape view as you travel to coast by road etc etc. What do people want???????

We don't want tax payers money to be misappropriated....the cost is so much when compared to similar projects in the same region...I doubt the high cost is not due to land acquisition as we are told by the 527 bloggers.

#436 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 12:31:55 PM

TIK....
#437 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 2:56:58 PM

aemathenge wrote:

Mount Kenya is on fire.

Kenya Forest Service (KFS) does not have aircraft to assess the situation.

Money has gone to hairstylists and to pay for fuel for Kenia Air force One to land on as many airports as possible.

Talk to Itumbi and get that tenda too.

Link:
#438 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 3:00:57 PM

aemathenge wrote:

We don't want tax payers money to be misappropriated....the cost is so much when compared to similar projects in the same region...I doubt the high cost is not due to land acquisition as we are told by the 527 bloggers.

Where is the breakdown of SGR costs? Has anyone seen it?
#439 Posted : Saturday, January 14, 2017 9:37:50 AM

josimar wrote:

Rongai i doubt...

There is!
#440 Posted : Saturday, January 14, 2017 10:35:08 AM

aemathenge wrote:

Mount Kenya is on fire.

Kenya Forest Service (KFS) does not have aircraft to assess the situation.

Money has gone to hairstylists and to pay for fuel for Kenia Air force One to land on as many airports as possible.

Talk to Itumbi and get that tenda too.

Link:

If you went to school like I did, you'd know that forest fires play an important ecological role in forest ecosystems. They are a part of the forest ecosystem dynamics. You could start by reading the link below to educate yourself on some of these matters.

http://greentumble.com/t...rtance-of-forest-fires/