wazua Thu, Mar 19, 2026

569 Pages«<209210211212213>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
#2101 Posted : Saturday, February 02, 2013 7:44:20 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Let's say you shop in a supermarket and your budget comes close to a clean 2000 for purchasing the goods. It means means the cost of goods will increase by 10% to 2200. That's for retail. Businesses that depend on mpesa to transact will also have to reflect their increased cost of production on the price of their goods.
No. As explained by @dunkang. Will it hurt users? Yes. By 10% of the purchase price? No.
#2102 Posted : Sunday, February 03, 2013 8:59:43 AM

hisah wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
hisah wrote:
I have been against this excise duty idea on mobile money.

Perhaps you could suggest an alternative for the government to source funding for the repayment of loans for the Thika Highway and County Governments expenditure.

Cut down the bloated gubberment. Cut back on resource wastage by ministries, curb corruption rather than slowing mobile money & risk spiking inflation at a time when the econ is on a slump.

This is an indirect tax. You can avoid the higher tax by transacting mpesa less often.
ChessMaster
#2103 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 1:23:09 AM

@all - Thanks for the clarification on the mpesa charges.
In my opinion,inflation is the only tax that can't be avoided.
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Aguytrying
#2104 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 9:31:59 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
Safcom to hike mpesa charges by 10% nxt week

10% is official increment but on the transaction table it will be much much higher coz the charges will have weird figures like 27.50, 33 etc. Who has coins in this kenya? Agents will simply upward round-off to the nearest available denomination. Sad Sad

This is not true. Transaction fees are subtracted directly from mpesa account so the issue of change does not arise
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#2105 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 10:12:33 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

10% is official increment but on the transaction table it will be much much higher coz the charges will have weird figures like 27.50, 33 etc. Who has coins in this kenya? Agents will simply upward round-off to the nearest available denomination. Sad Sad

This is not true. Transaction fees are subtracted directly from mpesa account so the issue of change does not arise

This just goes to show how elitist (a good number in wazua) are out of touch with wanjikus. #LONG_LIVE_YT2.

ChessMaster
#2106 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 10:24:59 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

This just goes to show how elitist (a good number in wazua) are out of touch with wanjikus. #LONG_LIVE_YT2.

In what way?
mkeiyd
#2107 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 10:28:52 AM

ChessMaster wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

In what way?

In thinking there will be no coins for change with mpesa transactions of 27.50 bob or 33 bob.
Nikaa mpesa charges ulipwa from pocket.
#2108 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 11:15:08 AM

@Chessmaster, a person claiming that they will not be reimbursed 0.50/- by sending or withdrawing money by using M-Pesa is either;
1. An elitist who has never used the service,
2. A foreigner, who has never even seen an M-Pesa booth,
3. Too Poor, such that he has never seen a cellphone,
4. A toddler with an internet connection.

For the elitist here, view this as a fee you are charged by mastercard/visa etc when you shop at a Deacons, and then try to put in a Wanjiku perspective paying rent to Mr. Njoroge.

ChessMaster
#2109 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 11:31:14 AM

@Chessmaster, a person claiming that they will not be reimbursed 0.50/- by sending or withdrawing money by using M-Pesa is either;
1. An elitist who has never used the service,
2. A foreigner, who has never even seen an M-Pesa booth,
3. Too Poor, such that he has never seen a cellphone,
4. A toddler with an internet connection.

For the elitist here, view this as a fee you are charged by mastercard/visa etc when you shop at a Deacons, and then try to put in a Wanjiku perspective paying rent to Mr. Njoroge.

I get what you mean.What if they are thinking about how safaricom will react to the charges.How they'll round up the differences so the math is easier.
hisah
#2110 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 11:44:44 AM

hisah wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
hisah wrote:
I have been against this excise duty idea on mobile money.

Perhaps you could suggest an alternative for the government to source funding for the repayment of loans for the Thika Highway and County Governments expenditure.

Cut down the bloated gubberment. Cut back on resource wastage by ministries, curb corruption rather than slowing mobile money & risk spiking inflation at a time when the econ is on a slump.

This is an indirect tax. You can avoid the higher tax by transacting mpesa less often.

Less transactions, less money moving around, brakes on money velocity. Less tax collection across all fin transactions (banks & agents) since less cash is moving around in a slumped econ. So how is this tax a good idea?
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
569 Pages«<209210211212213>»