wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

43 Pages«<1920212223>»
Ksh at its weakest since it floated in 1994
mkonomtupu
#401 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 12:46:27 PM

with 106.25 printed i now pity poor prof. ndungu and CBK nothing seems to be working, i wonder which gospel songs beam out his car radio
#402 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 12:46:46 PM

KES keeps tumbling - the new record low against the USD is 106.05.
kizee1
#403 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:04:05 PM

106.90 paid...if we keep updating last paid price this thread will be the longest in history
Mainat
#404 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:05:15 PM

106.85 heading to 107.
Pity nobody listens. Fx controls required otherwise tuko kubaya. It shouldn't matter what is happening in Ug/Tz et al.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#405 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:09:51 PM

At this rate importing a probox will soon cost Ksh 1m.
#406 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:15:35 PM

The Prof is not serious. FX controls are needed pap! Well unless he is playing to his political masters.
QW25081985
#407 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:20:56 PM

here's the technical analysis for the battered shilling

These are my targets Ksh 117.84 ( 138.2%fib extension) is my first target then Ksh 120.42 ( 161.8% fib level) is my second target...

so expect more falling . Niku baya ....
QW25081985
#408 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:22:45 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
The Prof is not serious. FX controls are needed pap! Well unless he is playing to his political masters.

thats what i have been thinking all along since the shilling started falling . He has bn very lax about stopping its fall..Hii campaign money inahitajika anyway . Ama ?
the deal
#409 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:47:56 PM

Contraction monetary policy...CBK should hike that repo rate again to fasten the bottom!
kizee1
#410 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 2:49:52 PM

Mainat wrote:
106.85 heading to 107.
Pity nobody listens. Fx controls required otherwise tuko kubaya. It shouldn't matter what is happening in Ug/Tz et al.

how will FX controls? help? the minute you announce u are introducing controls everyone will close shorts(if any) 120 will not even cap...lets be careful what we ask for
Mainat
#411 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 3:01:19 PM

Kizee1-lets fold our hands and do some knitting.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
kizee1
#412 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 3:04:21 PM

lol..sawa
Cde Monomotapa
#413 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 3:08:37 PM

Heh! Might as well write down 2011 as it were in 2009. Enjoy the rains and bounce back 2012 as it were 2010. Merry Xmas smile
Pierce
#414 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 4:01:03 PM

Mainat wrote:
At Ksh105.66 and heading to 106. GBP is now 165.

Had sent someone to buy me GBP, the person just called to let me know the rate is not 162 as I had anticipated, its now 166.....is this real??
hisah
#415 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 4:13:59 PM

@deal - wewe iko wapi. I can see your NAD (Namibian dollar) is also taking it in the chin since August... Fighting a dollar squeeze is any CB's worse nightmare... And the squeeze is not yet at blow-off levels!

http://www.forexpros.com.../usd-nad-advanced-chart - sell the 'D' button and scroll the chart backwards to Jan 2011 or beyond and look at that parabolic curve... Nasty... All emerging market currencies (those that are not controlled) have taken it in the chin against the dollar in Q3 2011.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Kwanini
#416 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 4:16:18 PM

Something is wrong . Went to stanchart today and they quoted 108kes to the dollar!
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
the deal
#417 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 4:40:16 PM

@Hisah 2 year ago NAD was at 10 to the USD.. inflation slowed to 5.3% last month plus Q2 the gova there posted a +ve BoP.read this http://af.reuters.com/ar...ws/idAFJ8E7J302K20111011
hisah
#418 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 5:01:32 PM

[quote=the deal]@Hisah 2 year ago NAD was at 10 to the USD.. inflation slowed to 5.3% last month plus Q2 the gova there posted a +ve BoP.read this http://af.reuters.com/ar...s/idAFJ8E7J302K20111011[/quote]

When the blow-off squeeze comes I expect that 10 level to be tested or exceeded... Keep watching.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
the deal
#419 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 8:33:14 PM

hisah wrote:
[quote=the deal]@Hisah 2 year ago NAD was at 10 to the USD.. inflation slowed to 5.3% last month plus Q2 the gova there posted a +ve BoP.read this http://af.reuters.com/ar...s/idAFJ8E7J302K20111011[/quote]

When the blow-off squeeze comes I expect that 10 level to be tested or exceeded... Keep watching.

Only if the Euro collapse.. In that case the whole world will get it.
#420 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 8:59:07 PM

Mainat wrote:
Kizee1-lets fold our hands and do some knitting.

That's the best suggestion I've heard in ages...you should be advising CBK.