wazua Sat, Sep 6, 2025

24 Pages«<1920212223>»
Portfolio Balancing: Avoid Over Exposure To Financial Sector
#401 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2025 11:39:53 AM

wukan wrote:
For Kenya's financing future, bank boardrooms must change urgently

Bank shareholders are not ready for this conversation, but that industry is prime for disruption.

https://www.businessdail...agnant%20in%20practice.

Try this link. The above wasn't working.

Though this (what the author says) is easier said than done.

Banks do finance on other cashflow metrics but there has to be trust on both sides regarding the integrity of the borrower. Too many stories of funny business on collateralized land. Now imagine trying to collateralize or ringfence inflows on intangibles.

Banks got choma'd on loans on cars for Uber, etc. Not necessarily the fault of the drivers/owners but the economy. Or everyone jumping into the same biashara.

Watu got burnt on their Boda and phone loans last year. Guys were removing trackers. Some were selling the bodas across the border. How are you going to track down a defaulter in Mandera?
McGill
#402 Posted : Monday, July 21, 2025 11:24:32 AM

wukan wrote:

Bank shareholders are not ready for this conversation, but that industry is prime for disruption.

Banks do finance on other cashflow metrics but there has to be trust on both sides regarding the integrity of the borrower. Too many stories of funny business on collateralized land. Now imagine trying to collateralize or ringfence inflows on intangibles.

Banks got choma'd on loans on cars for Uber, etc. Not necessarily the fault of the drivers/owners but the economy. Or everyone jumping into the same biashara.

Watu got burnt on their Boda and phone loans last year. Guys were removing trackers. Some were selling the bodas across the border. How are you going to track down a defaulter in Mandera?

I was really wondering what happened to Watu last year btw.
#403 Posted : Monday, July 21, 2025 7:46:15 PM

McGill wrote:
wukan wrote:

The NPL position for some of the banks, will lead to mass write off. If write off is done, hit on PBT, since collateralized lending is not fully provisioned under IFRS9. You know, I know, we all know. All the glorious profit is but a conjecture!

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 804,000 ABP 6.26; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#404 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2025 8:23:32 AM

McGill wrote:
wukan wrote:

The NPL position for some of the banks, will lead to mass write off. If write off is done, hit on PBT, since collateralized lending is not fully provisioned under IFRS9. You know, I know, we all know. All the glorious profit is but a conjecture!
A write-off does not affect the P&L.
#405 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2025 4:58:08 PM

McGill wrote:
wukan wrote:

Kaka. This is basic accounting. The write-off is reported as an expense on the company's income statement, reducing net income for the reporting period, which negatively impacts financial performance. The only exemption is for fully provisioned loans, such as unsecured borrowings

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 804,000 ABP 6.26; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#406 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2025 5:42:48 PM

McGill wrote:
wukan wrote:

Kaka. This is basic accounting. The write-off is reported as an expense on the company's income statement, reducing net income for the reporting period, which negatively impacts financial performance. The only exemption is for fully provisioned loans, such as unsecured borrowings
Provisions affect the P&L. Writeoffs ni mambo za Balance Sheet.
#407 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2025 6:47:42 PM

McGill wrote:
wukan wrote:

Alright. I get your pattern. Provisions from the bad debts will affect the bottom line. Potato potato!

#408 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2025 11:42:29 PM

McGill wrote:
wukan wrote:

Alright. I get your pattern. Provisions from the bad debts will affect the bottom line. Potato potato!

IFRS not my pattern.
#409 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2025 2:45:30 PM

EQTY -8%, SCBK -12%, SBIC -24% down on PBT for Q1 2025. Watch and learn

And the rest???

One can subjectively selected data to say whatever they want. List for all the banks you normally track in the other thread and their percentage increase or decrease and then tell us what you are trying to say.

You can't pick 3 out 10 banks and try to push a certain narrative while totally ignoring the other 7 surely unless you trying to be dishonest.

Flat growth? An oxymoron. I hold the right to free speech. Watch and learn

What am I learning from subjectively selected data which is an outlier

You make a generic statement about an industry and then selectively pick data for 3 and ignore data for 7 to prove what exactly??

Sasa @Obiero

Brother Obiero, tafadhali soma hii alafu you comment!!!
#410 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2025 2:55:14 PM

And the rest???

One can subjectively selected data to say whatever they want. List for all the banks you normally track in the other thread and their percentage increase or decrease and then tell us what you are trying to say.

You can't pick 3 out 10 banks and try to push a certain narrative while totally ignoring the other 7 surely unless you trying to be dishonest.

Equity's PBT in Q2 2025 was Kshs. 22.9 billion!! It's strongest quarterly performance in history!!!

Not only were you monumentally wrong, you were wrong by historical proportions.

I ask you again, what is this we are supposed to "watch and learn"??

And the "speaking in code". If anyone listens to you, they would wail in a public toilet!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#411 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2025 4:48:18 PM

And the rest???

Equity's PBT in Q2 2025 was Kshs. 22.9 billion!! It's strongest quarterly performance in history!!!

And the "speaking in code". If anyone listens to you, they would wail in a public toilet!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Master of double speech. Subjectively picking one out of 10. All banks have released HY?

#412 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2025 5:44:20 PM

And the rest???

Master of double speech. Subjectively picking one out of 10. All banks have released HY?

Where I went to school, I was taught that you can use a sample to disapprove a theory but you can't use a sample to prove it.

For example if someone claims Kenya allows only male MPs, I can sumply produce 1 female MP to disapprove it. But the person making the claim cannot produce 1 Male MP to prove it. Not even a hundred!!! Still not enough!
#413 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2025 5:50:21 PM

And the rest???

Of importance @Obiero, as we wait for KCB's results tomorrow, do you still stand by your doomsday prediction???
#414 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2025 8:36:08 PM

And the rest???

Of importance @Obiero, as we wait for KCB's results tomorrow, do you still stand by your doomsday prediction???

My sister. What doomsday is on this projection?
PBT projected vs actual
KCB 49.2
EQTY 37.4 - 41.5
COOP 19.7
ABSA 17.6
NCBA 15.2
SCBK 13.4
I&M 11.1
SBIC 8.7 - 8.6
DTB 8.4
HF 0.71

#415 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2025 7:36:46 AM

And the rest???

PBT projected vs actual
KCB 49.2
EQTY 37.4 - 41.5
COOP 19.7
ABSA 17.6
NCBA 15.2
SCBK 13.4
I&M 11.1
SBIC 8.7 - 8.6
DTB 8.4
HF 0.71

This came much later. And if you look at the conversation in this quoted thread, I had told you to do exactly that as you always do to realise your assertion was totally off, which it was.
#416 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2025 7:40:59 AM

Now bro @Obiero, without "speaking in code" or telling people to "watch and learn", what say you about the Finacial Sector, profitability, growth, investing in it etc.? In simple, clear and straightforward words.
#417 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2025 8:20:07 AM

And the rest???

PBT projected vs actual
KCB 49.2
EQTY 37.4 - 41.5
COOP 19.7
ABSA 17.6
NCBA 15.2
SCBK 13.4
I&M 11.1
SBIC 8.7 - 8.6
DTB 8.4
HF 0.71

This came much later. And if you look at the conversation in this quoted thread, I had told you to do exactly that as you always do to realise your assertion was totally off, which it was.

Observe that I have been holding financial stocks, and still do hold. There's consolidation happening. The days of 25% YoY PBT jumps is behind us. Yesterday, CBK MPC again tightened the tap. If you are keeping track of what's happening, you will eventually see. The writing is on the wall https://www.businessdail...e-to-nearly-90pc-5150158

#418 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2025 10:04:55 AM

Now bro @Obiero, without "speaking in code" or telling people to "watch and learn", what say you about the Finacial Sector, profitability, growth, investing in it etc.? In simple, clear and straightforward words.

New buzz phrases
you will eventually see
The writing is on the wall

Meanwhile ABSA declared a 20c interim for 1H25
#419 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2025 10:21:09 AM

New buzz phrases
you will eventually see

You have made bro @Obiero edit his post above and remove those new buzz words!!!
#420 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2025 10:25:03 AM

New buzz phrases
you will eventually see

You have made bro @Obiero edit his post above and remove those new buzz words!!!

When I was buying ABSA (then BBK) at 8.5/10 levels, the beating I got here from our resident guru Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Anyway the dividends keep coming.