wazua Fri, May 1, 2026

94 Pages«<1819202122>»
Matatu Business
matatuman
#191 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 12:41:58 PM

jerry wrote:
Prime wrote:
Matatuman, when you do your murengos do you carry along a conductor? Do you search for guys to board yourself. I think the dynamics of the murang'a route are a little different. Huku embu we have so many murengo mats from both Embu and Meru. The moment you reach Makutano we have murengos from Nanyuki, Nyeri, Karatina, Naromoru, Kutus etc. The moment you fika Makutano Muran'ga mats join the bandwagon. Thika the same thing. Lakini the cookie will soon crumble. Cars will get less and less especially if they indeed stop the registration of 14 seaters and below. Those who will have maintained their mats will stand to reap over time. By the way, We guys should hook up some time. Hebu tu-organize a ka-matatu mbuzi...

@jerry. Glad to hear that things went on well. Congratulations mzee

@Prime, Thanks. My van's 1st yr/month registration is 2007/08 and I sourced from the auction via IBC at USD10,800 CIF. Exchange rate was KES 86.90 to the dollar. That's about 940,000/= CIF Msa. Add ~800,000/= duty (import&excise,IDF...), inspection, registration, port charges, clearing... It comes to almost 1.85M. If not able to get TLB and given that it's likely to be a KBY...(different from those that came b4 expiry date of 31st Dec 2013) the Wazua community will have to assist me with alternative use of the huge "investment asset"! Selling to an institution is one such alternative.
The dealine is likely to be real and I hear it's like guys from Karatina,Nyeri, Murang'a have declared some interest in Meru Sharks(especially KARs ie old ones). They know that in Meru pple rush for new vans even when the old ones have good utility.

Good idea of wazua mbuzi and Meru/maua is a good place to start. Welcome!

@Jerry Looks like both IBC and KRA had you for dinner. But dont worry its a learning experience. I am keen on how the TLB license goes plus if there has been any change at all with regards to the documents required to register a 14 seater. Whats your route?
Prime
#192 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 1:57:17 PM

Jerry. Dont worry. Majority of the guys pay beyond 2M for those cars. I hope it was a manual coz That price is a little high for an auto. The initial price from the auction was fair but you got the first month of registration wrong. You only get from Jan till the current month Plus 1. i.e. If we are in feb you should only buy Jan, feb or march car as the first month of registration, ans of course needless to say is that you only buy from the last allowed year of registration i.e. currently at 2007. Lakini usijali. you will come out sharper through the experience. Incidentally im informed that even on the embu route all shuttles below KBB have been told to remove them as shuttles and all 14 seaters below KBC have also been told to chomoa them. If IBC hasnt withdrawn the auction password keep it very well. Its the biggest asset you will have when purchasing a car in future. Even if not with IBC. Sawa if you are unable to get it registered guys will help out on what next. I also had to think on what next after I had been told it wouldnt be registered. Alternatives ziko.
jerry
#193 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 2:33:12 PM

Prime wrote:
Jerry. Dont worry. Majority of the guys pay beyond 2M for those cars. I hope it was a manual coz That price is a little high for an auto. The initial price from the auction was fair but you got the first month of registration wrong. You only get from Jan till the current month Plus 1. i.e. If we are in feb you should only buy Jan, feb or march car as the first month of registration, ans of course needless to say is that you only buy from the last allowed year of registration i.e. currently at 2007. Lakini usijali. you will come out sharper through the experience. Incidentally im informed that even on the embu route all shuttles below KBB have been told to remove them as shuttles and all 14 seaters below KBC have also been told to chomoa them. If IBC hasnt withdrawn the auction password keep it very well. Its the biggest asset you will have when purchasing a car in future. Even if not with IBC. Sawa if you are unable to get it registered guys will help out on what next. I also had to think on what next after I had been told it wouldnt be registered. Alternatives ziko.

It's Auto. Remember you bought yours at USD10,400 and at a better exchange rate probably? What I'm happy about most is the experience and mine came direct from the auction. I know what IBC paid at the auction also as per Japan-Partner site. Wanataka watu wapeleke old vehicles wapi? They (Sacco officials) should tell us where to take the KBA...s.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jerry
#194 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 2:50:44 PM

@Jerry Looks like both IBC and KRA had you for dinner. But dont worry its a learning experience. I am keen on how the TLB license goes plus if there has been any change at all with regards to the documents required to register a 14 seater. Whats your route?
[/quote]
Mau-Meru-Nairobi.
It looks pricey due to "just tax" for a 2007/08 van.
Prime
#195 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 5:48:11 PM

jerry wrote:

Mau-Meru-Nairobi.
It looks pricey due to "just tax" for a 2007/08 van.[/quote]

Fully agree. Current levels for 2007 autos has gone back to ranges of around 13000. So sio mbaya. Looking forward to learning from you too.
jerry
#196 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 6:45:56 PM

Prime wrote:
jerry wrote:

Mau-Meru-Nairobi.

Fully agree. Current levels for 2007 autos has gone back to ranges of around 13000. So sio mbaya. Looking forward to learning from you too. A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle! Another one is that you can never beat the pioneer meaning that I appreciate those who "openned by eyes".
#197 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 7:02:39 PM

jerry wrote:
Prime wrote:
Jerry. Dont worry. Majority of the guys pay beyond 2M for those cars. I hope it was a manual coz That price is a little high for an auto. The initial price from the auction was fair but you got the first month of registration wrong. You only get from Jan till the current month Plus 1. i.e. If we are in feb you should only buy Jan, feb or march car as the first month of registration, ans of course needless to say is that you only buy from the last allowed year of registration i.e. currently at 2007. Lakini usijali. you will come out sharper through the experience. Incidentally im informed that even on the embu route all shuttles below KBB (it's KBA actually) have been told to remove them as shuttles and all 14 seaters below KBC have also been told to chomoa them. If IBC hasnt withdrawn the auction password keep it very well. Its the biggest asset you will have when purchasing a car in future. Even if not with IBC. Sawa if you are unable to get it registered guys will help out on what next. I also had to think on what next after I had been told it wouldnt be registered. Alternatives ziko.

It's Auto. Remember you bought yours at USD10,400 and at a better exchange rate probably? What I'm happy about most is the experience and mine came direct from the auction. I know what IBC paid at the auction also as per Japan-Partner site. Wanataka watu wapeleke old vehicles wapi? They (Sacco officials) should tell us where to take the KBA...s.

What it means gari zikitolewa is that they aren't allowed to ferry passengers from the main stage and so will be relegated to full-time murengos. I have my own reservations about that approach though.
matatuman
#198 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 9:43:03 PM

jerry wrote:
Prime wrote:
jerry wrote:

Mau-Meru-Nairobi.

Fully agree. Current levels for 2007 autos has gone back to ranges of around 13000. So sio mbaya. Looking forward to learning from you too. A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle! Another one is that you can never beat the pioneer meaning that I appreciate those who "openned by eyes".

Maybe I am out of touch with the market, last vehicle I imported arrived in December. My psychological limit for an auto box then was USD 9150. I also managed to get a clean petrol box for USD 8800. In the first instance I got the van from Autocom Japan. In the second it was from Tomisho. We have about four more boxes in our shuttle that came from Tomisho with prices between 9000 and 9500. Mileage of the said vehicles range between 160k and 220 k as at the time of importation. I generally look for vehicles with mileage around 150k plus or minus 10.
jerry
#199 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 10:29:12 PM

matatuman wrote:
jerry wrote:
Prime wrote:
jerry wrote:

Mau-Meru-Nairobi.

Maybe I am out of touch with the market, last vehicle I imported arrived in December. My psychological limit for an auto box then was USD 9150. I also managed to get a clean petrol box for USD 8800. In the first instance I got the van from Autocom Japan. In the second it was from Tomisho. We have about four more boxes in our shuttle that came from Tomisho with prices between 9000 and 9500. Mileage of the said vehicles range between 160k and 220 k as at the time of importation. I generally look for vehicles with mileage around 150k plus or minus 10.

When you, @matatuman, say last time you imported a box I say first time I imported a vehicle! There must be a difference in bargaining power. A did it from the auction and it had a grade of 3,5! As I said I know (from Japan-partner) what IBC paid for it. I'm ok with my deal and it's much better than getting it from Msa.
Outvestor
#200 Posted : Monday, February 10, 2014 12:46:05 AM

Prime wrote:
By the way guys lets keep each other updated on the sourcing of the "new governors". I know come march, there is bound to be a rush for them and a shortage as usual.

Some starting point...

¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
94 Pages«<1819202122>»