Rotten eggs at Mayakos county.
Impunity wrote:What will the use of those street lights in soem part of the remote section of the road? Does the road have any appreciable traffic late in the night? Those cameras are to record who? Do the cameras night night vision technology? I look at the road and just laughed. The elevation of the road is below the immediate surrounding land, no culverts, no shoulders... You cant even even compare the road to say Eastern bypass... it looks like tarmac was spread on top of loom soil.
By the way the street lights on the eastern by pass no longer work. They worked for some time,then off, now ni decorations tu. Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
washiku wrote:@Impunity, have you see the road yourself? I have not see(n) the road myself but my contacts on the ground are giving me detailed info! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
rryyzz wrote:Impunity wrote:What will the use of those street lights in soem part of the remote section of the road? Does the road have any appreciable traffic late in the night? Those cameras are to record who? Do the cameras night night vision technology? I look at the road and just laughed. The elevation of the road is below the immediate surrounding land, no culverts, no shoulders... You cant even even compare the road to say Eastern bypass... it looks like tarmac was spread on top of loom soil.
By the way the street lights on the eastern by pass no longer work. They worked for some time,then off, now ni decorations tu. True kabisa.Those street lights on Eastern bypass are all DEAD! Even the ones as close to the airport like hapo karibu na Taj Mall. Last week I passed over the overpass in pitch darkness at 11pm. Surely nyeuthi cant be helped...I learnt that a sand carrying lorry knocked one street light and all the lights went off...nobody want to fix it. Its clear the lights are connected in series which also points to VERY POOR design. Nyeuthi simply need nyauno tu. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
A true manifestation that "misery loves company" "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
tycho wrote:@Masukuma, it's not just what you believe; give us some links at least to prove your point. Here are mine for starters: http://www.theguardian.c...-rich-poor-tax-research
http://www.businessdaily.../-/uv17l4z/-/index.html
http://www.businessinsid...y-all-the-taxes-2013-12
Then the two arguments that: 1. The taxes that the poor pay applies to all people can't be equal to the poor don't pay tax. 2. That the poor are only needed for their votes is also not true. Universal suffrage has come a long way and with changing rationality. In fact, you're calling the poor fools because their political activity is for nought. Finally whether you agree with me or not, you still prove me right that all this talk is about pseudo-development because it's about making those who are already comfortable more comfortable while the poor languish with no hope. And you can't say which governor isn't working; for what if he lets the rich and middle class spend the money in trips and luxury as they seem to be doing? Isn't that equally effective in your scheme of things? basic goods are used by everyone and their taxation is a recent thing! the poor who consume basic stuff contribute very little to the tax regime - the reason that they are being taxed is because the rich are very clever people! the rich will not allow themselves to continue carrying the burden of the country and so they find creative ways of escaping the tax net and the deficit is latter pushed onto poor people. The poor are only needed for their votes! they bicker the whole day skive work to go for rallies and get promised free stuff that is charged on the rich....for a while at least before the rich skive these taxes and the poor have to pay for the same via things like excise tax on airtime and stuff - however the rich and middle class still carry this economy and their voices/opinions on where taxes should be spent should be listened to and weighed on contributory metrics not just on individual metrics. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
washiku wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ati dialogue continues ....
Why are Kenyans so like want this road and other Mutua's projects to fail. Surely let us give the guy a chance and evaluate him proper after like 3 years 2017!
Funny kichapo Mutua is getting while the other 46 Governors are just snoozing! Including Kidero! Exactly my question...Guys more obsessed in proving how Mutua's project are not real but forgets there others who has nothing to show... I don't mind repeating myself  I think the whole idea and execution is superb. Though the dialog continues... So @Angelica_ann @washiku, what is wrong with dialogue? Can one amount to anything and avoid criticism? All great leaders receive tons of criticism. The problem is seeking 100% consensus, or 100% approval, or 100% cheer squad. Let the road be built, let the critics have their say, and let real leaders choose good deeds above fine acclaim.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
If you look at your last post @masukuma, you may see all the contradiction you have, and the ground shifting.
But; who according to you needs the votes of the poor?
simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:Lolest! wrote:who understands the explanation that the loose chipping s are meant to be swept away by vehicles Actually not swept but pressed down to gel with the road Seems to be the trend nowadays. After the bituminous layer which is carefully pressed, they overlay a final "rough" one, then "sprinkle" loose chippings with "a little tar", Then the vehicles compact and blow away the excess. On most of the new roads you wil find guys with trucks collecting the loose chippings by the sides of the roads. After most of the chippings have been blown off, they finally mark the road. The road looks fair from the news footage, and the thickness appears to be at least 4ft (standard for National highways is 6-10 ft I guess). I have seen some with like 1 inch thickness and still lasted 5 or so years (Nanyuki-Dol dol, Gatanga-Ndakaini dem days etc). Hii ya Alfie iko sawa-10 years. Trying to remember something I learnt 4 yrs ago. Inaitwa surface dressing. On its own its used on lightly trafficed roads since its not very strong. its used as a wearing course above asphalt in highways e.g londiani kericho kisumu highway. its also used to improve friction property on worn down roads. The chippings that dont get embedded in the bitumen wear off quickly. Then finally surtace dressing is cheap, asphalt concrete(the one delivered from kilns while still hot) is more expensive
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
tycho wrote:If you look at your last post @masukuma, you may see all the contradiction you have, and the ground shifting.
But; who according to you needs the votes of the poor? the politicians.... by the way politicians are not synonymous with the rich. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
masukuma wrote:tycho wrote:If you look at your last post @masukuma, you may see all the contradiction you have, and the ground shifting.
But; who according to you needs the votes of the poor? the politicians.... by the way politicians are not synonymous with the rich. So, are the politicians poor, middle class, or rich?
Rotten eggs at Mayakos county.