wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

108 Pages«<1819202122>»
EPL 2011-2012
#381 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:14:21 AM

Wewe @TAZ you now say this about your defenders going forward and leaving your keeper exposed:

Wenger needs a defensive coach, someone like Ray Wilkins to focus on the backline. Our defenders are more concerned with going forward than protecting the keeper. I don't think they are bad players but the defensive responsibilities neeed to be drilled in their heads mpaka they get it right. Huko mbele tuko sawa lakini nyuma ni shida tupu.

On a different thread you said the following when I pointed out to you that your defenders should mind their duties at the back and should never get excited about going forward and leaving their keeper exposed:

@ Mwenza....

Even with our weak defense we only conceeded 6 goals more than Man Utd and 10 more than the other top two teams....i don't need to repeat what i said on goals scored. We have Vermalen, like i said what we need is just one more defender with height to counter aerial balls. I have no problem with our players moving forward in an attack after all statistics are there to show that we've conceeded (like everyone else) very few goals from open play.

Thankfully, I dont like using the derogatory term @mutua.

#382 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:23:28 AM

eishhh! @Mwenza, the length people would go to prove a point...

THE MISS OF THE CENTURY

#383 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:31:47 AM

@ Mwenza.... I don't see anything wrong with my two statements, i always get excited when i see defenders getting involved upfront but they shouldn't forget their defensive responsibilities (especially Koscielny & Djourou), Vermaelen and Per don't have that problem. That's why we need a defensive assistant coach, Wenger is very good on offensive play.

Besides, my response was based on last season's performance which like i said our major problem was defending Set plays. We conceeded very few goals in open play so there was really no problem with our defenders moving forward.

http://www.skysports.com...,,19501_7188465,00.html?
Ric dees
#384 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:46:37 AM

Haya so jana we were at the theatre of dreams with my ricdeelet, having left the Mrs at home (always a fab atmosphere when these 2 are playing)

As a Chelsea fan, i am so happy with yesterdays performance even if we lost this was clearly won ny luck no brilliance no nothing, we dominated every sector (some-one pull out the stats) shots on goal, total shots possession in midfield etc i the old trafford faithful were silenced for log periods something you rarely see, Yes Nani scored a wonder goal, we see that in games at times, but Rooney, Chicharito (did he even have ONE shot on target) Young were all snuffed out, the problem was in the right wing in Nani otherwise it was well played by Chelsea, if Ramirez had scored and make it 1-1 it would have been a very different game, Torres has surely passed the corner, we saw it in Leverkusen and jana, he will get better and hats off to Boaz-Villas for taking off the continously in-effective Lampard, he is squarely to blame the 1st goal even if Smalling was offside (he dint track the runner)and also Nani's second, he dint show any EFFORT when passed.

So verdict, yes Man U won but a lot of things to ponder and have i heard them saying they now are realdy to face Barcelona LOL surely the many goals against Bolton,Arsenal must have hoodwinked them totally, One thing for sure and lets admit it, Man U were SCARED of Chelsea yesterday and lets wait and see as the season progresses i like this Andre fellow!!

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#385 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 12:44:03 PM

Man U were scared of Chelsea? As in for real? Gave them respect? Yes. Scared? Hell to the Big No!! United's counter attack with Nani, Rooney and Young was making the likes of Cole, Bosingwa sh*t in their shorts. Nani, oh my. This lad is getting better by the day. Man of the match. His missile, his shot that hit the post, and making Cole look like an academy player. This guy will make Valencia play as a right back for a while.
#386 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 12:48:52 PM

Ric dees, you should be worried that Man U thumped chelsea 3-1 even when not playing their best football!!!
#387 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:20:05 PM

Ric dees, you should be worried that Man U thumped chelsea 3-1 even when not playing their best football!!!

What was even more worrying was that towards the end, when chelsea were required to score at least two more goals, they seemed to be running on empty whereas Man U looked like they had not engaged all the gears.

Did anybody notice Petr Cech wasting time as he took goal kicks towards the end?
#388 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 2:18:29 PM

mwenza wrote:

What was even more worrying was that towards the end, when chelsea were required to score at least two more goals, they seemed to be running on empty whereas Man U looked like they had not engaged all the gears.

Did anybody notice Petr Cech wasting time as he took goal kicks towards the end?

The minute they went down 3 - 0 by half time they knew things were going to elephant. Memories of another team that was down 3 - 0 by half time must have come flowing back. Were it not for the sloppy passing and wasted chances, this would have been "Massacre at the Theater of Dreams - Season II".

But you guys be easy on Ricdees. He probably bought the cheap tickets - the kind you need to listen to the radio to know what's happening and yet you are inside the stadium. He should have been watching the big screen in the stadium but he wanted to see the game "live".
#389 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 2:59:00 PM

So far Man Utd have played and won (impressively) at home against Spurs, Arsenal and Chelsea. They have another fixture with Man City at OT immediately after meeting L'fools at Anfield. This means that the SAF men will have to play Arsenal, Chelsea, Man City and Spurs away from Jan 2012. I know they've won (away) against those teams before but i think they would rather have had the return fixtures at OT. Anyway thats 5 out of 38, game on!
#390 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 3:21:40 PM

@Ric Dees...witha all due respect, we were not scared of Chelsea, not as a fan and certainly I doubt as a player - this is Old Trafford man! Just because our midfield was ineffective yesterday does not mean fear - be objective man, even if you watched the game at OT doesn't matter. Like someone has said, to be beaten 3-1 by a poor Man Utd showing should send shivers down your spine...imagine if we come to the Bridge guns blazing and humiliate you in your own backyard? Wacha fitina bwana!

As for Man Utd beating Barca, yesterday we'd have been torn to shreds if that was Barca - those two defense splitting passes by Anelka and Ramirez that both set off Torres with different results were very telling - Vidic and Rio are still vital to our cause.

Frankly speaking I don't know why Fergie didn't play Giggs in mid with Anderson but no worries, 3 points in the bag and Cleverly and Wellbeck should be back for those tricky away fixtures in Jan @Taz - depth wins titles,along with some luck and good football - not necessarily in that order. Early days
Ric dees
#391 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 3:26:05 PM

@Maichblack, You have hit me a low blow when the ref had already signalled the end of first round!!

You have to hand-it to Man U fans they will not take any swipe lying down however i disagree with you Taz, Manu U did not defeta chelsea comprehensivley,impressively whichever adjective you may use, an off-side smalling goal, and a ricochet goal pliiiz, how many times did they get behind our defences vis-a-vis us theirs? that will tell you the stroy, mark-you we were playing at OT? Like i said it could have gone either way.

Check the meaning of Comprehensive below?

Concise Oxford English Dictionary © 2008 Oxford University Press:
comprehensive/kɒmprɪˈhensɪv/
▶ adjective

■ (of a victory or defeat) by a large margin ie: When Barcelona outplayed an out-of-sorts Manchester United.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#392 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 3:53:12 PM

Ric dees wrote:

@Maichblack, You have hit me a low blow when the ref had already signalled the end of first round!!

You have to hand-it to Man U fans they will not take any swipe lying down however i disagree with you Taz, Manu U did not defeta chelsea comprehensivley,impressively whichever adjective you may use, an off-side smalling goal, and a ricochet goal pliiiz, how many times did they get behind our defences vis-a-vis us theirs? that will tell you the stroy, mark-you we were playing at OT? Like i said it could have gone either way.

Check the meaning of Comprehensive below?

Concise Oxford English Dictionary © 2008 Oxford University Press:
comprehensive/kɒmprɪˈhensɪv/
▶ adjective

■ (of a victory or defeat) by a large margin ie: When Barcelona outplayed an out-of-sorts Manchester United.

Bwana Ric Dees, what margin are we talking about here? The same scoreline as the Barca-United match? I will say it, United were clinical and beat Chelsea convincingly. Take time and check for the meaning of Clinical and Convincingly while you are at it.
Ric dees
#393 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 4:20:10 PM

Ala! I think watching a match at OT should be a non-issue, i see comments here guys watching Gor, AFC and to me it's the same thing, i surely would not throw a fit if Jason hill told us he watched a Colts V Patriots game!!

Nway- no sweat poleni i went to watch the game at OT,however objectively speaking Man U did not out play Chelsea FACT, Man U did not have more shots on goal or off it than Chelsea FACT, Man U scored more goals than Chelsea FACT,Chelsea's midfield out played Man u's FACT, Chelsea's NO 9 had more shots at goal than Man u's no 9 FACT. Man U won by the brilliance of Nani and Luck FACT

I don't know what objectivity we are talking about, but this are the things coaches analyse not the scores as most of us are usually obsessed with, hence me reiterating again and again, Man U did not play badly, they just faced a BETTER Chelsea side period.

#394 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 5:32:55 PM

Yeah, that's a bit better than saying Man Utd were scared by Chelsea. We've always respected Chelsea but fear? Maybe the days of Mourinho which are long gone...
#395 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 9:46:53 PM

FIFA: Football Isn't For Atsenal!!!

Ujinga ni arsenal fans kuenda maombi winners chapel!!!
#396 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 9:31:56 AM

Someone just compared Wenger to Ben Ali.Mubarak and Gaddafi ...lol

Link: Wenger = Ben Ali/Gadaffi/Mubarak

#397 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 11:08:20 AM

.....Frankly speaking I don't know why Fergie didn't play Giggs in mid with Anderson but no worries, 3 points in the bag...

At his age and having played for 90mins in midweek, it would have been asking for too much to field him in such an absorbing match.
#398 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 11:16:08 AM

Quote of the day:

"If Arsenal continue to sink at this rate, they are bound to strike oil at some point in the near future"
#399 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 2:23:49 PM

C&P

The 24-year-old has taken time to develop and can still frustrate at times with his over-indulgence, but when he is on form with his dancing feet, he is one of the best players in the country.

Just ask Ashley Cole. The England international was given a torrid afternoon by Nani, twisted and turned into a knot and beaten time and again by the Portuguese's skill and trickery.

Nani was almost taunting Cole: shifting the ball inside before playing it through his legs, slowing down to invite a tackle before disappearing in a blur.

#400 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 2:39:30 PM

http://www.espn.co.uk/fo...112201.html?CMP=OTC-RSS

Once a gunner always a gunner....now thats a true Arsenal fan.