wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

New Drinking rules
#21 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 10:16:48 AM

Ali Baba,
Eti two Tuskers....what the hell is wrong you men!!!
#22 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 10:18:28 AM

Ali Baba wrote:
NOSTOPINGTHIS: I have a substantial shareholding of EABL;but I applaud this law because you kenyans drink like hooligans.Go GOK,go...

and which country might you be from?smile Kenyans can opt to drink in the confines of their homes (it may just be less fun)

You missing the point: what I mean is GoK proposes to benefit from EABL through the budget, and then later, implelments the "Alcohol Law"...why should GoK counter it's initial plans?
njaramba
#23 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 10:36:59 AM

I hear guyz saying at there will be no Kutoa lock but itakuwa kutoa mlango ifikapo jioni..
Success is 20 percent skills and 80 percent strategy
K22
#24 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 10:44:58 AM

And whatever happened to Tusker cans? Sad They have been out stock for a while now at nakumatt.....

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#25 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 10:45:33 AM

njaramba wrote:
I hear guyz saying at there will be no Kutoa lock but itakuwa kutoa mlango ifikapo jioni..

@Njaramba, hii "kutoa lock" theory, is it really true? scientifically.......
majimaji
#26 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 11:20:47 AM

I always have a ka-quarter in the car for incidents like this.

I'm not sure if government should police my throat.
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 11:33:27 AM

majimaji wrote:
I always have a ka-quarter in the car for incidents like this.

I'm not sure if government should police my throat.

You are the people Nameless is talking to. Jitolee
majimaji
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 11:56:01 AM

The label if-by-whiskey refers to a 1952 speech by Noah S. "Soggy" Sweat, Jr., a young lawmaker from the U.S. state of Mississippi, on the subject of whether Mississippi should continue to prohibit (which it did until 1966) or finally legalize alcoholic beverages:

My friends, I had not intended to discuss this controversial subject at this particular time. However, I want you to know that I do not shun controversy. On the contrary, I will take a stand on any issue at any time, regardless of how fraught with controversy it might be. You have asked me how I feel about whiskey. All right, here is how I feel about whiskey:

If when you say whiskey you mean the devil's brew, the poison scourge, the bloody monster, that defiles innocence, dethrones reason, destroys the home, creates misery and poverty, yea, literally takes the bread from the mouths of little children; if you mean the evil drink that topples the Christian man and woman from the pinnacle of righteous, gracious living into the bottomless pit of degradation, and despair, and shame and helplessness, and hopelessness, then certainly I am against it.

But, if when you say whiskey you mean the oil of conversation, the philosophic wine, the ale that is consumed when good fellows get together, that puts a song in their hearts and laughter on their lips, and the warm glow of contentment in their eyes; if you mean Christmas cheer; if you mean the stimulating drink that puts the spring in the old gentleman's step on a frosty, crispy morning; if you mean the drink which enables a man to magnify his joy, and his happiness, and to forget, if only for a little while, life's great tragedies, and heartaches, and sorrows; if you mean that drink, the sale of which pours into our treasuries untold millions of dollars, which are used to provide tender care for our little crippled children, our blind, our deaf, our dumb, our pitiful aged and infirm; to build highways and hospitals and schools, then certainly I am for it.

This is my stand. I will not retreat from it. I will not compromise
#29 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 12:06:24 PM

@majimaji...nice one!
racasem1
#30 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 12:24:18 PM

That Kenya is becoming something else. When am thinking of coming back home knowing that I"ll not be working for the rest of my life, thats when they decide to bring up this shitty ass rule?? This is ridiculous.
Bugatti
#31 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 12:35:41 PM

there is one spirit i saw imeandikwa "NEVER WALK ALONE" !!!What ever it means i dont really know
#32 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 3:15:49 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
I am in Mombasa for a few days.

After a VERY hot morning, we decided to go to the Castle Hotel at lunch time.

While we were looking at the menu, I ordered a baridi Tusker. To my horror, I was informed that the new drinking rules dont allow them to serve any pombe before 5 pm. !!!!

I dont know if this rule applies to all the beach hotels.

If so, we are going to KILL our tourist market, just when it has started to recover.

Why are we doing this. Anyone know ?

Thanks.

@MatataMingi, Are you sure the Hotel people are not confused, I stand corrected, but my understanding was that it is the Bars that have to remain closed until 5.00pm (hence can't sell beer) however, if you are having lunch at a restuarant, then you can surely have your meal with a beer/wine within the designated lunch hours.

Surely the spirit of the law should restrict itself to licencing and not to taking away the rights of individuals to choose what they consume. If the new law restricts one to taking your mid-day meal with a soft drink, then it is indeed a silly law and I don't support it.
#33 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 3:35:29 PM

Funny this thread is now under the "economy" section....
#34 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 4:00:09 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
I am in Mombasa for a few days.

After a VERY hot morning, we decided to go to the Castle Hotel at lunch time.

While we were looking at the menu, I ordered a baridi Tusker. To my horror, I was informed that the new drinking rules dont allow them to serve any pombe before 5 pm. !!!!

I dont know if this rule applies to all the beach hotels.

If so, we are going to KILL our tourist market, just when it has started to recover.

Why are we doing this. Anyone know ?

Thanks.

@MatataMingi, Are you sure the Hotel people are not confused, I stand corrected, but my understanding was that it is the Bars that have to remain closed until 5.00pm (hence can't sell beer) however, if you are having lunch at a restuarant, then you can surely have your meal with a beer/wine within the designated lunch hours.

Surely the spirit of the law should restrict itself to licencing and not to taking away the rights of individuals to choose what they consume. If the new law restricts one to taking your mid-day meal with a soft drink, then it is indeed a silly law and I don't support it.

Try telling that to a policeman. This is Kenyasmile
Ric dees
#35 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 4:39:33 PM

Frankly this is just depressing!! will be in the 254 from next weekend and WTF is all all i can say.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
The Merchant
#36 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 5:01:57 PM

TRhis is BS! Kwani we are in China or a fre@@4%^&^ Arab country! hOW WILL BANNING ME FROM HAVING A BEER WITH MY LUCH SAVE THOSE MEN WHO ARE DRINKING CHANG'AA IN THE VILLAGE at any time!!! Crap! Very reatarded law. Crap! I would say more but Im too pissed to be eloquent enough!!!!!
DonBen
#37 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 9:55:39 AM

No so fast gents and ladies....you have 9 whole months to adjust. No one can be arrested for the time being. This is what most drinkers and pub owners do not know.

CHAPTER 4 of 2010 - ALCOHOLIC DRINKS CONTROL ACT

70. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Act to the contrary, a person who, immediately before the commencement of this Act-

(a) was ,in accordance with any law, a manufacturer, importer, exporter, distributor or retailer of any alcoholic drink shall be deemed to be a manufacturer, importer, exporter, distributor or retailer of any alcoholic drink under this Act;

(b) was a manufacturer, importer, exporter, distributor or retailer of any alcoholic drink or the owner or manager of any premises contemplated under this Act, shall, within nine months of such commencement, comply with the requirements of this Act.

Until June 2011, the police cannot legally arrest and charge anyone, and everything will continue as industry players use the grace period to adjust and comply.

I can bet my last $$$ that before we reach June 2011, one of our thirsty judges will issue orders outlawing this draconian and poorly researched act.

Watch this space.
#38 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 11:11:29 AM

Saw that naivasha pig on churchill. It wants us to lead its pathetic white collar life, thus colonizing us n curtailing our freedom....it should be whipped. This lousy law reminds me of Shamba la wanyake n the ridiculous rules
#39 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 12:19:41 PM

Asante to the new law... Now I will spend less in bars & drink more at home... lakini I will drink...
#40 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 12:39:14 PM

Asante to the new law... Now I will spend less in bars & drink more at home... lakini I will drink...

I bet and teach your kids your alcoholic ways!!!!