Market
Pennywise
A guide to imporing cars from Japan
mukiha wrote:What I cant understand is why KRA doesn't have a duty calculator on their website; or do they? @ Mukiha 1.First check the CRSP price for the vehicle here http://www.kra.go.ke/notices/New_CRSP_List-09.xls
2. Once you get the crsp FOR THE VEHICLE YOU want, enter the figure in the valuation templete depending on whether the vehicle attracts Excise duty, VAT or Import duty. All passenger vehicles attract all the duty regimes. Hence you would enter the CRSP figure you get in Cell D18 of the valuation templete in this link; http://www.kra.go.ke/cus...%20Motor%20Vehicles.xls
3.The customs value calculated using the templete is then compared to the CIF value (cost of the vehicle + freight + Marine Insurance) . KRA then picks whichever is higher. 4. If CIF is lower than the Customs value, you will pay the amount as indicated in the templete. 5. If CIF is higher than Customs value, then simply enter that value in place of customs value. 6.IDF is 2.25% of CIF/Customs value. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
half_empty wrote:Good stuff VJ. Once paid extra duty after being told that the first payment was rejected by KRA for being insufficient. Something to do with the model having more specs compared to the one listed on CRSP. Now wondering whether my clearing agent set me up. No I don't think your agent set you up. If the the specs of the car (esp. CC/ V6 or V8 etc) are higher than listed on the KRA's CRSP list, they will charge you more... not sure how they decide on the figure but they will come up with one (in some cases, the next model up or nearest higher model). ...but if your clearing agent was 'clued up' he would have told you that it would cost more (even if he/she did not know how much more).
How does KRA come up with CRSP of vehicles which are out of production?The eight year old cars being imported cannot be found in local showrooms as new??
Rank: New-farer Joined: 9/6/2010 Posts: 97 Location: nairobi, kenya
JkMwatha wrote:half_empty wrote:Good stuff VJ. Once paid extra duty after being told that the first payment was rejected by KRA for being insufficient. Something to do with the model having more specs compared to the one listed on CRSP. Now wondering whether my clearing agent set me up. No I don't think your agent set you up. If the the specs of the car (esp. CC/ V6 or V8 etc) are higher than listed on the KRA's CRSP list, they will charge you more... not sure how they decide on the figure but they will come up with one (in some cases, the next model up or nearest higher model). ...but if your clearing agent was 'clued up' he would have told you that it would cost more (even if he/she did not know how much more). Mwatha is quite right, KRA customs agents normally inspect the car before releasing it, if they find it to have higher specifications like a bigger engine or additional premium features they tend to use the CRSP value of a car of the brand that will usually have the higher specifications. for example the 1800cc Nissan Sunny FB15 is not listed in the CRSP list hence you will pay duty based on the CRSP value of the Nissan Bluebird as it has identical feature to the 1800cc Sunny. However such cases of revaluation are not very common as the CRSP is quite detailed. If clearing agents are to set you up, they conspire with KRA agents to derail the clearing process, so that you have to fetch some kitu kidogo(which both will eat) to bring the process back on track. There are also some who ask unsuspecting customers for money to pay for non-existent charges. @Chaka: KRA gets the CRSP list from the Kenya Motor Industry Association(KMI), but how prices of discontinued motor vehicle are obtained is a mystery to me. Perhaps they use the price of the car when it was available in the showroom and appreciate that price according to current inflationary trends. Before you can be be old and wise, you must first be young and stupid.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
This guys at KRA are becoming smarter. Recently brought in a car and had to pay an extra 100K in duty because my car has leather seats. Showroom difference in price for the fabric and non fabric model is 600K. Gone are those days when they just used to look at the model and not the extras. If your car has turbo, the same applies. However, you can calculate the exact duty if you have all the facts beforehand.
Tebes wrote:mukiha wrote:What I cant understand is why KRA doesn't have a duty calculator on their website; or do they? @ Mukiha 1.First check the CRSP price for the vehicle here http://www.kra.go.ke/notices/New_CRSP_List-09.xls
2. Once you get the crsp FOR THE VEHICLE YOU want, enter the figure in the valuation templete depending on whether the vehicle attracts Excise duty, VAT or Import duty. All passenger vehicles attract all the duty regimes. Hence you would enter the CRSP figure you get in Cell D18 of the valuation templete in this link; http://www.kra.go.ke/cus...%20Motor%20Vehicles.xls
3.The customs value calculated using the templete is then compared to the CIF value (cost of the vehicle + freight + Marine Insurance) . KRA then picks whichever is higher. 4. If CIF is lower than the Customs value, you will pay the amount as indicated in the templete. 5. If CIF is higher than Customs value, then simply enter that value in place of customs value. 6.IDF is 2.25% of CIF/Customs value. Is it not possible to have an automated system where I enter the details of the vehicle; make model, year, extras etc and get the duty estimate? A kind of marriage between the two excel sheets? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Hi guys, anyone ever bought a unit from http://www.beforward.jp/seem to have very cheap albeit not very good grade of cars
Rank: Member Joined: 1/16/2010 Posts: 672 Location: nairobi
@wakandi....yes They are ok and have good prices.....only that you need to carefully check on millage and condition from the pics they display. Negotiate kabisa.....then speed / push them when it comes to shipping! All the best. God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
i wish to import a nissan sunny B15. Which duty regimes do this vehicle have ie betw excise, import and VAT is charged. Some one assist me
@Bartum All passenger cars charged Import duty, Excise duty and VAT. Yes, B15 included. Its only pick-ups and lorries that dont have Excise duty but still are charged import duty and VAT. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Tebes wrote:@Bartum
All passenger cars charged Import duty, Excise duty and VAT. Yes, B15 included. Its only pick-ups and lorries that dont have Excise duty but still are charged import duty and VAT. @tebes i have heard people usually say total tax is about 74% of CIF, i dont know weather this is true.
bartum wrote: i have heard people usually say total tax is about 74% of CIF, i dont know weather this is true.
this is what you've heard..... The taxation figures Import duty is 25% of CIF value. Excise Duty 20% of (CIF+Import duty value) VAT is 16% of (CIF +import duty value + Excise Duty value).
Calculate cumulatively Import Duty+Excise Duty+V.A.T will work out to 74% .....But just to let you know that this is not necessarily how it will be worked out KRA hardly ever use CIF values.... This is because CIF values are usually lower than the depreciated value as would be calculated using the CRSP table and valuation Template (as indicated by Tebes in post#21 above). In some cases you will find that the toal tax is more than the CIF value... even as high as 130% of CIF. In fact with all the cars I have sent from UK, I have never been required to produce an invoice/CIF valuation etc. All KRA/clearing agents have needed is 1. Logbook, 2. Jevic Certificate (KRWI) 3. Bill Of Lading.
JkMwatha wrote:bartum wrote: i have heard people usually say total tax is about 74% of CIF, i dont know weather this is true.
this is what you've heard..... The taxation figures Import duty is 25% of CIF value. Excise Duty 20% of (CIF+Import duty value) VAT is 16% of (CIF +import duty value + Excise Duty value).
Calculate cumulatively Import Duty+Excise Duty+V.A.T will work out to 74% .....But just to let you know that this is not necessarily how it will be worked out KRA hardly ever use CIF values.... This is because CIF values are usually lower than the depreciated value as would be calculated using the CRSP table and valuation Template (as indicated by Tebes in post#21 above). In some cases you will find that the toal tax is more than the CIF value... even as high as 130% of CIF. In fact with all the cars I have sent from UK, I have never been required to produce an invoice/CIF valuation etc. All KRA/clearing agents have needed is 1. Logbook, 2. Jevic Certificate (KRWI) 3. Bill Of Lading. thanks alot man
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/13/2010 Posts: 869 Location: Nairobi
Very useful info VJ and thanks. What of trade car view? ....above all, to stand.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 9/6/2010 Posts: 97 Location: nairobi, kenya
Ms Mkenya wrote: What of trade car view?
Tradecarview is simply a platform that links international buyers to car exporters located mainly in Japan, it is something similar to e-bay. you have to be careful about buying from tradecarview as quite a number of people have fallen victim to fictitious sellers who pose as legitimate exporters on the site and dupe you out of your hard earned money. However majority of the sellers are legitimate but you should explore the prices and efficiency of the export process by various sellers. Before you can be be old and wise, you must first be young and stupid.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/24/2010 Posts: 236 Location: nairobi
@vj Do you know the taxation for hybrid cars. I imported a toyota prius and ended up paying one and a halve times import tax of the cif value. I heard that they ague it consumes less fuel, hence less fuel tax, they have put a higher import tax. Any idea?
@innovator; the CRSP of the Prius is Sh3,500,000.... same as a Toyota Harrier! Starting from 3.50m, your taxes should be about: 370k for 7 - 8 yrs old 494k for a 6 -7 yrs 617k for 5 -6 yrs etc So how old was yours? the tax calculation has nothing to do with fuel consumption. It has everything to do with the VALUE of the car.... and note that VALUE is not necessarily what you paid for it!! If you were given the car free of charge, you would still have to pay the import taxes. In that case the taxes are an infinite % of the CIF!!! Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/24/2010 Posts: 236 Location: nairobi
Thanks mukiha, you have put it very clear, it was actually 7 years with a very good deal, cif value.
The car is the best i have ever driven, pocket friendly and very smooth, runability.
@innovator; You are welcome. How is the fuel consumption? Two catches about hybrid cars: [1] They are very expensive to buy compared to similar sized petrol or diesel versions; [2] The batteries last about 10 years and a replacement battery will cost upwards of US$5,000. But have no fear; you can still drive it after the battery dies off, only that it will not be a hybrid any more.... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
So... what does this mean? The 7-year old Prius' battery (assuming its the original one) will give you another 3 yrs? But not to worry... keeping in mind that as more hybrid vehicles take to the road, reclaimed batteries (from wrecked/salvage/write-off cars) with plenty of life will become more available. I have seen some used batteries eg. one selling at below ksh100k off a 2007 model. I'm not sure how replacement works...requiring replacing the ECU or some other configuration etc. I know most sellers expected you to give them your old battery... otherwise the replacement will cost more.
Market
Pennywise
A guide to imporing cars from Japan