No freebies, no frills, AGMs
#11 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:48:02 PM

true dat!
My 2 cents
#12 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:53:42 PM

A share consolidation of 1:10 would raise the dividend to 2/= per share. Safcom should consider consolidation.
#13 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 3:02:57 PM

PKoli wrote:

I am sure if safcom share was trading at 12 bob, investors who bought at 5 bob will not be asking for dividends day in day out. The problem is it has not compensated those investors who went during the IPO. Stagnant at the neighbourhood of 5 bob.

Safaricom is not an NGO why should it compensate its shareholders for the slow share appreciation.

Come to think of it if for instance safaricom was to give a 0.50c per share as dividends all its profit for the year would be wiped out and still borrow to service the dividends.
Jamani
#14 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 3:14:22 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
A share consolidation of 1:10 would raise the dividend to 2/= per share. Safcom should consider consolidation.

I hope people pumped some sense to management that they will be thinking in this direction am reminded though that this move is not support by law so someone should be pushed to work on it
PKoli
#15 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 3:17:23 PM

selah wrote:
PKoli wrote:

I am sure if safcom share was trading at 12 bob, investors who bought at 5 bob will not be asking for dividends day in day out. The problem is it has not compensated those investors who went during the IPO. Stagnant at the neighbourhood of 5 bob.

Safaricom is not an NGO why should it compensate its shareholders for the slow share appreciation.

Come to think of it if for instance safaricom was to give a 0.50c per share as dividends all its profit for the year would be wiped out and still borrow to service the dividends.

I was only expressing frustrations of shareholders. Was not saying they should pay high dividends. I am a believer of capital gains growth in the share, not so much on dividends. That is why I like ARM
#16 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 4:00:39 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

thats really 2 cents worth like your name. Even if they consolidate 1:1000 there is zero effect on dividend yield.
PKoli
#17 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 5:02:57 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

thats really 2 cents worth like your name. Even if they consolidate 1:1000 there is zero effect on dividend yield.

Sparkly could be right in a sense. consolidation will reduce free float and hence stabilize the price. Shares like ARM do not have high free float and hence the price is fairly stable, usually on the upper side. Even banks like Coop and Equity have less free float than KCB and hence they tend trade at a higher price
#18 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 7:15:03 PM

Many shareholders are idiots... Jamaa buys 1,000 shares @ 5/- & expects to be fed (200/-), given freebies like T-shirts (200/-), wants a nive venue (50/- pp) & a 1/- dividend (500/-)

Kwani??? That is 950/- which is 19% ROI... Go invest in Sasanet...
#19 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 10:18:46 PM

Many shareholders are idiots... Jamaa buys 1,000 shares @ 5/- & expects to be fed (200/-), given freebies like T-shirts (200/-), wants a nive venue (50/- pp) & a 1/- dividend (500/-)

@vvs eh hee kweli kabisa. Small shareholders are an expensive bunch. Btw does cables pay sh600 for an eft to send me my ka-dividend of sh80? In that case i won't complain if they buy me an umbrella,t-shirt and lunch lol
Jamani
#20 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 12:10:14 PM

@vvs eh hee kweli kabisa. Small shareholders are an expensive bunch. Btw does cables pay sh600 for an eft to send me my ka-dividend of sh80? In that case i won't complain if they buy me an umbrella,t-shirt and lunch lol

The only way out for now is for investors with substantial shareholdings to come together and mop up all the shares with smaller shareholders, then hold on to the shares for a while. (Big fishing eating the small). I believe part of this is what pushed KQ share price to where it is. Only the small that are not hypersensitive should be left to stand and this will push the price north or stablise it