wazua Mon, Dec 8, 2025

School Survey - Fathers have failed their children
#21 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 4:10:47 AM

sheep wrote:
Home work is a waste of precious playing time.

Kwani what did the kid go to do at school?

I find it disturbing that parents pay too much attention to school work.

I feel a lot of pain when I see kids go to school on Saturday,go to tuition on holidays,wake up at 5.00am...we are being cruel to our kids.

17 yrs spent in school!!!!! learning sh*t,I would only have needed a little over ten years...wasted young life.

I agree with sheep here. Please let us not confuse this lack of enthusiasm for helping out with homework with poor parenthood. I think that fathers should spend as much time as they can with the child but I disagree that the agenda for this time spent should be set by the teacher.

I hated homework and lucky for me neither of my parents gave a damn about it either. I however knew that it had to be done and I think that is an important lesson in itself. This is your work and it is your job to figure out how, when and how to get it done. I learnt to be responsible for my actions. So I learnt to do the work at school and only go home when it was done. My parents taught me the things that were important to them and I believe this was no less an education in fact I will argue that it was a more wholesome education.

Those who use the phrase, "if you value education, you will help your children with homework" have in my opinion a very narrow view of education. Is a child less educated when he comes home and joins his mother in preparing dinner than if he comes to sit to discuss quadratic equations? I would like to be able to teach my children what I want to teach them and not have teachers determine how I will be spending time with them.

What is homework anyway? Is it not exercises of what has been taught and understood? Why then would a child need help? If they need help it means either the teacher has not taught effectively or the child is not applying himself. I take that back. I will help with homework by buying the required study material and providing a quiet room. I will also institute painful consequences for undone homework. I think by the above I will have been very helpful.

This is an inaccurate survey but I will try it anyway. How many here in Wazua got help from their parents in doing homework? How many of you feel worse off for it? Is it a lack of faith in your child's ability to know that you did just fine without help but think that they will crash if you don't help them?
#22 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 1:59:24 PM

Ati Helping with homework? If they are competent the teacher's should create enough time for exercises during school time then go over the exercise with the kids. Further homework should not be a daily thing rather more of a progress report check!

If your child comes home with homework daily then either;
1. The teachers are a bit lazy or
2. The curriculum is too wide to be covered in the provided school time

@Kusadikika
Pray Pray Pray Pray
#23 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 2:38:40 PM

I really admire men who create time for their families and spend time with their kids. It's more of a sacrifice considering they spend most of the time out there trying to put bread on the table..
rasilio
#24 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 2:40:17 PM

kweli kazi ya mama ni nini?Applause Applause

my father was fine thank you. who cares if other fathers are terrible....just ensures that my kids succeed above theirs.

come to think of it, lets have more bad fathers out there.....Applause
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:28:25 AM

rasilio wrote:
kweli kazi ya mama ni nini?Applause Applause

my father was fine thank you. who cares if other fathers are terrible....just ensures that my kids succeed above theirs.

come to think of it, lets have more bad fathers out there.....Applause

????????????????????? You clearly are a new comer....
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:54:57 AM

leona wrote:
I really admire men who create time for their families and spend time with their kids. It's more of a sacrifice considering they spend most of the time out there trying to put bread on the table..

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Blackberry
#27 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 12:08:06 PM

@kusadikikaApplause Applause Applause Applause Applause
clearly the education system is faulty and sadly the foundation classes expecially. so why has it been around all these years?

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#28 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 12:59:21 PM

@Blackberry: "expecially" Hey; wacha tu!

Lest we misunderstand, helping with homework doesn't mean showing them how to do the exercises. Perhaps the phrase itself is a misnomer.

To me it means taking an interest in what you child is doing in class. Knowing when the teacher is "slecking". Knowing when the syllabus is too large (and writing to the KIE about your concerns). I recently asked my son's teacher (through the class diary) whether she thought the word "RESOURCES" was appropriate for std 2 kids. She didn't reply. That tells me something, doesn't it?

To answer @Kusadikika; No. I did not get help with homework from my parents. They went up to std 8 of the colonial days. Still, the fact that I think "I came out alright" doesn't mean that I should subject my kids to the same.

I should try to make them better than I was. And helping with homework might help in that direction.

Always remember; actions speak louder than words. If you tell your child to take education seriously yet you don't take interest in what they are doing in class; what do you think they will learn from you?
Sigiriri
#29 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 1:20:34 PM

Homework has become a tool to beat children with. in addition to homework, morning and evening prep in day schools is the reason kids go to school as early as 6AM.

Games double lesson and a P.E lesson per week - swimming sessions to YMCA, field trips to see division boundaries, animal orphanage and numerous other activities characterised my days in Primo - when we studied 7 subjects - and still did very well.

Nowadays in addition to the preps and homework, hakuna hata activities. Children are weak and can neither kick a ball nor 'kuruka bladaa' mitaani.

Truth be told, homework doesn't make a child brighter.

Fathers, whatever way this debate goes, time with family is key - it is part of divine assignment and you cannot and should not escape - or even diminish the significance of that quality time that you MUST give your family.
#30 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 1:30:44 PM

@Mukiha/Leona,
You guys are so spot on.....Spending quality time with kids also helps you to know whether they are learning the right things......i once caught neighborhood kids (mine included) singing the all time popular kid song "mabrigan".I took time to write the actual words for them and i am always happy to hear the sing the right words.......BTW,i know there are many here who wouldn't know what the song says.
ngugifred
#31 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 2:45:43 PM

@Njunge.

Weka hiyo wimbo hapa.
callaspade
#32 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 2:59:31 PM

@njunge...now they have upgraded,they are singing the world cup song waka waka .

...but home work is a tool to assess whether you are wasting money on school fees or you put the kid behind the counter kama duka walas.You cant expect the teacher to make your kid sharper.its your job baba nani.
....non parents keep out of this discussion,just watch and learn for the future.
... for those who are talking about playing ,there is time for everything.they play for an hour and come do serious stuff after that.
....the kids also feel happy to show there parent(s) how they scored highly which is called pride.they then get rewarded and even work harder.thats called motivation.
akowally
#33 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 3:40:29 PM

atiriri wrote:
Happy fathers day njunge. Akowally is back. Hii

Hi,
Yeah, am back.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
brav
#34 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 3:45:01 PM

@guka: pass the lyrics najua "mabrigan mabrigan number 28 I wenti for-a-walko but-i now i stop on Breaakk...."

that the only part i knowd'oh!
atiriri
#35 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 3:52:00 PM

leona wrote:

Me too
wasee
#36 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 3:52:46 PM

ati waka waka

#37 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 6:42:06 PM

hahahaha!!!....Brav..Laughing out loudly .and you sing that to the Bravlets?...BK....

"Mabrigan" = Bubble gum.
#38 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 6:54:10 PM

...whereas I try as much as possible to throw my 5 cents help, I find mama doing it most of the time. But seriously kids of today amaze me...you have to supervise them to eat, to bathe, remind them to go to bed early, insist on them doing homework as if you are the one going to face the teacher the following day...surely!!! Have the teachers become too soft? Siku ile kiboko ilitembea, as Chinua Achebe would say, that is where the rain started beating us. During my time, many many years back, nobody used to remind me read for exams... I envy those parents who have responsible children!!!

While we are still at it, how do you instill discipline into children who are being influenced by bad neighbours, TV etc
#39 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 7:04:55 PM

Njung'e... I am learning today that "Babrigan" is bubble gum!!! Lord have mercy!

Yes, post the whole song here...
#40 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 7:17:06 PM

@Magigi,

For three cold beers...lol!!