wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

DANGER AT NIC/ BUNYALA ROUNDABOUT
#21 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2010 8:44:11 AM

Good people,

It is sad that this is just a small tip of the iceberg on crime in the city. I think that the reason this had been given so much prominence compared to others is the perceived position in society of aviators. You will agree that a small cesnna crash even non fatal will attract more news attention than a motorcyle accident that kills three in Emali for example.
I believe that everything has a purpose, even death. I pray that this event will make us change our ways. What was dicussed earlier on this thread, that the police know the hotspots and do nothing or arrest the goons then they release them is horrible. For the OCS Industrial area to continue occupying office as guys are murdered in the area is IMPUNITY and so is everyone else even to the Minister who should have acted to find a solution but is still watching. These guys should be actually tried and sentenced for failure to perform the job we are paying them to do.Do you think that the guy would be in that office now if the presidential motorcade was held up in the MSA road traffic for five minutes?

Xtina raised a valid point of arguement that these guys are looking for their daily bread. Well it depends on which angle of criminal psychology , European or American you are looking at.

The only solution to this this is an all inclusive growth in the economy where every person can earn their bread above board.As long as there is kid wailing of hunger pangs at night, no one is secure!
#22 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2010 9:07:25 AM

Xtina, I do not want to trivialize people being killed in the slums, but most of us know life in the slums is chaotic and dangerous. We all know the difficulties of life below the poverty line and this is why everyone tries to “get ahead” in life and perhaps make a better life for themselves. This is a fundamental cornerstone of human society development. When someone up the class strata develops, it fizzles down, and the reverse is also true. Humans should work as a group to the collective benefit of each other. There is a charity group in SK trying to make positive changes. Many rich and poor alike do not like it when someone who is “getting ahead” is killed for nonsensical reasons. I sense a lot of naivety in your arguments, reality will teach you otherwise. Ponder the following:-

1. You say “they kill the rich when they want attention”. NOT ONLY THE POOR KILL FOR MONEY OR GREED. The rich also do it, and the number of good poor people outweighs the bad by far. Murder is murder. These guys do not take a strong philosophical position when killing a rich man and then change when raping and killing a fellow slum dweller, you are kind of very lost there.
2. “They are just young, hopeless dudes looking for a meal. They do not do it on purpose” and “Believe it or not, by looking at extent of injuries on a corpse/extent of viciousness, you can tell whether murder was intentional or the attack was just meant to impair the victim. For most cases, it is just meant to impair
People have debated acts of killings for years and have found no justification for a victim’s death in such circumstances except to classify it murder. Unless they are all insane (not hopeless) these are murderers, I think you need to study a bit of law or speak to a lawyer to understand, if I come to your house on a robbery mission carrying a knife to scare you and in the process of a struggle you die “accidentally”, What will the judge call it? What will you call it?. You have not discovered anything new here.
3. “And there is nothing like ‘senseless death’. Death is not supposed to make sense; it is just supposed to happen.” Well People have learnt how to control “senseless death” over the years through punishment of the perpetrators or their removal from the gene pool by hanging (Except Kibaki and Moi who are scared of signing orders). This controls murderous deaths “just happening” as you say.

Xtina, there is no justification for murder; there is no reason why someone should be killed by another beyond what society has agreed are justifiable circumstances to kill.
kazikwisha
#23 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2010 10:44:40 AM

@djagame that is a very good suggestions any idea on how we can get magnet ventures or adopt a light onto Sundays march?forget the local authorities they have been known not to do anything.
hapa saa hii leo
#24 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2010 10:54:44 AM

Good people

I don't imagine @Xtina is trying to downplay the death of the guy. She is trying to give the bigger picture and show us where these guys are coming from.

Tell you what; If your child cries of hunger pangs to the point of giving then alcohol to get them to sleep, I could assure you that Killing someone to keep yourself from jail if they were to identify you as the robber is not that big a deal.

Thank God everyday that you have food for yourself and family, Be very grateful.Crossing the line is very very easy.
#25 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2010 11:43:34 AM

a little mole tells me NTV was at the scene this afternoon, found dens huko chini...
franc5
#26 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2010 12:03:33 PM

How to avoid being mugged:Shame on you

1-Get home early.Obvious but not done by most of us.
2-Check your car every morning.When you are about to leave a joint,check your car again.This is where you benefit if you dont drink.If you do,have one sober guy to do so.Check mostly the tyres n fuel.
3-Get fit.Join a gym,train.Know how to run.Know how to swim.Know how to jump-It may save your life.
4-Be alert.By all means,be on your guard.
5-If attacked,chances are 99% the attacker is not alone.While running(go to the gym!) visualise the possible escape routes.
6-By all means,do not be hit on the head.You will lose conscious and that makes things hard for you.
7-Buy a gun(prices start from 120k). It is a worth it investment but you need to be alert to use it effectively.

Your security is in God's care and your hands-forget the cops.

Kind regards.
Kamaa
#27 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2010 12:23:23 PM

murder is murder and it's NEVER sweet!
we all condemn it and hope that it's a wake up call for the govt to protect its citizenry..!

as regards the publicity of this murder vs slum's murder,IMHO,i think the same reason that prevents a colourful wedding of two slum dwellers to be featured on the 'wedding show' program aired by the citizen tv, applies on this one!

lets not complain, as said earlier a murder is a murder and hope for the apprehension of the goons.
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
xtina
#28 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2010 3:04:28 PM

@kazikwisha…..of course you were affected by his death, just like hundreds of families of people out here who have lost their spouses and family to these gangs. His blood was not in vain but so were the others. For your protest rally, how about including other people who have also lost their loved ones through murderous gangs? And Djagame has raised a true point. It is a short term solution. As soon as it is over, everyone will go back to the normal lives. Kenyans and selective amnesia are synonymous.

@All, GET THE BIGGER PICTURE. All I am saying is, enough people are murdered every day in the city. Insecurity is EVERYWHERE, not just on our roads. What I am asking is, why is this particular case making news? From what I see at my hospital, the only time people making noise is when it happens to the middle/ upper class. You may not like what I say, but I am just being realistic.

Good luck with the demo. I hope something will be stirred somewhere

kazikwisha
#29 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 7:33:04 AM

if you make enough noise some one somewhere listens,thanks to every one who's contributing to this,a couple of media houses have picked it up lets keep this up lets make our neighborhoods and roads safe
hapa saa hii leo
Ric dees
#30 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 7:49:05 AM

RIP Martin,

This indeed is a sad situation and a worrying trend seems to have developed overtime. Allow me to play the devil's advocate here.

Everytime i am on holidays in the country, i volunteer my time and services with a christian organisation called CRF, and my preffered location is always mathare slums.I abandon all the entrapments of the modern world and own the cause.Overtime i have come to understand the way of the slums and though it is not acceptable i can understand.

Case in point i have worked closely (2 years) with one Vitalis Ochieng - Mechanical engineer graduate and gangster, His mother is a prostitute, his dad well no-one knows and they are 8 siblings with only hime having gotten an education through blood,sweat,tears and well you know what else.In his own words the world favours the strong and courageous, 3of his sisters have children and last time he posed a question and it was, "Maze majunior hawajamanga siku mbili,ukienda jiji unacheki wadhii wamebeba manakumatt, ukiomba wanakuangalia na macho mbaya utado" I had a million and 1 things to tell him but like i said i try and see it in his own world and trust me my conclusion was not far from his.

I have tried what you call social psycho support though am not trained in this,and clarify that he has two work twice as hard as everyone else and that the world is not fare...but i hope it's not an exercise in futility thats why i keep on going back.And in my opinion this is where the root cause is, let it not be us against them but lets embrace them as our brothers and sisters and fight for a better tomorrow.

What saddens me most is the look in his eyes, like when you look at a lion in captivity it has those sad droopy eyes, for he did what was required ie go to school and get an education and the rest will be sorted..but look at where he is and as usual when we part ways and in his own words he says "Narudi works" my heart sinks but in my own zeal, i soldier own as am not captive to the past as tomorrow will be a different day and who knows....

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
veteran
#31 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 8:25:54 AM

...insecurity has increased at a very alarming rate I think for the last two years, I have moved neighborhoods but everywhere you go, crime is still there albeit of different kind, I tend to think that if youth were to get some sort of satisfaction with their lives; jobs, family, life, crime would reduce by a bigger margin, so the solution would be to empower the youth... create jobs, give loans ...
#32 Posted : Sunday, January 31, 2010 7:58:00 AM

Seriously,this particular police officer is obviously an idiot.If there are particular times we are not supposed not to be the road,then,this jinga officer should close the road all together.....It says so much about the attitude of our police force.I wish this gets the attention of Iteere.The best he can do Kenyans is to transfer this thing to Hargeisa for life or better still ,sack the heartless idiot......Bure kabisa!!...NKT!!d'oh!

http://www.nation.co.ke/...42/-/vpwp1b/-/index.html
#33 Posted : Sunday, January 31, 2010 1:30:53 PM

Talk of a 24 hour economy with such njingas around shows you how far we have to go. What of the guy who was killed at 7 pm? Was it at the wrong time of the night?
#34 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 6:21:31 AM

just couldnt believe the officer's comments. Such a callous and unprofessional attitude...from which deep pit latrine was this neanderthal excavated? nktest!
mali ya nguvu
#35 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 7:45:16 AM

Our officers need just to visit Kigali city and see what it means to guarantee security to citizens.Patrols are not done in cars but walking in a pack of six silent no non sense military police.Right there you can even walk ten kilometres on foot without any danger......Huyo askari very insensitive na nibure kabisa!
Kamaa
#36 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 7:48:05 AM

marto surely didn't die in vain...
they are planning to put up a police post and some street light along the makaburini area...
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Zakumi
#37 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 9:32:11 AM

My heart deeply goes out to Martin's family...and no words can describe the gratitude i have for the initiative they've taken to build a police post and lit up the area.

Its almost certain these disgruntled members of our society will shift base if pushed to to the wall...coz clearly what needs to be done is addressing the core issue here being "unemployment" but its encouraging to see someone is trying in his/her only little way to make things different.

As for that clueless cop,he should know that kenyans view the police in the same light as robbers,whichever you meet when alone you are screwed.
The Strong Do What They Want,The Weak Do What They Must!
callaspade
#38 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 9:40:09 AM

mediocre police force....should arrive with dogs,seal off area,arrest the goons.
use mobile phone to track the goons.
lay a trap and catch(better if they shoot) the goons.
we cant turn the whole country into a police post,thats crap.
we just need to insist that the force styles up.
now i have to think hard about endangering myself by being out late in the night.what nonsense !
the police force must invest in intelligent officers and crime preventive methods.
do we have qualified officers and if so,what they display is the biggest shame of a country like ours.
what happens in kiganjo ??
are they only trained how to run and use rungus/stones on demos ??
why cant they watch a programme like the first 48 in csi in all police canteens ?? they will learn something.
But they should also be bought enough bullet proof vests ,this "goons" who are supposed to provide security.
Unfortunately the police force has always been used by politicians to dump all their foolish kinsmen and we have to live by that.

callaspade
callaspade
#39 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 10:00:05 AM

look at the police website..wanted persons are like 10 from PEV and one related to fazul or faisal(they are all the smae to me).
why cant they post pics of suspects and the public can then help .
are they implying that there are no robbery suspects in Kenya ??
and please stop this line of unemployement....majority of the goons who rob started in school, from their neigbourhoods,they graduated in cells and prisons.
the polce force is also full of thugs as we all know.
there are also alot of people who work and violently steal day in ,night out.
surprisingly ,most residents know who is a thef among them.
make the rewards more attractive and confidential and the people will talk.
this are facts good people.
where is the intelligence ?????????
#40 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 10:12:23 AM

Sorry guys, I really feel for the late young man but - and I stand to be cOLLected - I have to go against the grain on the need for a police post at the site because:

- the site where Martin was murdered is actually between 2 police stations (Industrial Area police station and Nyayo Police post).
Mark you, the scene of Martin's attack is BARELY a kilometre from both stations.
- Even hardly 100 mtrs from both stations, the chances of you being mugged are seriously good! If in doubt try shopping at Nakumatt Mega and try get a mat at the Lusaka bus stage just outside Toyota Kenya at around 8.30pm. You will be lucky if untouched a half hr later. I should know because barely a month ago it happened to a young lad I know at 7pm. Mind you, Nyayo police post is barely 50 mtrs away, yet the Lusaka stage muggings have been happening for years. So both police post/station have proved they are NOT a solution.

- there are other equally such dangerous spots in Nbi. Logistically and financially, can we be able to put up a police post at each of them? Methinks no.

The issue unaddressed therefore is simply police inefficiency/ unwillingness to act.

Me and u know the nasty thug spots and yet we are mere raias bogged down with their own day-to-day shughulis, so u can bet those (police/criminal intelligence officers) specifically employed to know and do something abt such spots know everything about the spot and the full CVs of the riff raff operating there.
Don't ask me though what they do or dont do with that info...