wazua Thu, Apr 23, 2026

How does one Calculate Taxable income?
meshaque
#11 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 8:51:52 AM

the sage
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 1:29:31 PM

@Anasazi I think you are taking this give unto Ceaser thing too far.
the sage
#13 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 8:41:39 AM

@Mukiha and Bksimat, if you own an Mpesa oulet how do you calculate VAT? Or do you apply for ToT since it is likely that you will generate less than Sh5 millioj in turnover.
I fear the taxman more than rabbies, so I want to be very careful.
Chaka
#14 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 9:34:00 AM

I think is high time 'michango' were made tax deductible i.e contributions towards medical expenses,school fees,funerals etc....
#15 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 12:37:30 PM

@the sage; The M-Pesa outlet would qualify for TOT...if this is the only line of income you have.

But the ask yourself whether the profit margin is greater than 30%. If not, you might end up paying higher tax through TOT than through normal Income Tax.

There is no VAT on agent's commissions from M-Pesa. So no need to worry about it.

Don't fear the tax man. Look out in the press for KRA Taxpayer Seminars. They are very educative.

the sage
#16 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 2:22:15 PM

Thanks Mukiha. I'm a stickler for order because I do not want to be asked, "You knew the rules..." I'll try and go for one of those seminars, I could learn a lot.
It is good to share information;

Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.

Buddha
KarugaEdwin
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 09, 2014 7:11:55 AM

Hi

Try this PAYE Income Tax Calculator - http://www.calculator.co...e-income-tax-calculator/
kiterunner
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 24, 2014 12:37:06 AM

www,aren.co.ke
our goals are best achieved indirectly