wazua Sun, Dec 1, 2024

Safaricom
Djinn
#21 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 8:10:00 AM

@ptor - I DO NOT THINK SO and I have said as much (and why) in other posts on this site. Telkom are carrying the day in data,even Access are starting to falter...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
cxz
#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 8:29:00 AM

@mwenza,when you receive money from zap to mpesa or vice versa,the sms contains a transaction code which the zap or mpesa agent feeds to their phone. After the code is confirmed by the system,it gets expired. You then receive a text on your confirming the code is valid,then the agent pays you the amount. Just same way you cannot top up with one scratch card more than once,you cant use the sms to withdraw from another agent

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
#23 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 9:15:00 AM

@ cxz

Thanx

WOULD RATHER DIE FIGHTING 4 MY RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS
#24 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 12:47:00 PM

I understand that all transaction costs from zap to zap and to Mpesa cost 10 bob? Is that true irrespective of the amount one is sending/receiving?

jerry
#25 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 3:46:00 PM

I guess also that u can't use a forwarded sms?

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 6:55:00 PM

I am waiting for the next pyramid scheme using zap or m-pesa... Kenyans never learn...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
cxz
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 4:58:00 AM

@jerry,its depends on how strict and keen the agent is. If you receive money from another network,you usually give your phone to the agent to read the transaction i.d. The text sender must be mpesa or zap. If the agent notes the text has been forwaded from a normal number,they might refuse to do the transation. Another thing,after the agent feeds the transation i.d to their phones,they also feed your phone number so that a confirmation sms can be sent to your phone number. The agent might decide to give back your phone after it has received the confirmation text

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
mtaalam
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 6:10:00 AM

@cxz

Are you saying there's no competition btwn the two operators? That it doesn't matter which network I'm with?

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
cxz
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 7:33:00 AM

@mtaalam,competition is very tight with mpesa having the upper hand in terms of agents,and registered users. Mpesa also has ATM withdrawal. If zap can add ATM withdraw,it will boost their numbers. It also costs more to send money cross networks. A mpesa user pays the sending + withdrawal fees which is higher than that of a registered user is withdrawing. If you receive money from zap and you are on mpesa,you pay 30/ more than the normal withdrawal charges. You can reverse an mpesa transaction withing minutes,last time i checked with Zap,it was 48hrs. It all depends on what you are looking for. Its good to have both services active and use whichever is convenient for you at a particular moment

jerry
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 9:46:00 AM

@cxz. Thanks. Let's say A sends money to B (B not registered). If B goes ahead and FWDs the SMS to C and C then presents the sms for payment. I should think that in the process of payment the confirmatory sms goes to B. If so and if C is paid B should not complain since it is the one that FWDed the sms. NB: Use of security code highly recommended to avoid fraud.

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
cxz
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 10:29:00 AM

@jerry,C can withdraw the money if the agent is not keen. Some agents only read the confirmation code and as your number. In this case,C will give B's phone number,but its B who will receive the confirmation sms. If the agent decides to ask C whether he/she has received a confirmation,C can just say yes,and claim the phone is on vibration mode. But also remember to receive the payment,the agent requires your i.d card

The General
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 1:51:00 PM

Mpesa is now airborne

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.