wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

6 Pages<1234>»
Olympia 2008-9 Results
longships
#21 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 10:55:00 AM

Expect a bloodbath.Plush / yokota doors just been closed by the sheriff and staff sent home.
Mainat
#22 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 11:28:00 AM

Longsips-where is the link to your story? No offence,but you haven't posted before...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
slykat
#23 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 11:29:00 AM

@ Longships

Please elaborate and tell us your source.

When buying shares,ask yourself,would you buy the whole company?
longships
#24 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 11:52:00 AM

Plush staff phoning me and asking me for jobs.I am their opposition in South Africa.

Have posted once before.The writing has been on the wall for a long time.

Hi-Lo
#25 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 12:12:00 PM

...longships...what's the website for plush? Sounds like a true storo...

Playing the stock market without insider info...is like buying a cow in the moonlight.
Mainat
#26 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 12:37:00 PM

Haiya. Is Vitu in the house (Olympia is his baby)? This Plush accounts for half of Olympia's turnover...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#27 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 12:59:00 PM

I'm not leaving this one in a hurry!!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
slykat
#28 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 2:37:00 PM

@Longslips

what is the name and website of your company?

longships
#29 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 2:47:00 PM

Website on olympias opening webpage. Has not been operating for some time. Word on the street here is that the bank put them in.
longships
#30 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 3:14:00 PM

My companies name is Kirtech. We are affiliated to Rufflette in the UK. We distribute and manufacture Rufflette products in Africa south of the equator. Website under construction.
wkisoi
#31 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 3:38:00 PM

My best advice,I have related with this company and I can tell you there is nothing going on. Their market is definately under threat,cant think of one innovative manager and is highly leveraged. The silence in the company reminds me of the time a South African guy was running Uchumi,the funny thing the mzungu is still here doing I dont know what and Uchumi was in a death bed until rescued by Ciano.
Run from this stock is my best advice.

All that matters is character
longships
#32 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 6:02:00 PM

I have just heard that Natwood liquidated this afternoon.
#33 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:41:00 PM

Sijui... I read the same stuff you guys do... 2 more weeks till they release results. Last year they released mwisho of month...

http://www.olympiacapital.co.ke/ is down. I was not able to load the webpage. That is like other Kenyan firms who do little website maintenance.

Lakini as for longships... sijui... Olympia Kenya owns 51% or so of Olympia Botswana which in turn owns 72% of Plush.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#34 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:57:00 PM

Only website up & running is Natwood. I cant seem to load Olympia Kenya or Plush-Yokota. That is never a good sign.

*** Longships - I am getting worried. On the other hand,who is buying the shares on the NSE?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#35 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 8:10:00 PM

On the other hand... am I a worry-wart who is concerned about rumours by longships who may be a pumper & dumper?
* I was worried about KQ but after looking at info (on the website) in detail,it is not as bad as the Kenyan media made it out to be. KQ share price has recovered nicely & is higher than BEFORE the announcement. KQ made a commendable 'operating profit' before the hedging charge.
** A little additional research into KQ made me realize that they are in a (relatively) much stronger position vs other African airlines. Even perennial threat Emirates has backed down since travel to Dubai has dropped. Ugandan airlines are shutting down & the Nairobi-Entebbe route is 'safer' for KQ.
*** Back to Olympia. I have no idea how S.Africa is doing but the housing market has seen a downturn all over the world esp the higher-end market that Plush & Natwood serves. On the other hand,there is the PVC tile market that caters for the lower-middle class & commercial spaces that might have seen an upturn as the GoSA pushes housing.
**** Listen to the rumours but try to see if there is more than mere rumours.

slykat
#36 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 10:29:00 PM

@ Vitu

True! One cannot just act on hearsay; 'people who work there told me' or ati 'i heard'. Better to lose k coz you misread the mkt than to miss out on profits coz u flow with the wind like a flag. A company going into receivership is normally public knowledge,newspapers etc. I have my doubts about longslips.

Especially coz he is a new pinger! If it was a known pinger,I would be quaking in my boots! But who is this Longslips who hears things before all else?

nyari
#37 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2009 8:42:00 AM

I'm sticking with Olympia and actually buying more.
Worst case scenario if they were to go down... They'd definitely be a takeover bid and that's cash in my wallet.
If the rumor was true then a link would have been provided.
This must be the guy wiping out all supply!!!!
bob
#38 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2009 12:35:00 PM

This counter could be the best counter in the entire NSE when it comes to risk factor. It is only a matter of time,,,,,but only for the patient. I have been stock pilling - lowering my average cost price(8.45). just do your analysis
longships
#39 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2009 3:38:00 PM

My only interest in this forum was to establish if you knew more than myself about Olympia's South African operation. Plush/Yokota and ourselves (Rufflette) have been serious competitors in the curtain suspension product's industry.

I only posted once,along time ago to warn you that your optimism for this share based on it's South African operations might be optimistic.

I soon realized that you guys were fishing in the dark as to what was happening in South Africa

I have no shares and have never traded in this counter.

Here is a link to our up and coming wesite and feel free to Google Kirtech

http://www.zoneone.co.za/live/kirtech/

I understand your doubts but only posted to inform you what has happened.

To all you Doubting Thomas's you will not have long to wait!

This is my final word on the matter
#40 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2009 5:11:00 PM

I hope you are wrong BUT I also concede that you may know more than us since you are in the business. The website does show/tell us more. Look at KQ which had decent 1H results than wham! They showed a huge hedging loss in 2H that wiped out 1H profits & prior year profits.

* Other firms that took a huge hit in the price include Co-op Bank & Safaricom whose models remain profitable except for a few hitches.

**Please continue following this thread since we may have questions to ask you regarding the business.

*** BTW,nice website! The products look great. Perhaps Plush should have collaborated with you rather than competed!