Perfect age for marriage
Pretty
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:50:00 AM

@Sasha
• Now you sound like my aunt who lives in Canada
@Impunity
• Since August,I have been officially let to do what real adults do. Am under 25 and over 16.
• I watched Brooke Shields movie where she moves in to live with a man her dad’s age although she is 13.
• When I was 13,I used to have daydreams over adult men. Ever watched Lolita?

Stay young,keep your wheels in motion.
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
ji
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:51:00 AM

Hakuna kitu kama 'perfect' age,you are over 18 and feel like you parents have done their job of bringing u up,and someone has convinced you to cross over,then you are good to go. About the brain or lack of it....weeeell,it takes an intelligent woman to make a family.

'I never see what has been done; I only see what remains to be done.'

akowally
#23 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:56:00 AM

@ Pretty

At thirteen all kinds of people have such things. It is called adolescence. What I am wondering is if you have a good man in the picture. All you have mentioned is some stuff that shows about your parents and your views on marriage. Tell us about the man.

@ Wendz

I like your posts.

'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.” William James
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
RO
#24 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:58:00 AM

@pablo 'If you as a woman is intelligent you should use that to make your man feel as if the decisions are his.'

Isn't that a tad manipulative or at worst 'fake humility'??

Disguised Opportunity?
skodhe
#25 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 12:06:00 PM

Wendz - hiyo post yako ni safi sana. i totally agree with you.

My sister is 25 but she is not intelligent enough.

Sleeping like a littel baby
Djinn
#26 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 12:07:00 PM

@pretty - I can only comment on age in relation to having children in marriage - better marry and have kids young (19-24) then the generation gap with kids is not that big and you can relate to them. e.g. someone's mother had them when she was 39 years old and by the time someone was in puberty (12 years),said mother was too old (51) to properly cope with the hormone stuff.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Pablo
#27 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 12:11:00 PM

@ Sasha,RO & all other feminists

As pretty says about her aunty in Canada,ask a wise woman if she is happily married,then ask her what has made it work.

Next go to your intelligent woman ans ask her if she is happily married,and ask her why. And she'll tell you something like

' we are supposed to be equal,i wash dishes today he washes them tomorow'

The wise woman wll have everything she wants while your intelligent woman will just be competing and banging heads with her man.

Be wise youll be happy. Competing will give you nothing but grief!!

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
RO
#28 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 12:27:00 PM

@pablo,

Intelligence,wisdom and earning power are not mutually exclusive and often come in one package.

Feminist? LOL - throwing labels around does not help your argument in any way!

Disguised Opportunity?
skodhe
#29 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 12:32:00 PM

IT IS ONLY LOVE THAT MATTERS. NOT AGE

Pablo
#30 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 12:56:00 PM

@ RO,I take back the name calling.

#31 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:00:00 PM

@pablo

I would think wise and intelligent are synonymous. i tend to believe you are talking of the 'brain-washed-beijing-thinking kind of a woman'. An intelligent woman knows how to deal with her husband whether she earns more or less and whether she has more papers or not - she knows what to say when,where,how. thats why she is intelligent. Remember books only make you 'educated'.

@RO & Sasha

By the way,what @pablo has said (on all intelligent decisions being his)is very very true. May be unfortunate,but its a man's world.

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

Sasha
#32 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:04:00 PM

@Pablo: This was not meant to be a debate rather a discussion. Like Wendz aptly put it most men want an intelligent woman with whom they can hold a conversation. You seem to think that a woman should keep her intelligence away from your house. If that works, good for you. I rest my case!

@Wendz: Yes, but I prefer to stay away from that perception. If women deem this a man's world, and accept that this is a man's world, then they have no cause to fight for their rights. Don't get me wrong, I'm not the uppity type who thinks that men are an abomination and are not good for us. I know my place in the society and would not do anything to jeopardise it. But I will not cede this 'world' to a man!Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
akowally
#33 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:06:00 PM

Pablo might seem harsh but he truly has a point there. I am not agreeing with everything he says but men need to be shown the respect just as much as the women need to be shown love.

Just the way the Bible commands,the man is the head of the house. Anything short of this is guaranteed to bring problems. Not to say that the women are any lower,they have an equally great role,mostly the makers of the home. I therefore do not agree with feminists or chauvenists. I only agree with the Bible.

Men and women need to know and synchronize their roles in the marriage so that it is not a war between them but a flowing loving relationship.

@ Pretty,your man please. What qualities does he have. That is what should determine whether you marry him or not. It is obvious from the thirty something replies that there is no perfect age for marriage.

On a more serious note,marriage is a serious thing and I wish you all the best when you finally settle down with a spouse.

'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.” William James
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Lyra
#34 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:11:00 PM

@ all,most guys have a problem with intelligent (even in books) women.

Before you kill me,i happened to get enrolled with my then manfriend (over 30) in an MBA class just because i was scoring better than him in exams,it was that the lecturers liked me blah blah blah......... then since i have a job that demands late hours at times,its am staying late with guys etc.... got fed up of that bulls*** and called it quits,unfounded daily acussations (sp) were too much a drain on me....

Guys what exactly is the problem if the lady scores better than you or has a better job as long as she doesnt rub it in your face,was i supposed to fail to please..... God am not thick (am blessed upstairs)

'Do all the good you can,by all the means you can,in all the ways you can,
in all the places you can,to all the people you can,as long as ever you can'.
John Wesley
English Preacher (1703-1791)
John Wesley
skodhe
#35 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:17:00 PM

@Lyra.

That one is what we called inferiority Complex. The guy was suffering from IF that is why he was using your coming late as a defense mechanism.

#36 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:21:00 PM

@Sasha,

Huh! kumbe wewe ni auntie..Lol!

Pablo
#37 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:27:00 PM

@Lyra

When we get married the priest orders two things from us. For men - To love our wives,for women to obey their husbands.

Think about it why are we not told to the same thing??

For the ladies,can your husband love you unconditionally if you dont obey him unconditionally?? If you understand the answer to this as Akowally,Wendz et al have,you may start understanding the 'ego' of Men.

Lyra
#38 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:33:00 PM

@ Pablo

Forgive me but you lost me,what is in the respecting of a man got to do with exam performance and working....... life would be much better if all women were housewives and you brought home all the bread bacon etc...... the time you allowed the women to work then all hell broke loose....... Believe you me in those days economies were harder,money was less but those guys soldiered on and a happy reception was what they got after all she was at home all the time looking forward for your coming home..........

John Wesley
John Wesley
Sasha
#39 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:41:00 PM

LOL willin2learn! he he! Nimekuwa auntie leo! Hata sikujua!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
Kamaa
#40 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:47:00 PM

@akowally i concur... but at 22... unless you're a lady...

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend