wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Robert (Bob) Collymore CEO of Safaricom Passes On!!!
#21 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 2:21:43 PM

Last moments. Sad.

Mpasho wrote:
Speaking about his last moments with Bob Collymore Radio Africa CEO Patrick Quarcoo says:

ON SATURDAY PETER, ALYKHAN, BHARAT AND JEFF HAD OUR LAST MEETING WITH HIM. HE MADE US SMILE WHEN HE SAID, “I DON’T KNOW ABOUT THIS HEAVEN AND EARTH THING, BUT I TRULY HOPE THERE IS A LIFE AFTER DEATH.”

WE ASKED WHY. WITH A TWINKLE IN HIS EYE, HE SAID, “IF THERE ARE GHOSTS, I WILL COME AND RUSTLE THE CURTAINS AND ON BIRTHDAYS WHEN YOU LIGHT THE CANDLES FOR MY CHILDREN, I WILL COME AND HELP BLOW THEM OUT.”

Quarcoo adds:

HE CALMLY TOLD US, “IF I GET THREE MORE DAYS, I WILL BE LUCKY.” WE ASKED WHAT WE MUST DO, SHOULD WE PART. “STAY TOGETHER, STAND BY WAMBUI,” HE SAID.
#22 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 2:39:49 PM

Kwa kweli Bob Collymore hakuwa mjaluo. Unakufa leo na kesho umechomwa. Hakuna hata matanga!!! May Wambui and the children be comforted and be at peace. The period after the burial is the hardest.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 3:25:15 PM

Last moments. Sad.

Mpasho wrote:
Speaking about his last moments with Bob Collymore Radio Africa CEO Patrick Quarcoo says:

ON SATURDAY PETER, ALYKHAN, BHARAT AND JEFF HAD OUR LAST MEETING WITH HIM. HE MADE US SMILE WHEN HE SAID, “I DON’T KNOW ABOUT THIS HEAVEN AND EARTH THING, BUT I TRULY HOPE THERE IS A LIFE AFTER DEATH.”

WE ASKED WHY. WITH A TWINKLE IN HIS EYE, HE SAID, “IF THERE ARE GHOSTS, I WILL COME AND RUSTLE THE CURTAINS AND ON BIRTHDAYS WHEN YOU LIGHT THE CANDLES FOR MY CHILDREN, I WILL COME AND HELP BLOW THEM OUT.”

Quarcoo adds:

HE CALMLY TOLD US, “IF I GET THREE MORE DAYS, I WILL BE LUCKY.” WE ASKED WHAT WE MUST DO, SHOULD WE PART. “STAY TOGETHER, STAND BY WAMBUI,” HE SAID.

Bob was very fortunate to have passed on the way he did without a prolonged period of being bedridden which is how most cancer victims close to me have died. He was so strong and brave.
Jump-steady
#24 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 3:34:45 PM

[quote=Kusadikika]Kwa kweli Bob Collymore hakuwa mjaluo. Unakufa leo na kesho umechomwa. Hakuna hata matanga!!! May Wambui and the children be comforted and be at peace. The period after the burial is the hardest. [/quote]

True Sad Sad
#25 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 6:35:30 PM

Shak wrote:
Last moments. Sad.

Mpasho wrote:

Quarcoo adds:

Bob was very fortunate to have passed on the way he did without a prolonged period of being bedridden which is how most cancer victims close to me have died. He was so strong and brave.

Because he was getting the right treatment unlike what most people can afford which only prolongs life but in misery.

#26 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 7:56:09 PM

Shak wrote:
Last moments. Sad.

Mpasho wrote:

Quarcoo adds:

Because he was getting the right treatment unlike what most people can afford which only prolongs life but in misery.

You can't be too sure. Many times cancer treatment is worse than the disease in terms of how it affects the body in the short term It is quite possible that Bob would still be around if he had stuck with the doctor who thought he had Malaria. He would still be taking malaria pills and just chugging along.

Have you seen those old Mercedes lorries that carry goods into the bundus of DRC Congo where there are no roads? There are mechanics who know how to maintain them in their beat up state just enough to keep going. If you took the same lorry back to the engineers in Germany they would say that the lorry cannot operate. They would say that the engine needs to be overhauled or get another new one, they would definitely say to completely rebuild the suspension and body.

Our bodies are same way, they are beat up by disease and age and all manner of things. But instead of people accepting that that is how the body is and get someone to maintain in just enough to keep going they want a new body. They want to be perfect and that is when they run to doctors who promise miracles. The doctor uses a lot of English to explain how the bone marrow is diseased and not making blood. He then has fancy charts and diagrams to show you how they will excise this part and burn this part with radiation and treat this with chemotherapy and he makes you believe that he knows what he is talking about. So wanaanza kukufunguanisha at great expense.

Now if the disease had knocked you down to "negative 50" the treatment takes you to "negative 200" and then you start recovering from there. Of course you start saying that you are feeling better, but you are feeling better from a worse place. You get psyched up and you are happy to recover from "negative 200" to "negative 100". But you are still worse off than where you started at "negative 50" You fika -100 then you start getting worse again, you recover again and you get more psyched up, then you go down again, up again then down, up then at -80 you die.

Now if you had just had a guy who did not know much and just just treated the symptoms; if you have a fever anakupea Panadol, if you feel tired anakuambia upumzike, if you are thirsty he gives you water etc you will not recover but you will not deteriorate as rapidly either. The disease will takes its toll and kill you at its own pace which in my opinion is much gentler than the doctor.

With Cancer the best thing ni KUKUBALI. Just accept that life has come to an end and go in peace. Do not impoverish your family trying to look for miracles. Most times the person with cancer suffers less than the family they leave behind. If you love your family do not torture them with your treatments, sit down talk to them and accept to go in peace.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 8:36:52 PM

Shak wrote:
Last moments. Sad.

Mpasho wrote:

Quarcoo adds:

You can't be too sure. Many times cancer treatment is worse than the disease in terms of how it affects the body in the short term It is quite possible that Bob would still be around if he had stuck with the doctor who thought he had Malaria. He would still be taking malaria pills and just chugging along.

Have you seen those old Mercedes lorries that carry goods into the bundus of DRC Congo where there are no roads? There are mechanics who know how to maintain them in their beat up state just enough to keep going. If you took the same lorry back to the engineers in Germany they would say that the lorry cannot operate. They would say that the engine needs to be overhauled or get another new one, they would definitely say to completely rebuild the suspension and body.

Our bodies are same way, they are beat up by disease and age and all manner of things. But instead of people accepting that that is how the body is and get someone to maintain in just enough to keep going they want a new body. They want to be perfect and that is when they run to doctors who promise miracles. The doctor uses a lot of English to explain how the bone marrow is diseased and not making blood. He then has fancy charts and diagrams to show you how they will excise this part and burn this part with radiation and treat this with chemotherapy and he makes you believe that he knows what he is talking about. So wanaanza kukufunguanisha at great expense.

Now if the disease had knocked you down to "negative 50" the treatment takes you to "negative 200" and then you start recovering from there. Of course you start saying that you are feeling better, but you are feeling better from a worse place. You get psyched up and you are happy to recover from "negative 200" to "negative 100". But you are still worse off than where you started at "negative 50" You fika -100 then you start getting worse again, you recover again and you get more psyched up, then you go down again, up again then down, up then at -80 you die.

Now if you had just had a guy who did not know much and just just treated the symptoms; if you have a fever anakupea Panadol, if you feel tired anakuambia upumzike, if you are thirsty he gives you water etc you will not recover but you will not deteriorate as rapidly either. The disease will takes its toll and kill you at its own pace which in my opinion is much gentler than the doctor.

With Cancer the best thing ni KUKUBALI. Just accept that life has come to an end and go in peace. Do not impoverish your family trying to look for miracles. Most times the person with cancer suffers less than the family they leave behind. If you love your family do not torture them with your treatments, sit down talk to them and accept to go in peace.

It's easier said.......though I agree with you.

My shosh survived for very long with us managing symptoms only till the tumor was to big.She had cancer of the oesophagus and she had two stents fitted.But no Chemo or radiation.She went peacefully,gradually and with little pain.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 9:44:47 PM

Waaa.... @Kusadikika.Dont be too brutal with facts. BTW, are you a mortician?Pray coz I would hate to land on your tablePray
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 10:07:05 PM

This and Steve Job's death have quite some lessons. Yaani you stare death and tell it to take over while some of our jinga politicians can't visit their wardrobes alone. When they hear La Mada they take it as La Murder and add themselves bodyguards...
Ryko
#30 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 10:17:48 PM

Shak wrote:
Last moments. Sad.

Mpasho wrote:

Quarcoo adds:

Ignorance is bliss
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
#31 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2019 10:43:28 PM

Many Wazuans are the "tegemeo" of their families. If you are ever called for a cancer fundraiser just go here:

https://nairobihospice.or.ke/

and download some forms to make sure that hospice care is part of the discussion.

A while back fundraisers for Nairobi Hospice were more common but these days people have been made to believe that you only need to go to the right hospital and see the right doctor and you will be cured. Families are impoverishing themselves searching for miracle cures.

https://www.newyorker.co...2010/08/02/letting-go-2

#32 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2019 2:50:22 PM

That was a good memorial service. Even Ex UK PM Tony Blair was there. Surprised that Bobs mum and sister are "white". Also kumbe Wambui's mum is a professor. And they have some strong connections to the kenyarras.
#33 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2019 3:29:02 PM

That was a good memorial service. Even Ex UK PM Tony Blair was there. Surprised that Bobs mum and sister are "white". Also kumbe Wambui's mum is a professor. And they have some strong connections to the kenyarras.

Simple & beautifully done. UMK analilia phombe chake, nice moment.
#34 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2019 11:03:22 PM

Taken aback by Michael Joseph's speech. That Bob was a white man in a black body?? Doesn't sound right.
#35 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2019 6:36:02 PM

Shak wrote:
Taken aback by Michael Joseph's speech. That Bob was a white man in a black body?? Doesn't sound right.

What did he really mean by that?

#36 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2019 6:42:35 PM

Shak wrote:

They call them coconuts in South Africa. Completely racist if you ask me.
Hmmmn
#37 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2019 6:59:59 PM

Shak wrote:

Sounds about yt ...to me...Inherent racist views in most (not all) yt pipo...Excellence is equated to yts....Having dealt with most of them, they think it all the time...Most dont say it...I nearly picked my mouth off the floor when I heard it...
Ce n’est pas si grave...
deadpoet
#38 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2019 7:02:05 PM

Hmmmn wrote:
Shak wrote:

Sounds about yt ...to me...Inherent racist views in most (not all) yt pipo...Excellence is equated to yts....Having dealt with most of them, they think it all the time...Most dont say it...I nearly picked my mouth off the floor when I heard it...

You guys have never been called barbies?
#39 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2019 7:39:33 PM

Was also shocked to hear Michael Joseph say that Bob was a white man trapped in a black skin. He should be deported ASAP! Shindwe.
#40 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2019 8:57:30 PM

Meet Bob's first wife and kids....before Wamboi came into the piksha.