wazua Sat, Apr 25, 2026

Missed Out On 130 Million/-
#11 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 10:12:04 AM

LosAngeles~254 wrote:
Of course everybody has this type of cheap talk stories to tell about their lives of missed opportunities. So what stopped him from making more deals like the one of 24k he made then. 24k in 1977 was loads of cash my frens .......

@Angelica, ....Easy for you to say sis 'cause you didn't know him. I bet if you knew him you wouldn't type the crap you just did. I knew the man since i was a toddler...so it's not just another wazua storo with me. It's a real human i interacted with my whole life. All the best with you though.

I know who is giving us crap on this thread. What stopped him from making more deals, did he teal you apart from crying about the story of the land. Kwani buying of that land was the only opportunity he had in his life. Kwani before the land buying crazy people never used to make money. Wacheni kutubeba utoto hapa bwana with fake stories.
wukan
#12 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 10:30:57 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:
22,000 to 130 million from 1977 to 2019 i.e 42 years. That is an annualized return of 23% per year. I will stick to stocks any day and leave Migundas to Mugundamen who are ready for a 23% return every year and to wait for 42 years.

My guess is that if that 22k was invested in Equity Bank during its early days after 1993(before listing in the 2000s), it would be worth billions right now.

I believe that I can do better than 23% in the stock market in one year. Land is not such a great investment as you people put it.

Mutaga wacha jokes. SHOW US THE MONEY. Where is your 22k that you invested that made you 130m? Hindsight is always 20/20 when it comes to you and the NSE. If you cannot show us how you have made more money than Los Angeles' example, please (with all due respect) shut up!

22K in 1977 could have probably got you an acre of land in Nairobi.The same would be worth more than 130M today.

22k for an acre of land in Nairobi maybe in Dandora or Donholm or kikuyu or Kiambu road. Maisonettes in Nairobi were around 80K in 1977
rwitre
#13 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 10:31:50 AM

If that 27k had bought Bitcoin in 2010....

Achana na 130 million.

Would be worth at least 8 billion now.

In just 8 years.

Opportunities are everywhere. Hindsight is 20/20 Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
MugundaMan
#14 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 10:32:35 AM

rwitre wrote:

Achana na 130 million.

In just 8 years.

Opportunities are everywhere. Hindsight is 20/20 Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#15 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 11:02:09 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
rwitre wrote:

Achana na 130 million.

In just 8 years.

So even before he died he would have been a billionaire smile

Even the sportpesa people winners overtook the old-man wakina Abiysai el all . Hindsight 20/20 opportunities are everywhere
jmbada
#16 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 11:40:39 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
rwitre wrote:

Achana na 130 million.

In just 8 years.

Even the sportpesa people winners overtook the old-man wakina Abiysai el all . Hindsight 20/20 opportunities are everywhere

That was a great story and well written...with no concealed motive such as trying to sell plots. Ofcourse life is filled with stories of missed opportunities, this is one of them. What's the beef with his narration?
#17 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 11:48:30 AM

jmbada wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
rwitre wrote:

Achana na 130 million.

In just 8 years.

That was a great story and well written...with no concealed motive such as trying to sell plots. Ofcourse life is filled with stories of missed opportunities, this is one of them. What's the beef with his narration?

The beef is with 24k in 1977, missing one opportunity on land that was not purchased should not bring croco tears in 2019 so many years later. The old man was just bad with investment otherwise there were opportunities galore with that kind of money to turn into kshs. billions if not $$$ millionaire.

Another beef, hizo stories tumezoea bwana!!! back of envelope calculations.
Fyatu
#18 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 12:09:20 PM

How much was a single share of EABL/Kenya breweries or BAT trading in 1977. Factor in the dividends(compounded) and capital gain
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
MugundaMan
#19 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 1:13:07 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
rwitre wrote:

Achana na 130 million.

In just 8 years.

As usual you missed the joke, mama Laughing out loudly
chiaroscuro
#20 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2019 1:30:42 PM

1. Hindsight is misleading...past performance is not a guarantee of the future.

2. Undeveloped land in Kenya inflates at between 20 and 25% p.a. It's a good rate but not magical!

3. The CPI was 2.45 points in 1977. Today it is 194. Thus the "future value" sh22k sh1.74M in 2019. QUESTION: Would you take 1.74M today and buy land in some remote place where hyenas and antelopes are roaming freely?