newfarer wrote:business as usual for this hot air
This thing was dead before it started.
Reasons why it never worked even during Michuki's time;
It's goals ran counter to the corrupt police's goals. It's like telling a thief to go out there and secure the houses of people from thieves. Not in his interest at all so it will fail.
Accidents still happened even at the height of enforcement. Telling people to wear seatbelts and matatus to buy speed governors will never stop accidents. Accidents are by definition accidents - they can happen to anyone at any time regardless of how strict you are on road rules. The human heart is wicked and sinful by nature..
you cannot really legislate against an evil heart and expect it to work. This is why Nyumba Kumi failed and Huduma ID will fail even more spectacularly. Putting unneccesary, cumbersome and invasive laws that attempt to regulate human behaviour is a losers game and the people only end up resenting you more. The more they resent you the more you lose votes.
No follow through. There have been hundreds of these initiatives started with gusto then peter out to zero a few weeks months later. Remember the solar water heater decrees? The vehicles must have fire extinguishers etc laws? How will anyone take you seriously when you introduce such laws that get quickly forgotten soon after? In fact those who say these are just schemes to sell substandard products BY FORCE to wananchi by fat cats and cartels who lobby for these laws while their ships are docked in Mombasa with the goods required for the "new law"
Bure ghabisa!