wazua Sun, Jul 13, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
Cambridge Analytica- Changing face of politics?
sitaki.kujulikana
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 2:09:31 PM

The problem with tech people is that they live in a translucent bubble they can only see hazy images of what is outside that bubble.
Next these CA guys will come and tell baba if he employs their services they will have central kenya coming out in numbers to vote for him, because of some twitter messages which kameme will read out.
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 2:09:34 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Hardwood isnt a CA guy, those guys are subtle and sharp, high tech.

Hardwood is like those rungus everyone sees...must be Ole Tumbi employee/consultant.

CA guys use guys like Hardwood all the time. Fake accounts that are online 24 hours a day are their modus operandi.

Akina Itumbi, Pauline Njoroge and other jubilee bloggers are just dumb fellas. They have to wait until 2pm to be told by Cambridge Analytica what to say. They can't think for themselves.

Just like the Kenyan voter.

So I disagree, Hardwood has all the hallmarks of a Fake Account created for the sole purpose of creating discord. Controversy sells.

Then after he writes something, you have the dummies like harrdre, realty etc agreeing.

Kenyans have been had. Been took. Ran Amock. Bamboozled.

Kumbe even tyranny of numbers was a CA expression.

What Kenyans are we talking about?

This is another example of the online crowd falling in love with their own noise and thinking everyone is like them. How many Wanjiku's own a smart phone, facebook account or twirra, or even care? Yet you can bet every Wanjiku knows about ballots and how they are cast and have an idea how they are won or lost.

Wazuans should listen to Masukuma more often. We are a low-tech society led by a privileged high tech elite who think their online navel gazing is holy writ for the masses.

If socio media decided elections in Kenya, Peter Kenneth would be governor of Nairobi and Mwangi would be MP for Starehe.

My sentiments exactly. Wanjiku out there only prides herself in a simple phone that has access to mpesa (and porn), all else comes secondary to putting food on the table. Unless its a media campaign, as most if not all people watch/listen to news, then it goes unseen.

Do the tech savvy even vote?

My frens. It's ok to admit that you were had. Not using difficult words.

Ati Wanjiku is not tech savvy. Ha! Try another one. Can you name one person you know who doesn't have whatsapp? Name one Whatsapp group you know that did not spread a blatant lie for or against.

Please stop pretending that you were not had. Cases of our own media copy pasting a blatant lie in their front pages abound. I remember standard had a picture of burning cars somewhere. They said it was nasa people. The picture was from another country.

The media in Kenya just parrots what comes from the offices of PR firms. PR firms are told what to say by the idea men.

I mean Mukiri. What was the difference between reading Pauline, Wahome etc and listening to Kameme or Kass FM.

The narrative was very clear. The story was the same. Even here on wazua.

Since now Raira is one of us, let us now blame tech people.

I'm 100% sure that everyone on wazua read Hardwoods story and went to repeat it to the un-tech savvy cucu in gishagi.

If you did not notice, then you are the sheep that CA targets.

#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 2:11:48 PM

Njunge wrote:

Hardwood is like those rungus everyone sees...must be Ole Tumbi employee/consultant.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hii ni nini Chaiman?

I think anamaanisha Hardwood just like a rungu doesn't have independent brain and any thought process. he does what theforce(read employer) directs him to do without questioning.....That's my layman's understanding

Spot on. However, Hardwood doesn't exist...the handle is probably managed by multiple individuals.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 2:53:44 PM

Data mining isn't limited phones. Even streets and places of visit are nice targets for both mining and propaganda.

Propaganda is good for zero sum games. But is that mentality sustainable? I think if this CA is what people from advanced states can offer to the world then for sure, their civilization is going down.

There are more sophisticated tools that can actually be used from 'Wanjiku's' side, and that can quickly transform her quality of life.

But the weakness is in the mental health realm. The default state of a human is one of mental unease/disease, and if we don't change our laws then we'll be in really big trouble. Not that we've not been in big trouble but now it will be much harder for a person to enjoy a sense of self determination.

#25 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 2:54:56 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

CA guys use guys like Hardwood all the time. Fake accounts that are online 24 hours a day are their modus operandi.

Akina Itumbi, Pauline Njoroge and other jubilee bloggers are just dumb fellas. They have to wait until 2pm to be told by Cambridge Analytica what to say. They can't think for themselves.

Just like the Kenyan voter.

So I disagree, Hardwood has all the hallmarks of a Fake Account created for the sole purpose of creating discord. Controversy sells.

Then after he writes something, you have the dummies like harrdre, realty etc agreeing.

Kenyans have been had. Been took. Ran Amock. Bamboozled.

Kumbe even tyranny of numbers was a CA expression.

What Kenyans are we talking about?

This is another example of the online crowd falling in love with their own noise and thinking everyone is like them. How many Wanjiku's own a smart phone, facebook account or twirra, or even care? Yet you can bet every Wanjiku knows about ballots and how they are cast and have an idea how they are won or lost.

Wazuans should listen to Masukuma more often. We are a low-tech society led by a privileged high tech elite who think their online navel gazing is holy writ for the masses.

If socio media decided elections in Kenya, Peter Kenneth would be governor of Nairobi and Mwangi would be MP for Starehe.

Wakanyugi. I understand the pain of knowing that what you thought was actually what you were told to think.

Kenyans are very net savvy. Whatsapp, FB and even Kameme are great at creating zombies of voters.

I can quote for you word for word things that were posted on this forum, that I found in Whatapp group, that I found in an FB 'influencer", that was read out as news on Kameme, that was tweeted by Nation and lastly told like a fact in my kaloko.

For example, Raila ni shetani. Funny how the saitan was last seen shaking hands vigorously with "muthamaki".

Let's just agree, CA made Kenyans a test study in sheepdom.

Alma1, I had a brilliant rebuttal to your post above. My best ever. So good that I am sure you would have been impressed. I was just about to press send when the power went off and with it, my moment of online greatness.

Point made:

We are a tech-poor society and anyone who claims to influence us through our online media presence is lying. At best he is polling a small sliver of this society, albeit a noisy group, but one that largely speaks only to itself. Towit, Peter Kenneth, who had one of the most savvy socio media campaigns in the last elections. He learned that millions of facebook likes, shares and retweets do not translate into ballots. You have to hustle.

As for the creation of the Railian bogeyman that you mention, that was a brilliant piece of myth making - Campbell would have been impressed. But it was not accomplished by technology. In fact it has been a work in progress that goes back to the Nyayo days, when Moi used to jail Rila as a proxy for hitting at his father, a tactic that Uhuru has reversed but applied with equal brilliance (he knocks the Luo people to stop Raila).

In building this myth and successfully selling it to gullible Kenyans, Moi, Kibaki, Uhuru and soon, Ruto, are of course aided by Raila's very obvious character flaws. But lets discuss this another day.

Wakanyugi, leo phombe haijafanya kazi mzuri.

I know the story of Peter Kenneth shall be used and abused forever.

Let me educate you a bit.

CA was the idea team. The team that came with the narrative. What to say..What to quote. What to spread.

Don't confuse CA with Twitter.

They are the ones who would tell that guy who got money from NYS and said he had no idea, what to say. They are the ones who would tell the "mbroggers" what to say. They are the ones with the story.

How to spread it is now where you are caught up in semantics.

The message shall be spread and has been spread through your chocho mendia influencers, mpigs, road shows, kameme and our useless media.

This is not how I have understood CA's role. I saw it more as a data mining company, which I think was how Tycho introduced this thread. Again I could be wrong.

While a political campaign certainly could use data mining to craft messages, it needs behaviour/preference/intention data, the kind that your facebook profile can easily show. My point is, a low tech society like ours has slim pickings in terms of useful data to be mined and don't tell me about Mpesa.

It benefits CA's image to push this myth of all seeing greatness and the fear that goes with it. But let me ask you: if they were so good, won't we have seen attempts by Facebook or Google to buy them out? After all these are the two corporates whose future is most strongly tied to the capacity influence thinking and behavior.

Actually very wrong.

And Turnbull, in the secret recording by Channel 4, reveals the much they delivered for the UhuRuto and Jubilee Party campaigns:

“The Kenyatta campaign which we ran in 2013 and 2017,” he starts off.

“And what have you done in Kenya?” poses Channel 4 journalist.

“We have rebranded the entire party twice, written their manifesto, done two rounds of 50,000 or so surveys… Then we’d write all the speeches, and we’d stage the whole thing. So just about every element of his campaign.”

https://youtu.be/mpbeOCKZFfQ
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 3:04:11 PM

Mudavadi: We continue to support Weta for Sen. Minority leader...

subtitles pale chini kwa screen: Weta amechujwa!

Now which analytica is writing for Musalia? And why do they want to destroy our minds kabisa?
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 4:16:33 PM

[quote=Wakanyugi]

This is not how I have understood CA's role. I saw it more as a data mining company, which I think was how Tycho introduced this thread. Again I could be wrong.

While a political campaign certainly could use data mining to craft messages, it needs behaviour/preference/intention data, the kind that your facebook profile can easily show. My point is, a low tech society like ours has slim pickings in terms of useful data to be mined and don't tell me about Mpesa.

It benefits CA's image to push this myth of all seeing greatness and the fear that goes with it. But let me ask you: if they were so good, won't we have seen attempts by Facebook or Google to buy them out? After all these are the two corporates whose future is most strongly tied to the capacity influence thinking and behavior.

Actually very wrong.

And Turnbull, in the secret recording by Channel 4, reveals the much they delivered for the UhuRuto and Jubilee Party campaigns:

“We have rebranded the entire party twice, written their manifesto, done two rounds of 50,000 or so surveys… Then we’d write all the speeches, and we’d stage the whole thing. So just about every element of his campaign.”

https://youtu.be/mpbeOCKZFfQ[/quote]

look at the recipients of the national medals and get an understanding of what was going on.

Jubilee was created somewhere in the USA. I mean, even speeches? But I doubt if "mnataka nifanye nini" is one of the speeches.

Maybe Tycho can write for us a thesis on how to hoodwink Kenyans to think they are thinking independently. Yet, they are being told what to think, who to hate and which lies to accept.

sitaki.kujulikana
#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 4:42:42 PM

next we will be discussing how octopizo is iluminati , and that his songs are written and thought out by jayz.
muzungu akisema alifanya, no questions asked, some of those political meetings are on social media, listen to them and tell if its some muzungu in randan who wrote those speeches if you can find any politician reading from a speech in those meetings.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 4:52:44 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
next we will be discussing how octopizo is iluminati , and that his songs are written and thought out by jayz.
muzungu akisema alifanya, no questions asked, some of those political meetings are on social media, listen to them and tell if its some muzungu in randan who wrote those speeches if you can find any politician reading from a speech in those meetings.

The biggest heart break for a human being is discovering that they were lied to by someone they loved.

Anyway. As you were busy thinking you were politiking, CA was busy working on you. I remember 2 of the links as hardwood mentioned them..lol

Follow the full thread to get an idea.

#30 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 4:58:36 PM

Kenyans think very highly of themselves.
sitaki.kujulikana
#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:03:59 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

The biggest heart break for a human being is discovering that they were lied to by someone they loved.

Anyway. As you were busy thinking you were politiking, CA was busy working on you. I remember 2 of the links as hardwood mentioned them..lol

Follow the full thread to get an idea.

You overestimate the people with access to the whatsups and twitters and facebooks, leave alone those social media tools majority of kenyans don't even have access to electricity.

I mean even the biashara people know, put an ad on twiter or whatsup and put another ad on radio and see which one will gain more traction.

lakini sawa just because a muzungu on youtube say so then sawa, let us believe the brilliant muzungu in one of those meetings came up with 'kumira kumira' and gave it to the thoughtless black man in kenya to run with the same in gatundu.
Ngalaka
#32 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:04:18 PM

To believe that the so called Cambridge analytica had any significant influence in the way Kenyans voted in 2017 is to be gullible.

Propaganda happened (both ways - for/against and by both main groups) during the electioneering period and has always happened during such times analytica or no analytica.

In the end Kenyans voted largely in the same patterns and along the same lines we all expected them to.

Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#33 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:04:37 PM

Njunge wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hii ni nini Chaiman?

I think anamaanisha Hardwood just like a rungu doesn't have independent brain and any thought process. he does what theforce(read employer) directs him to do without questioning.....That's my layman's understanding

Spot on. However, Hardwood doesn't exist...the handle is probably managed by multiple individuals.

#34 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:08:29 PM

I see ostriches...

#35 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:10:57 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

Actually very wrong.

https://youtu.be/mpbeOCKZFfQ

look at the recipients of the national medals and get an understanding of what was going on.

Jubilee was created somewhere in the USA. I mean, even speeches? But I doubt if "mnataka nifanye nini" is one of the speeches.

Maybe Tycho can write for us a thesis on how to hoodwink Kenyans to think they are thinking independently. Yet, they are being told what to think, who to hate and which lies to accept.

That channel 4 crap is fake news. Videoshop.
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:14:17 PM

[quote=Wakanyugi]

Actually very wrong.

https://youtu.be/mpbeOCKZFfQ[/quote]

That channel 4 crap is fake news. Videoshop.

Tell us about the Ukranian Women.

sitaki.kujulikana
#37 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:21:39 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
To believe that the so called Cambridge analytica had any significant influence in the way Kenyans voted in 2017 is to be gullible.

Propaganda happened (both ways - for/against and by both main groups) during the electioneering period and has always happened during such times analytica or no analytica.

In the end Kenyans voted largely in the same patterns and along the same lines we all expected them to.

This is also what I can not get my head around, the president has a better view of the county through intelligence briefings than what can be collected online from social media, those briefings are a big advantage an incumbent has especially in ke.
I am yet to be convinced that, at the state we are at anyone can get a feel or influence the country, politically through social media.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:38:00 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Ngalaka wrote:

This is also what I can not get my head around, the president has a better view of the county through intelligence briefings than what can be collected online from social media, those briefings are a big advantage an incumbent has especially in ke.
I am yet to be convinced that, at the state we are at anyone can get a feel or influence the country, politically through social media.

You can continue not believing till hell freezes over. Meanwhile, in the rest of the world, this company is being tamed.

South Africa got rid of them. The UK is opening their servers. Facebook is loosing billions of dollars in value in days.

Only an ostrich could not see the pattern of media information and social media harlots receiving the same info and spreading the same info.

The biggest culprits were Nation Newspapers. They might as well have been a PR firm. By the way, where was Alex Chamwada working. He can explain things better I think.

PeterReborn
#39 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:38:16 PM

People are under estimating the role of CA because they have no idea to what extent all the information they think they know is manipulated.CA set the agenda that was fully implemented by the garment machinery.Most of the senior changes in garment was to reward those that facilitated the work of CA. These people are currently running the garment and are in strategic positions. You need to ask yourselves what happened to 'swing counties'. The power of CA together with NCIS did some brilliant work on voter segregation,fake news and voter manipulation.Most of the messages you heard on whatapp,kameme leaflets were planted to create fear and play with your emotions.Most of the middle class are naïve to think that they set the agenda and that their ideas are original BUT all these are planted.!!
Consistency is better than intensity
PeterReborn
#40 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 5:45:40 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Ngalaka wrote:

You can continue not believing till hell freezes over. Meanwhile, in the rest of the world, this company is being tamed.

South Africa got rid of them. The UK is opening their servers. Facebook is loosing billions of dollars in value in days.

Only an ostrich could not see the pattern of media information and social media harlots receiving the same info and spreading the same info.

The biggest culprits were Nation Newspapers. They might as well have been a PR firm. By the way, where was Alex Chamwada working. He can explain things better I think.

Kabisa.I am sure you have seen the harassment that has been melted on the 'whistle blower' Chris for exposing them.Facebook willingly gave out data for over 50m users and then claim that there was no data breach.If they have the capacity to analyse data of over 50m users what about less than 20m voters?
Consistency is better than intensity