Talk2Us
Suggestion to sk
Hello,
Sorry if it implied we will not listen beyond that date! What we are doing is trying to see what we can incorporate in the near future. However,we endeavour to continuously implement your suggestions. Thank you!
The StocksKenya Team
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
@SK And while you're at it...Please enable a 'send private message' option on our profiles coz most people dont fancy posting their email addresses here yet sometimes we need to communicate 'Off air'. Is it possible? and i hope you wont suggest that we activate our email adresses on our profiles...I used a very private address to open this acount and would NEVER post it here... Please consider this option in the 'gift' package Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't.. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
leona, I echo your words!!! SK, Is a chatroom possible????? The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Style Up StoksKenya site. Add some eye candy so it can be appealing and increase the font size. Also the arrangement of feeds look like tabled forms. Tafadhali look for some Guru's to help work around.
Plus 'Chat Room'.
I concur.
@ SK pls DONT put private mail. We have that in mashada and it was misused by co-conspirators to ruin an otherwise good site. Ditto Chat rooms. We want to see & hear all and not have underground alliances aka pararell goverments,mafiosi in SK
My suggestion would be that you actually live up to your initial core- Iets have the latest updates,widgets,analysis on stocks and investment and give less prominence to the 'other discussions'
Me first,U next
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
I think the search parameters should be increased. We should be able to search using keywords and aliases e.t.c. instead of only post topics e.g. if I like posts by Mukiha,I would like to search Mukiha and see even his older posts e.t.c. If I don't remember the name of a post but I remember something in the post,it would also help to search using the words I remember .... Also,the site is best viewed in IE or FF. I think it could be improved to also include all the other browsers e.g. chrome and opera When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
I second @akowally on the search by SK user option. I would also want to be able to see all posts that I have made over a specified time frame and all the threads that I have ever initiated. I think that would be great.
There was a thread today on ''jembe'' which has disappeared. Unlike last week's ''cat'' i don't think the contributor had bad motives and if anything some of this discussions could also be good ''sex education''.
I would suggest to SK that rather than delete the whole topic,it would be better to remove an individual contribution if it is vulgar and allow serious members to engage in any discussion in a mature way.
You can also put a notification tool in that if there is a post that you contributed in last week and someone posts a reply,this can notify you e.g. by saying akowally commented on a post you are involved in or akowally commented on your post This way you can be able to reply to a question that someone had asked you in a post immediately you log on or something. When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Introduce Activities/Events Section where Sk members can bond.
This will cover issues like:
*Business talks invitations,
*Mbuzi invites
*Job opportunities with Sk members/their companies and places of work.
*SK members camping,Hiking,holidays,bungeeing for the adventurerous members
*Charity events and other social events etc,who knows,we can have a SK marathon in future with a purpose.
@ako
Imagine having been the originator of that famous 'plugs' thread.... 260 posts the all of them notifying you that so and so commented? Now,assume you have commented in all of them or say most of them,and each time another blogger comments,you get a notification for all of them? Those would be too many notifications and we might end up ignoring all of them which beats the purpose of having one in the first place. If notification is by email then thats like 500 emails on notices in like 3 days...... I would prefer not to.
If this is going to be necessary,then there should be an option on whether one wants to be notified or not.
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
@Ako Woii...!! i second @Wendz,Lets not have that notification option unless one can also disable it. Imagine those days when you're too busy to log in..then you log in after like a week,and find 1000 notifications! They become very annoying. Lets just stay without that option and follow threads we're interested in from afar.. @Vision.. Very good ideas you have there! Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't.. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
I wouldn't encourage the notificaions on email but on some sort of pop up like the one used on facebook which is usually live. So even if you get the 1000 at a glance you will be able to know which ones you were involved in. And immediately you view it it disappears....... the part for disabling can be included .... how many say aye??? When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Kenyans.....(i.e me .....he he he ) want a live online chat section at sk..... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
StocksKenya,
Have a reputable stocks an/or investment analyst do a well researched write up on a current and relevant subject labelled as topic of the week or the month. SK members can then weigh in and raise issues or engage the expert opinion author as a premium discussion thread. I think that is the best way forward for the discussion quality on this forum.
Regards
Ecstacy hapo sasa. Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
I say 'aye' to your point too ecstasy. I think another area you (stockskenya) can improve on is the fantasy stock exchange. Make it include share splits and enable someone to be able to start over when he feels like he 'lost'. This way it will better help the 'baby' investors. When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
SK i think you should also include features like 'help' or 'site map'... this would help esp new members... When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Sometimes because of network problems one might end up sending the same post twice or more than twice. I think SK should be 'radar' or attantive to see if this happens and delete one. For example my post about the best TV station was posted twice. And I can still see the two. SK please delete one of them or give me an option to ..... When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
@sk Thank you. I guess there should always be a thread like this somewhere for people to be sending suggestions. And then you can be reviewing your site like every three or six months to update the most pertinent suggestions ... When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Talk2Us
Suggestion to sk